We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I've stated in better hotels” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin San Francisco Airport

Save Saved
You added The Westin San Francisco Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westin San Francisco Airport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Old Bayshore Highway, Millbrae, CA 94030   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 7 hotels in Millbrae
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“I've stated in better hotels”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is very nice and clean. I work with the airlines abd stay in MANY hotels.
Stay far away from the elevators, they are very noisy! I brought a lot of food, for my 4 day trip, only to find out they do not provide refrigerators :( all my food had to be thrown out! The front desk said they couldn't allow me to store it in their break room!
However they do offer a complimentary microwave, in the gift shop, if you need to heat food up. The restraraunt food is expensive!
Overall, I'd stay in another hotel if I could!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    108
    195
    160
    63
    27
See reviews for
84
104
78
227
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

An airport hotel that offers exactly what a weary traveller is looking for:

No nonsense, efficient check-in
Fully functional rooms with a good bathroom
A relaxing bar
Informal dining with great food and good wines

Mix a little of each together, add great shuttle service to and from the airport and you have a winner on your hands.

Room Tip: Probably not a bad room in the house. Ours was facing the airport runway, but was in no way noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conn.
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Westin SFO

You never really appreciate something until you compare it to something.

After I extricated myself from the "building of bedrooms" known as the Aloft I was very happy to stay at the Westin.

The lobby is pleasant, well maintained and includes all the features of a hotel. Check in was quick and the staff at the front desk was fabulous.

Room was nice, but could use a little TLC. The carpet showed some wear and there was a large pull in the middle. They leave the luggage rack out for you and you may want to move it since it was a little tight getting around it. There is the normal HDTV, desk, chest of drawers, and chair with ottoman. My room had a nice view of the bay, a good way to spend the afternoon, doing emails and looking out over the bay and the airport. WiFi has a couple of choices including a higher speed for an additional fee. Likewise, guests can access the WiFi in the lobby by entering room and name.

There is a HDTV in the room, decent selection of channels. The closet has a door that you pull open, not twist the knob and someone pulled a little too hard. Engineering might want to fix this.

Bathroom was tiny, water pressure good, hot water good, clean good, towels pretty good, regular old Westin toiletries, when will they change them. Overall no complaints about the bathroom.

Bed was extremely comfortable, thermostat seemed pretty accurate so I had a really good night's sleep. The light situation in my room was challenging. Someone broke the knob on the lamp next to the bed and I nearly sliced my finger when I went to turn it on. Alarm clock is very confusing how to engage the alarms, just call for a wake up call.

Restaurant is OK, nothing special, really a bar with some food choices, view it as a bar and you will be happier. My steak frites was OK, definitely not worth the price. The sandwiches and burgers looked like the way to go, as I said it is a bar. A few people were ordering some wild drinks and the bartender was very methodical in preparation. Sit at the bar, order a cocktail, a burger and watch the TVs would be my recommendation.

Shuttle to the airport runs 24-hours, about ten minute drive, just make sure you sit near the front door at the hotel or else they will leave without you. There are two stops on the way.

I caught the 0415 shuttle and coffee was already available in the lobby, excellent!!!

Overall the hotel just needs a little TLC in some of the rooms, but the staff was super. This will be my go-to hotel when I have early flights out of SFO.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Got upgraded to junior suite which was huge, clean and very luxurious for an airport hotel
Was disappointed the cable didn't work in the main area to watch the Super Bowl and when a service tech came to fix it he basically had no answer. All in all a good stay

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Very clean and quality hotel worth they extra few bucks you pay. Great bar and had Starbucks downstairs in the morning! The lobby was under some kind of project remodeling or painting, but should be completed by now. Friendly staff, but had to pay for parking. Next the aloft hotel which shares a shuttle to and from the airport.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamSFO, Manager at The Westin San Francisco Airport, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thank you for your gift of feedback! We are happy to announce that along with our new restaurant Grill and Vine, our front desk transformation is complete as well. I am happy to hear you were able to enjoy our new bar. We look forward to greeting you on your next visit to the Bay Area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
226 helpful votes 226 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

The Westin San Francisco hotel is located just south of the San Francisco airport and next door to their sister property the Aloft. They both use the same shuttle bus to and from the Airport which runs about every 20/30 minutes.

The hotel rooms are typical Westin -- nothing outstanding in my opinion but fairly consistent with what one would expect. I had a room facing the bay and had good soundproofing.

The "advantage" of both the Aloft and the Westin is that it is literally one of the closest hotels to the BART station in Millbrae. You can easily walk from the hotel to both the In-N-Out burger joint (a good thing for fans of In-N-Out) and the BART station in about 10-12 minutes. Unfortunately, the shuttle does not drop you off there so you pretty much have to walk but it is quite an easy walk and provides some options to you.

If you are SPG Platinum, there is no executive lounge, but the hotel does give you a complimentary continental breakfast at the Grill and Vine as well as your 500 points -- something that is not true at all Westin properties. Kudos to the hotel for providing both of these to Platinum members.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamSFO, Manager at The Westin San Francisco Airport, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
I am glad to hear that our prime location suited your needs. Thank you for your continued loyalty to Starwood and the SPG brands. Along with the complimentary continental breakfast for our platinum guests, we also offer our platinum guests a "grab and go" breakfast option should they not be able join us during breakfast hours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Stayed here for a night while on business. Very close to airport and I generally stay at Starwood properties. I am a platinum Starwood member but also gold for Marriott and Hilton.
I try to avoid staying by the SFO airport as you are trapped if you do not have a rental car. Burlingame is very close by but not walkable and downtown is preferred when possible.
anyhow, they redid the lobby and finally the bar and restaurant. it is much better, more comfortable. rooms are nice, exactly what you expect for a Westin by an airport.
This hotel was on my do not repeat list until they did the renovations. I will now stay here again based on the changes only when i need to be by the airport.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin San Francisco Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin San Francisco Airport

Address: 1 Old Bayshore Highway, Millbrae, CA 94030
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Millbrae
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Millbrae
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin San Francisco Airport 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed with your unique needs in mind, The Westin San Francisco Airport offers business travelers easy access to the city and Silicon Valley via major freeways and public transport. Less than .5 mile away from San Francisco International Airport, we offer a free shuttle to and from the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Westin San Francisco Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin San Francisco Airport Hotel Millbrae
Westin San Francisco Airport
Westin Hotel Millbrae
Westin Millbrae
Millbrae Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin San Francisco Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.