We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The elephant in the room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport West

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport West to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport West
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1390 El Camino Real, Millbrae, CA 94030   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Millbrae
Certificate of Excellence 2014
So-So Cal
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
“The elephant in the room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I missed the last flight out of SFO and had to overnight near the airport. La Quinta was the nearest port in the storm. The shuttle bus passed by our stop at the airport, so we had to take a cab, which was $20. The inn itself was delightful. The front desk staff was friendly and welcoming, the rooms were well-appointed and immaculate, and the property was well-kept, and the price more than reasonable. I had to catch the 5 a.m. shuttle back to the airport, and was able to have coffee, juice and a bagel before shoving off.
The only bad thing was that at 3 a.m. on what was already a very short night, guests in the adjoining room decided to shower, one after the other. The noise was not unlike the sound of a rutting bull elephant, which I've actually heard on a trip to Africa, so this is no exaggeration.
But if you get marooned at SFO and need digs for the night, I can highly recommend La Quinta Millbrae.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
young101, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport West, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your kind words. We greatly appreciate feedback from a seasoned traveler and improve to exceed our guests expectations. We are glad that you choose to stay with us. Warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    151
    62
    18
    14
See reviews for
135
114
29
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

After a late night arrival at SFO I was eager to find a place to sleep before a long drive the next day. This place was reasonably priced and on my route, so I stopped in. A super friendly woman at the front desk made me feel very welcome and got me to my room quickly, and she went out of her way to give me a room at the back, away from the road. The building is dated and so are the rooms, and they use inexpensive, strong-smelling cleaning products, but it's unrealistic to expect anything different for $99/night.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
young101, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport West, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Guest, We greatly appreciate your feedback. Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to welcome you again soon. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Haven
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed on a layover and were very pleased. We chose the room with a spa tub and my husband and I both took advantage of this way to relax! It was great. Make sure you call for the shuttle as soon as you get your luggage as we waited about 30 minutes. Sign up the night before for your shuttle back to the airport. We thought this was a great value.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
young101, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport West, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Guest, Our entire team is delighted that your stay was comfortable and you enjoyed our Jacuzzi rooms. Very popular with all our guests to relax and de-stress! Thank you for your choosing to stay with us and we look forward to your next visit. Warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Very seldom can you not find something your not totally happy with in a hotel but this may be the exception. I made my reservation the evening before and a very nice young lady named Tina handled it with professionalism and was emailing me the reservation as we spoke. She was so happy I was pleased with the reviews on Trip Advisor and told her I would write one myself. She is the type of employee La Quinta can be proud of. So thank you Tina! During my stay everyone at the hotel was friendly and very accommodating. The kitchenette room although I didn't use the kitchen was very nicely set up, the room was clean and neat, I loved the sensor light switches, very European and should be in hotels everywhere. The bed was comfortable, the in room coffee was even good! They have a nice fitness center in the courtyard, everything I used was functioning as it should. the breakfast was very nice, I especially like the coffee machine. There is also various dining places withing walking or short driving distances. The best part...about two miles from the rental car return center without the freeway. Thank you LaQuinta for a doing things right.

Room Tip: I think all rooms face the courtyard and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
young101, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport West, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to write your experiences while staying with us. Our entire team is delighted that your stay was enjoyable! Tina is our model employee who is always eager to help our guests with a big smile and compassion. She greatly appreciates your compliments. We look forward to your next visit again soon. Warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Stayed there on a layover on trip home . Came with shuttle service from and to airport. You have to call ahead to set up shuttle both ways and they run on half hours. I saw some of the negative reviews but did not encounter any problems . Staff was very nice . Breakfast was good . Room neat and clean . Highly recommended

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
young101, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport West, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Guest, We are extremely delighted to receive your compliments! It is indeed an honor that we could met your expectations. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to your next visit soon. Warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Stayed here for one night, have never stayed at a La Quinta before. Was very happy with a great low room rate and extremely happy on no additional cost for a small pet, thank you so much! Pros: friendly courteous staff, was very happy to have an easy early check-in, easy underground free well lit parking, free wi-fi, full size kitchen and appliances wow it was big and it's own room with a door, hotel in a great location and near much shopping and a trader joes (handy if you have a kitchen!), free continental breakfast, clean and comfortable and quiet room, slept well. Cons: faint kitchen odor but was able to close the door completely to the kitchen so no problem with that, somewhat basic room and furnishings, breakfast hot foods not so good, was a little uncomfortable in the kitchen as there was no window coverings with large glass windows, but again was able to close the door off (you could see clearly into private residences/apts straight ahead and they could see you), loud plumbing but worked fine, it was quite loud when running the bathroom sink water or flushing the toilet. Was satisfied with our stay overall.

Room Tip: ask for room near elevator as some are far away
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
young101, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport West, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We appreciate your business and look forward to welcome you back again soon. Warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport West

Address: 1390 El Camino Real, Millbrae, CA 94030
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Millbrae
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Millbrae
#4 Family Hotel in Millbrae
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport West 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, LaQuinta, Hotels.com, BookIt.com and Priceline so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites San Francisco Airport West
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport West Hotel Millbrae
Comfort Inn Millbrae
Millbrae Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.