We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay!! Awesome Westin” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin San Francisco Airport

Save Saved
You added The Westin San Francisco Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Expedia.com
and 6 more sites!
The Westin San Francisco Airport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Old Bayshore Highway, Millbrae, CA 94030   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 7 hotels in Millbrae
Charles Town, West Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Stay!! Awesome Westin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

One of my favorite Westins! As always Rosario was working at the front desk with her warm smile and great personality. She always makes you feel as if your home. Very quick and easy check-in. The lobby and bar have been remodeled and it looks great. The new menu is nice and prices at the bar are ok but what did you expect for ordering food at a hotel. The food is very good and the breakfast even better. If you have a drink at the bar make sure Chad is working. Great bartender. The only thing I wish they would change is the opening time for breakfast. They don't open till 0630 and most of the times my flight requires me to be at the airport before they open. Just a half hour would make a difference! The gym is very nice and updated with weights and cardio. If you want to run there is a great trail right across the street from the hotel. My room was very clean and the showers have been updated with nice rainfall shower heads that are very tall so you don't have to duck down to get your hair wet. Also one of my biggest pet peeves is the tub not draining..well the past three stays I have been 3 for 3, all the tubs have drained with no standing water!!! As for the shuttle from the airport it runs on time with no issues, about 15 minutes from the airport to the hotel. Different story in the morning! The shuttle bus leaves the Westin, circles around the the back side and picks up passengers at the Aloft. When the shuttle leaves the Aloft it drives through a off site airport parking area where we couldn't get 50 feet without stopping to pick up passengers running through the lot to catch the shuttle. Instead of taking 10-15 minutes it was more like a half hour and the bus was packed with passengers and luggage which took forever to get to terminal 1. I would advise to give yourself plenty of time in the morning for the shuttle or you could just take a taxi where there is always one on call. There are other restaurants that are walking distance (very safe night or day) from the hotel that have great menu's and happy hour prices. I would recommend the Elephant Bar. Has a huge menu with a great variety and good happy hour prices. Many thanks to the staff at the Westin and the heavenly beds!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley D, Manager at The Westin San Francisco Airport, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for sharing this delightful review with us and our future guests. We greatly enjoy hearing feedback from our guests who experienced all the hotel has to offer. We would like to extend our gratitude for your comments regarding Rosario and Chad; they are excellent members of our hotel team. Thank you for your feedback on our new restaurant Grill & Vine; the menu was specially designed for the Westin traveler, focusing on superfoods. In addition, thank you for sharing your insights on the hotel shuttle. The Aloft is a new member to the Starwood Hotels & Resorts portfolio and our shuttle route so we will look into additional ways to expedite airport drop offs. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    94
    182
    149
    60
    25
See reviews for
72
97
69
212
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Arthur, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

The hotel is next to SFO airport, with a shuttle that runs to/from the airport every 15 min. That is complimentary. The front desk staff (Mark) was very friendly and helpful. I am a Platinum Member and Mark advised that since there was no Lounge at this Westin, I received a free Continental Breakfast Buffet, if I wanted to add the hot portion of the buffet it coat $10.
The room was a typical room nice and clean. Internet was complimentary. The pillows on the bed were horrible for my taste. They were long and very skinny, very uncomfortable to sleep on.
The restaurant in the hotel is too expensive. I got a Burger and Fries that cost $17.36. There is no reason a burger should be that expensive. The closest burger place was a 10-15min walk according to Mark.
All in all the hotel was good but expensive to eat. Not as good as I a expected. Next time I'm in the area I will try the other Starwood property Aloft.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley D, Manager at The Westin San Francisco Airport, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to connect with us and provide us this valuable feedback. We are delighted to hear that Mark helped provide you with excellent customer service while you were here as our guest at the Westin San Francisco Airport. Your comments regarding the clean and refreshing guestrooms are much appreciated. Thank you for your feedback regarding our new restaurant Grill & Vine; we will take your insights into consideration. Thank you again for your review and we do hope that you will consider the Westin San Francisco Airport again for your next stay in San Francisco.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

This Westin is very low key with small rooms compared to, say, its sister hotel in Seattle, but it's perfectly functional. The front desk staff is friendly and efficient and the rooms are clean, but food is overpriced and nothing to write home about, and the restaurant area very drab. Airport noise can be a bit of a problem. No minibar in the room was a bit of a surprise, as was the fact that Westin are still charging for wireless internet, which is ridiculous, as are their non-conference room rates. All in all, this is a convenient hotel but nothing special.

Room Tip: Ask for one as far as you can get from the runways and the lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

This hotel is one of the closest to the air port. They run a shuttle to & from the airport about every 15 minutes.

This is not the nicest Westin I have stayed in only because I think it is an older property. Our king room was on the small side and the bathroom was small but it had all you expect from Westin, the Heavenly Bed & rain shower.

Food was pricey so we walked to nearby restaurant to eat.

They do have a business center for you to print boarding passes.

Room Tip: There are 7 floors in this property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shedd, Oregon
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Wonderful nights sleep in the heavenly bed; not to mention great service from the staff at the front desk and the store by the front doors. Very clean; fresh and made me feel at home; something not a lot of hotels do.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is very nice and clean. I work with the airlines abd stay in MANY hotels.
Stay far away from the elevators, they are very noisy! I brought a lot of food, for my 4 day trip, only to find out they do not provide refrigerators :( all my food had to be thrown out! The front desk said they couldn't allow me to store it in their break room!
However they do offer a complimentary microwave, in the gift shop, if you need to heat food up. The restraraunt food is expensive!
Overall, I'd stay in another hotel if I could!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

An airport hotel that offers exactly what a weary traveller is looking for:

No nonsense, efficient check-in
Fully functional rooms with a good bathroom
A relaxing bar
Informal dining with great food and good wines

Mix a little of each together, add great shuttle service to and from the airport and you have a winner on your hands.

Room Tip: Probably not a bad room in the house. Ours was facing the airport runway, but was in no way noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Westin San Francisco Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin San Francisco Airport

Also Known As:
The Westin San Francisco Airport Hotel
The Westin San Francisco Airport Hotel Millbrae
Westin San Francisco Airport
Westin Hotel Millbrae
Westin Millbrae
Millbrae Westin
Address: 1 Old Bayshore Highway, Millbrae, CA 94030
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Millbrae
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 hotels in Millbrae
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin San Francisco Airport 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed with your unique needs in mind, The Westin San Francisco Airport offers business travelers easy access to the city and Silicon Valley via major freeways and public transport. Less than .5 mile away from San Francisco International Airport, we offer a free shuttle to and from the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your The Westin San Francisco Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin San Francisco Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.