We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one night stay, nice surprise, very clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aloft San Francisco Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Aloft San Francisco Airport to your Saves list
Aloft San Francisco Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   401 East Millbrae Avenue, Millbrae, CA 94030   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$10 Breakfast Credit
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Millbrae
Certificate of Excellence
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“one night stay, nice surprise, very clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

I had to find a hotel close to the airport and from what I read, i thought i'd give this a try. Noise from the airport is not a factor here, in the room wings there is plenty of insulation and the airplane activity is barely noticeable. First impression... it was great. It looked new, clean, modern. When I checked in, they were very thorough regarding the available amenities (pool, exercise room, etc). The hostess and bartender(s) were very friendly and accommodating. It even has rather innovative security features that i haven't seen much elsewhere (you need to use your room key in the elevator and you can only go to the floor assigned to your room, rfid rules). the bar/lounge was great. they had free pool (during happy hour?), $2 off most drinks until 9pm and a live band (i think 1st and 3rd thursdays of the month). this is a modern hotel, the pool and exercise room looked spectacular, but i didn't use them (no drinks allowed in the pool). The rooms are nice, but not a whole lot of choices (king or 2 queen, no suites). Parking was 'complimentary' with the room (but you had to pull a regular ticket from the machine when driving in for the first time, the hostess will take that and give you a different ticket). The major negative with Aloft was the food. The menu is limited, and it's not exactly complementary to the type of establishment its trying to be. It should be noted that the prices of the food they had were reasonable, so that may make up for the variety. i think it was $12 for 4 chicken tenders, tater tots and cole slaw, which was served nicely and actually pretty darn good. the lounge has power adapters scattered throughout so its not an issue if you need to charge your tech. The hostess and bartender were stellar. the hotel is about a 10 min drive to the rental car return, but be sure to ask how to get there, its a little confusing. I can't wait to go back!!!

Green Features: very eco friendly!! had recyclable containers located throughout.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    224
    68
    16
    15
See reviews for
80
95
44
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
76 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

This is not your typical hotel and if you don't like bright colors, pumping music and informality, this hotel is not for you. The wide lobby/lounge/bar makes you want to connect and share even if you are working on your laptop or having breakfast. The rooms are spacious and have a plenty of outlets to charge your phones, ipads and laptops. Like the open bathroom concept with a wide shower (who needs a tub any more?) and soap and shampoo dispensers. Only negatives is breakfast that can turn out pretty expensive ($20) if you get a few items and the shuttle bus that does not go to the Millbrae BART stop - only a 7 minute walk but not very convenient with narrow sidewalks.

Green Features: You can select to go green and not have your room serviced. You will get $5 coupons or 250 extra starwood points.
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC Metro and Wilmington NC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Spent a night here on the first leg of our ten day vacation in California. It was clean, comfortable and we got a good deal on Priceline. The only negative was the strange phrases that they used for the pool (splash) and the exercise room (recharge) and the overall new age vibe that seemed to be artificial.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We loved the Hotel Aloft. The only downside is that you can't have breakfast there, but that didn't matter to us as we were headed to the airport at a very early time. There was a free shuttle to the airport, which only took about 15 minutes to take us there. The hotel is really fun, for adults and kids alike. The lobby has lots of little areas to sit, with games to play (and a pool table). There is a nice swimming pool. The room was comfortable and interestingly decorated. We didn't hear any airplane noise. All in all, a great, reasonably priced place to stay close to the airport!

Room Tip: The staff helped us find a quiet room, and since there may be airplane noise, it might be good to as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikki_Por, Starwood Hotels at Aloft San Francisco Airport, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Thank you for your comments. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay before your flight! We offer grab n' go style breakfast every morning, but our sister property across the parking lot offers a full sit-down breakfast. Thank you for staying with us - we hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Very nice-looking hotel, clean and modern. Free wifi. Free shuttles to and from the airport that run from 4 am to late at night. Nice staff. Short 15-minute walk to BART station, then a 30-minute train ride to downtown/piers.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boise, id
Level Contributor
110 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for one night on our way to Mexico. It is super modern and has a european flair to it. Rooms are large and comfortable beds. It is located next to the airport with views of the bay and in walking distance to some restaurants.The staff was very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikki_Por, Starwood Hotels at Aloft San Francisco Airport, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience and taking the time to write a review. We're happy to hear you felt comfortable and enjoyed the design of the hotel. We hope you had a great trip to Mexico!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

I stayed at Aloft in Dallas and liked accommodations. Thus I booked the same at SFO airport as I had an early flight. Yes the folks were nice and the room fine, but I was surprised at a $20 surcharge for parking the rental car. Maybe that's normal for hotels at SFO but it was an unexpected charge on an already expensive bill.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Millbrae
0.1 mi away
The Westin San Francisco Airport
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS El Rancho Inn
0.4 mi away
San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Francisco-Burlingame-Airport South
0.7 mi away
Bay Landing Hotel
Bay Landing Hotel
#2 of 12 in Burlingame
4.5 of 5 stars 738 reviews
1.4 mi away
Millwood Inn & Suites
Millwood Inn & Suites
#2 of 7 in Millbrae
4.5 of 5 stars 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft San Francisco Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft San Francisco Airport

Address: 401 East Millbrae Avenue, Millbrae, CA 94030
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Millbrae
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Millbrae
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft San Francisco Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only a half-mile from the airport, the Aloft San Francisco Airport hotel offers guests bright modern rooms with all the amenities including complimentary wireless internet access. Overnight parking is $23.00 Per night ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Starwood, Orbitz, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Aloft San Francisco Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aloft San Francisco Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.