We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport West to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport West
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1390 El Camino Real, Millbrae, CA 94030   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Millbrae
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
“A great stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

My friends and I had a wonderful stay at this La Quinta Inn. The hotel was very accommodating and placed my group of friends in two adjoining rooms. It is super convenient, with the train station just down the block and SF just a quick train ride away. The hotel also has a nice enclosed free parking garage. The front desk staff is so welcoming and will help you with anything you need. The rooms are clean, spacious, and very reasonably priced, especially compared to the other hotels in the area. Overall, this hotel is great for any type of trip and I definitely will stay here when I visit the area again!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    128
    50
    17
    14
See reviews for
120
96
28
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

A great choice if you want a convenient, reasonably priced room that takes dogs. Clean, easy to find, close to a range of restaurants. Includes expanded continental breakfast. Pool and workout facility.

Room Tip: Not much road noise, but back is better. Underground parking, so close to an elevator is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariposa, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

This hotel has a lot of pluses, but a fair number of minuses too. I was planning to be in SF for some events, but know that generally hotels in the city are more expensive, and charge for parking on top of that. Add a dog fee on top, and it takes some searching to find good options.

Enter La Quinta Inn SFO West. I have stayed in the other SFO LaQuinta, but wasn't entirely enthused with the area, so thought I'd give this a shot.

Pros: It sounds like they try to place pet owners on the first floor, which means no stairs or elevators with the dogs. No extra pet fee, as is the standard for La Quinta. Clean and spacious rooms. AAA discounts available. Parking is free and on site. Nice gym on site. Customer service friendly (minimal interactions...just check in and check out). The heater worked well. Easy to find location, and easy to get to freeways for SF. There also appeared to me a fair number of restaurants in the area, including one attached to the hotel (didn't go). There's also a Safeway grocery store just down the road if you want to buy your own groceries. Nice tv. Lots of HBO channels and other channels available. Room was very clean.

Cons: This is the noisiest LaQuinta I've stayed at...and I've stayed at a few not just in the Bay Area, but LA as well as Las Vegas. There are definitely single pane windows, so lots of traffic noise audible. Also, a fair amount of conversation audible from other rooms. I have a fair tolerance for noise in hotels, but this seemed like more than usual to me. On the weekend, the breakfast room was PACKED. I grabbed food and took it back to my room. Scrambled eggs, sausage links, waffles, cereals, juices, oranges/apples, bagels.

Meh but ok: I really, really appreciate La Quinta's pet policies, and don't want that to get lost in the next comment. There aren't great places to take the dog out to. Most La Quinta's I've been at have some small area of grass or gravel or something nearby to stroll the dog to. But not so much here. But it was all fine in the end. Just not the ideal situation.

I'm not sure if I'll return or not. The room was much much nicer than the Red Roof Inn near SFO, but with a fairly comparable price, the Red Roof seemed quieter (which is odd because that hotel has runways basically in sight), and has a nice walking path right next to it. I wouldn't recommend against, but might consider checking out a few other options.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Sara and Tina at the desk were very accommodating to our situation for parking. Very, very helpful and gracious!
Room with Queen bed and "Jacuzzi-Like Tub" was perfect, as tub helped us both relax for a good sleep for a stressful next day! Location was easy for us to get to North Beach before 0730, as we left at 0650 with reasonable flow of traffic going North. I certainly will return to this location as well.
Only issue I have with every La Quinta I have stayed at has been the same: Very poor internet speed and gaining access. It wasn't at peak time or a full compliment of guests there. Other managers tell me much hyperbole, but I believe if you up down or sideways to the WiFi system it remains a 'slug'!
We had a great stay here, thank you!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

The hotel was just what we had hoped for. It was clean, quiet, and the staff were accommodating. We wanted to adventure in SF without the hassle of city driving and this was perfect. The hotel is a 15 minute walk to BART and BART took us to the center of town in 40 minutes. The room was spacious - we will definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night to pick my dad from the airport. We availed of the shuttle that goes to the airport which is very helpful since I don't need to drive and park and since the location is near it is just a few min. to the airport. The staff were very helpful, very good customer service which matters a lot. I love the free breakfast where they serve hot sausage and eggs, they have a waffle maker and the other usual stuff. I chose the room with a kitchen for the same price. The kitchen was great, has a big fridge, washer, microwave, a range like a total functioning kitchen. Although I didn't cook it was great that I was able to use a rice cooker to cook rice and did all my re heating at the kitchen. Never had a bad experience here and I would highly recommend it to travelers looking for a place near the airport.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport West

Address: 1390 El Camino Real, Millbrae, CA 94030
Location: United States > California > Millbrae
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Millbrae
#3 Family Hotel in Millbrae
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport West 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, LaQuinta, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites San Francisco Airport West
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport West Hotel Millbrae
Comfort Inn Millbrae
Millbrae Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.