We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Conducive To Work” 2 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport West

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport West to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport West
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1390 El Camino Real, Millbrae, CA 94030   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Millbrae
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Not Conducive To Work”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

I did not stay in a room but only visited this hotel to participate in a depostion in a conference room though this experience may be of interest to an over-night visitor or someone considering this site for a work event.

CONFERENCE ROOM
The conference room faced the main road (El Camino Real) a 6- lane secondary road which is roughly 40 feet from the hotel. The road is very active with traffic (including large trucks) and traffic noise could clearly be heard through the windows and vibration through the wall: I would expect that similar noise would be heard and felt in the rooms on this side of the hotel. The room had a faint smell of mildew.

EXTERIOR/INTERIOR STRUCTURE
The hotel's structure is dated and in need of renovation. It has a very odd layout apparently dictated by the property: an unequal-sided quadrilateral of small rooms with an open center where there is a small pool and a glass walled structure containing workout equipment.

SERVICE
The front desk was helpful and pointed us to our conference room on the second floor. The elevator was etremely slow.

The workers were friendly but several seemed to have trouble understanding English: a lady on the first floor only laughed and smiled when asked the location of the Coke machine, a man in the laundry asked for the same question to be repeated three times asked "elevator?" then pointed me to the machine on the second floor. The front desk attendant was nice and helpful though she admitted it was only her first day.

VENDING
There is no vending on the first floor. The vending maching on the second floor would not accept any money and a light flashed "empty". The only other vending maching on the third floor accepted money but did not dispense as it then also flashed "empty".

OVERALL
Barely acceptable for a work conference. Based on this experience I would not recommend staying overnight unless the price was irresistible.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    127
    50
    17
    14
See reviews for
119
96
28
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

This hotel room is surprising big and have separate kitchen which provide full kitchen facilities.
It was clean and provide free shuttle to and fro from SF international airport. Call them for shuttle and it would arrive within 15mins to pick you from airport. You would have to give a grace of 10-15 mins from the requested time of shuttle to pick you from the hotel.
I would recommend this hotel if you are planning to stay near airport.

Room Tip: Cheap, spacious room. Free shuttle to airtport.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011 via mobile

Stayed overnight close to the airport. The team is very friendly and helpful. The grounds and rooms clean and comfortable too.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

The La Quinta Inn and Suites in Millbrae, CA, is a good hotel at a very reasonable price. It is close to the San Francisco airport and is within walking distance to many restaurants. The rooms have kitchenettes. The hotel is clean and has plenty of parking.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that is away from the main street which is El Camino Real.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chalfont, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

We stayed here for two nights total in October 2011 - one night each at the beginning and end of a week-long San Francisco area trip. The main advantage was that it was within a couple miles of the airport, which was nice since our flight arriving in San Francisco was almost 2 hours late and we didn't get in until around 10pm. All onsite parking is in a basement-level garage, and the spaces looked pretty small. Fortunately, on the nights we stayed there, it wasn't packed. The rooms were pretty basic with reasonable amenities. The bathroom had just the toilet and tub, while the sink/vanity area was in the main section, a layout that turned out to be very common in the places we stayed in the area. It would have been nice to be able to close the thick curtains, which apparently were just there for window dressing - there was only a thinner white curtain that could cover the window. The general condition of the hotel made me think that it had seen better days, although it was certainly clean throughout. On our first night there, our room was fairly close to the street, so we did hear a bit of road noise with some busses and trucks going by. Also, on our last night there, I tried to print out boarding passes for our return flight, but the printer was out of order; it turned out to be no big deal but could have been an incovenience. We didn't do much in Millbrae, but it seemed like a nice area, with several places to eat and a Safeway nearby.

Overall, this hotel served its purpose - to give us a convenient place to stay near the airport. Depending on the rates, if I were staying in the area longer, I may consider looking at some of the other hotels in the area, as there were several on the same stretch of road.

Room Tip: If possible, request a room toward the back of the hotel to minimize street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, CA
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

The hotel has a good location and has been refurbished. The shuttle service was fine and the onsite restaurant was very good. The only problem we had was the picture window in the bedroom that looked into the bathroom. They did a great job centering a toilet view from the bedroom. There were blinds on the window but were cheap ones that did not keep the light out of the bedroom if someone was in the bathroom with the light on. I ike to read at night and frequently take a late bath and read. This allows my wife to sleep while I have the light on in the bathroom. Not possible in this room. Why they put a large window between the bathroom and beddroom. beats me. I have stayed in other rooms at this facility when it was the Comfort Inn and I know all the rooms are not like this.

Also, I reserved a room for two people. When we arrived we were given a room for a single person. They changed the room for us but if we had come late and they were filled up it could have been a real problem.

I actually like this place but I would be very precise when reserving a room.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

We stayed for a week at the La Quinta with our nearly two-year old son. The room with kitchenette was great and had plenty of space for a roll away crib (ask for your kitchen supply box at the front desk). The rooms were quiet, so we could barely hear the train horn (it starts at 5 am), which thrilled our son every time it went by. The pool was frigid, so we didn't use it, but given that it was October, it was a long shot anyhow. It is within walking distance to downtown Millbrae and grocery stores. The staff are nice, especially the cleaning ladies. They do use a lot of scented cleaning products, though, which my sinuses really didn't care for. Breakfast was sufficient, but simple (pastries, cereal, yogurt and a few microwave options).

Room Tip: Rooms in the back of the building are away from the road, and kitchenetts are great for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport West

Address: 1390 El Camino Real, Millbrae, CA 94030
Location: United States > California > Millbrae
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Millbrae
#3 Family Hotel in Millbrae
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport West 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, LaQuinta, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites San Francisco Airport West
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport West Hotel Millbrae
Comfort Inn Millbrae
Millbrae Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.