We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful end to our holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS El Rancho Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS El Rancho Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS El Rancho Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1100 El Camino Real, Millbrae, CA 94030   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Millbrae
GreenLeadersBronze level
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A wonderful end to our holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

A little exhausted following two weeks RVing in California and due to fly out two days later, we came across El Rancho at Milbrae, an airport hotel that is a holiday destination in itself! The staff were very welcoming - our 6 month old baby was delighted with the El Rancho Teddy and Dribbler they gave her at reception! Our room was well appointed, the pool area was pleasant and the free shuttle bus to and from the airport is a fantastic service. We also went in to San Francisco for the day, which is just a short Bart ride from Milbrae station. We were really happy with having chosen this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

901 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    429
    323
    98
    32
    19
See reviews for
244
319
88
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California Hot Springs, California
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

We often take extended trips of 4-6 weeks out of SFO. The El Rancho has provided us (on 5 occasions now) with an idea way to store the car until our return. The property itself is fine; rooms, restaurant, staff are all very nice. Certainly not 4 star, but fine for the one day stay you'll likely be needing. (They do have a lower price should you wish to sleep over on the return rather than driving. We've not used this, so I'm not sure what the discount is.) The point here, is that the car is conveniently and securely stored for you and the price (example... our 40 day trip in June/July 2011, one night lodging and 40 days of parking, cost us $209) is less than half what parking alone would cost you at SFO outside parking structures. Go somewhere!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

This motel is very close to the San Francisco Airport and is a typical Best Western Motel with a few atypical amenities, e.g., swimming pool, nice cocktail lounge, great "park and fly" program, better than average included breakfast, free shuttle to and from the airport, etc.. The "standard" rooms are small and a bit worn, but clean and comfortable. THE REASON TO STAY HERE IS AN EXCPTIONAL RESTAURANT WITH UNUSUALLY GREAT FOOD AT REASONABLE PRICES!! See the separate review of the TERRACE CAFE in Millbrae, CA.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms at the back of the motel as there is occasional railroad noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

Checked in & discovered a of couple dry blood stains on the carpet. We were relocated to a different room after maintenance took a look at it. My son woke up with bite marks on his arm next morning. The following night had to complain 3 times because of a loud party in the room next door with people drinking and screaming outside their room. Finally went back to room, flipped light on, and discovered a BED BUG crawling on my son's pillow!!! I took photos of it and called the front desk at 2am. Besides this, the rooms are outdated and very smelly! Worst place I ever stayed at!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belle Chasse, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights after flying into SFO about 10pm. The shuttle wait was a bit long, the person who answered the phone told me 15 minutes and it was more like 30 especially after seeing the other hotels shuttles multiple times. Late check in was smooth and still offered fresh cookies! We had requested a crib which wasn't in the room but promptly brought up. It even had a small bear in it which my 2 year old fell in love with. A pretty standard hotel room with comfortable beds. Overall clean and a nice place to stay. I had read mixed reviews but got a good deal on priceline so I went with it. The "free" breakfast was lacking just some pre-packaged bagels and pastries.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Felicien, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

We went to stay 6 days at El Rancho Inn and we are happy to have chosen this hotel. The environment itself is beautiful. Pharmacy, grocery store and many restaurants are at walking distance. The shuttle service to the airport and to the train station (to get to downtown SF) is efficient. The restaurant 'Terrace Café' offers is a high quality cuisine, the complementary breakfast is more than OK. If you choose to stay there ask to be on the swimming pool side in order to have the best place.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ukiah, Calif
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

This was our second stay for the Park n fly option the night before our flight out to Hawaii. The rooms are beautiful, the beds being a-one comfy.
The pizza from the on-site restaurant is amazingly good and the morning breakfast bar opens at 4:30 am for those who have early flights.
This hotel's service is outstanding. The shuttle service is excellent.
We will stay again in November. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS El Rancho Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS El Rancho Inn

Address: 1100 El Camino Real, Millbrae, CA 94030
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Millbrae
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Millbrae
#1 Business Hotel in Millbrae
#1 Family Hotel in Millbrae
#2 Green Hotel in Millbrae
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS El Rancho Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Closest Best Western hotel to SFO Airport, AAA 3 Diamond Rated, with full service restaurant offering complimentary daily departure snack from 4:30am - 9:30am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Otel, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS El Rancho Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus El Rancho Hotel Millbrae
Best Western Plus El Rancho Inn And Suites
Best Western Millbrae
Millbrae Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS El Rancho Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.