We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hurricane Sandy stopover.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin San Francisco Airport

Save Saved
You added The Westin San Francisco Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Westin San Francisco Airport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Old Bayshore Highway, Millbrae, CA 94030   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 7 hotels in Millbrae
Devon
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Hurricane Sandy stopover.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We were due to fly home via New York but were scuppered because of hurricane Sandy and ended up with an unexpected stopover in San Francisco. The airline gave us a number for the cheapest hotel rates and we chose the westin at $90 per room.

The shuttle runs every 15 mins and check in was quick and professional. The room was nicely furnished although the bathroom was a little tired. The beds were comfortable but the pillows were very soft which affected my sleep. The air conditioning was really efficient which was a blessing.

We didn't check in till ten pm so didn't eat at the hotel. We did have a drink in the bar area which was nice but rather expensive.

All in all a perfectly acceptable airport hotel

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamSFO, Manager at The Westin San Francisco Airport, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for your review! We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us! I apologize that the pillows were too soft, we do however have foam pillows available at your request that are firmer. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    93
    182
    149
    59
    25
See reviews for
72
97
69
210
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I was given a room that I later learned was not supposed to be occupied. An unused air filter was inside the door when I opened it, peeling wall paper on the window wall but the worst part was that the room had been Ozoned-- apparently to attempt to cover someone who had smoked. It was awful. I was moved to another room that had a nonfunctioning air conditioner. Spoke to the manager on duty who attempted to offer me dinner/breakfast something to make up for the experience. I told him the only thing I wanted was to speak to the GM about the experience. I was assured I would be contacted and never was. This is not what Westin attempts to be. Look, it's a Westin and is rated dead last of the few hotels at the airport. That tells you a lot.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspen, Colorado
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I stayed here when United messed up once again. The flight attendants from United cut the registration line despite some other customer complaints. The Westin staff seemed to be fairly chummy with the United staff and did not heed any of our protests to the line cutting. The pool was nice but no easy access except through the lobby. No free Wifi. Remodeling was going on and the hotel needed a lot more. It was a bit dated. There is a nice running path along the bay but it takes some route finding to follow it very far. Overall, it was an okay hotel but certainly not worth the price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamSFO, Manager at The Westin San Francisco Airport, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Greetings Mark G,

Thank you for your message. As you have mentioned, we are currently in the process of transforming our bar and restaurant, due to open late December 2012. We have also begun the process of renovating our public areas and guest rooms, such as new lobby area carpeting, scheduled registration/front desk transformation, completed next-generation Heavenly shower-head installation, and a planned guest rooms transformation in the near future. I am glad to hear that you were able to enjoy the local running path. We hope to see you during your next visit to the Bay Area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartsville, SC
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The service at this hotel was one of the highest levels that I have received. I can only say good things about the staff at the hotel. From the moment that I arrived, I was professionally greeted by the staff and that level of courtesy and professionalism did not stop for the two night visit.

My wife and I were in San Francisco for a birthday weekend. We would definitely return to this hotel again.

The property itself is starting to show some age. The rooms were very clean with new linens, new bathroom fixtures and great in-room entertainment. I noticed that the carpet appeared to be a little bit aged and the hallways seemed very dark.

Room Tip: Some rooms do not have a mini bar or refrigerator. You will need to ask if you want one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamSFO, Manager at The Westin San Francisco Airport, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We thrive to provide our guests with a rejuvenating escape to give you the ultimate heavenly experience! I'm delighted to let you know we have plans in the near future to transform our guest floors!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, Maryland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I chose this hotel because it was near the airport, and I had an early flight. I also chose this hotel because of the name brand: Westin. But it wasn't nearly as nice as the Westin hotels I've stayed in the past. It wasn't any more nice than a Holiday Inn Express, with regard to the amenities. I'm sort of glad that this was a business related stay, because I would be a little more disappointed had I paid my own money. I would stay here again for the location convenience, but if I was paying my own money, I would pick a less expensive property just as close to the airport.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

If you have to over night, this hotel is an ok place to stay. The reception & lobby are fine, but the doors to each room need to be fixed. They continually slam, while the rooms are just not up to par with other Westins...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Gold member upon check in. Gold members are offered a welcome gift with each stay. This includes a choice of free Wifi, points, or a drink. Source: https://www.starwoodhotels.com/preferredguest/account/member_benefits/gold_preferred.html
Front desk attendant said that my Starwood number was on file, but made no other reference to the different tiers. When I arrived at my room, I called the operator and double checked about a welcome gift which would include free wifi. Operator said that this option is not available for Gold members. When I arrived home, I called Starwood's main number and they informed me that Gold status should be recognized not by per property but based on per stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Westin San Francisco Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin San Francisco Airport

Also Known As:
The Westin San Francisco Airport Hotel
The Westin San Francisco Airport Hotel Millbrae
Westin San Francisco Airport
Westin Hotel Millbrae
Westin Millbrae
Millbrae Westin
Address: 1 Old Bayshore Highway, Millbrae, CA 94030
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Millbrae
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Millbrae
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin San Francisco Airport 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed with your unique needs in mind, The Westin San Francisco Airport offers business travelers easy access to the city and Silicon Valley via major freeways and public transport. Less than .5 mile away from San Francisco International Airport, we offer a free shuttle to and from the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Starwood, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The Westin San Francisco Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin San Francisco Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.