We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place for the money -- but more motel than "boutique" hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Millwood Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added Millwood Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Millwood Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1375 El Camino Real, Millbrae, CA 94030   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Special discounted rates.
Ranked #2 of 7 hotels in Millbrae
Chicago
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Nice place for the money -- but more motel than "boutique" hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

I see that many others have previously described this lodging in some detail, so I can be brief.

Pros - very close to SFO - free airport shuttle is a real plus. Free parking if you have a car. Fitness room. Free continental breakfast - lots of variety. Price is great.

Cons - Set up like an updated motel. Doors to rooms enter off of outside. Our room (a "Deluxe Double") was pretty small, but it is well equipped (safe, refrigerator, microwave, free wireless internet). Bathroom is small but nicely arranged.

Overall - a good value, but don't expect a "hotel." More of a motel for the era of 2012.

Nice people run the place, and check-in and check-out were a breeze.

Room Tip: Maybe try for a bigger room at a higher price - not sure?
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    184
    134
    36
    13
    2
See reviews for
94
136
37
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

Very good value. Rooms are clean and spacious. The complementary breakfast had many choices, from cereal, yogurt, waffles, omelet, bacon and danish along with excellent coffee. The inn provides free wi-fi and a computer and printer for guest usage. The fitness room had good equipment.

rafferman

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Point, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

Very very nice place, The rooms were just remodeled, clean and accomadating.
The staff was very nice and helpful.
I would use this Inn every time I want a park and fly out of San francisco.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

Our family including two children (6 & 9) stayed here in October 2011. The rooms are on the small side, we had a room with two double beds, which isn't ideal for families travelling with children, although this is not unique to this hotel, none of the hotels we stayed in on our trip to America don't offer single beds for children, however the rooms are very modern and have excellent facilities. The hotel offers a great breakfast. This hotel is very close to the airport, so perfect if you are only in San Francisco for a short time.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vjrp63, General Manager at Millwood Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 21, 2012
Your comments are much appreciated. Regarding our rooms, the rooms with 2 beds and 1 bed are of average size. However, if guests need more space or need more beds, we do have other room types available. We have rooms and suites with up to 3 beds with our larger suites having space to accommodate up to 8 comfortably. Rollaway beds and cribs are also available.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

A well equipped and comfortable motel with management that has paid attention to almost every need. I was very impressed with the comfort level and the value for a motel so conveniently located for San Francisco airport, especially as there are some reasonably priced restaurants within easy walking distance for dinner, and a good breakfast is included in the motel room rate. My only criticisms of room 107 are: 1. the bathroom light is controlled by a motion detector switch which inevitably turns the light out several times while you are taking a shower (to turn the light back on, reach around the shower curtain and wave your hand), 2. the toilet paper holder is mounted too close to the toilet seat (if you're large, you can't sit straight), and 3. the room heat control will not go below 68 degrees (tough on people like me who prefer to sleep in 60 to 64 degrees, and a waste of energy too). Also, when I checked in, the receptionist told me that the nearby pancake house would only be open for another 30 minutes, as if it closed at 6 p.m., when it actually stayed open until 9 p.m. In spite of these minor issues, I plan to use this motel again when I return to San Francisco.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vjrp63, General Manager at Millwood Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 19, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us. In order to save energy, we had installed motion sensor lights in the bathroom and the temperature was set per PGE standards. We are looking into better ways to do this and are looking at alternatives for the light switch. We are also going to update the thermostats so that guests are able to get a wider range. We appreciate your comments to improve our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

As I frequently take early morning flights, I'm always looking for comfortable, but not expensive accommodations not far from the airport. The Millwood Inn is the best I've found so far. Very quiet and convenient. Initially I was put off by the motel design, but having one's car a quick suitcase roll out of the door made me quickly change my mind. The bed was comfortable and the internet speed very quick. And the price was right. My kind of place.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

I was traveling with wife and 10 year old daughter. Accommodations very comfortable and cozy. Excellent breakfast in a small lounge. Lots of real flowers all over. Great cost-benefit close to San Francisco and SF airport.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Millwood Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millwood Inn & Suites

Address: 1375 El Camino Real, Millbrae, CA 94030
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Millbrae
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Millbrae
#2 Romantic Hotel in Millbrae
#3 Family Hotel in Millbrae
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Millwood Inn & Suites 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Millwood Inn & Suites welcomes business and leisure travelers to enjoy a tradition of warm, personal hospitality. Located south of San Francisco in Millbrae, California, this distinctive hotel offers a refreshing mix of lifestyle luxuries and a relaxed coastal vibe for working, relaxing, playing and exploring the San Francisco Bay Area. Enjoy a casual contemporary ambiance that makes you feel at home. Our hotel offers a comfortable eco-friendly hotel experience in Millbrae, California.Our amenities include a flat panel TV with over 100 satellite channels, HDTV, WiFi, DVD player, alarm-clock radio, microwave, refrigerator, drip coffee/tea maker, hair dryer, full-size iron and ironing board, well-lit vanity and luxurious bath products. We also have a fitness center, breakfast buffet, an interactive business space, gift shop, parking for overnight guests and shuttle to the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Millwood Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millwood Inn And Suites
Millwood Hotel Millbrae

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Millwood Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.