We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Man! What a great hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aloft San Francisco Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Aloft San Francisco Airport to your Saves list
Aloft San Francisco Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   401 East Millbrae Avenue, Millbrae, CA 94030   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Millbrae
Launceston, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Man! What a great hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

By Far the best hotel we have stayed at near an airport.
Groovy, great interior decor, rooms are awesome, late checkout, board games set up in lobby, amazing staff that will literally do anything for you.

The price was amazingly affordable for such a high quality hotel!

Could not find a fault and would recommend anyone that needs a layover stop in SFO for half the price of a luxury hotel but with all the ameneties you will find and much more.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikki_Por, Starwood Hotels at Aloft San Francisco Airport, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for review and for recommending us to others! We're glad you enjoyed your time at Aloft SFO. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    172
    52
    11
    9
See reviews for
60
71
35
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
95 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Very nice hotel, appears to have been recently refurbished, modern design starts from the very nice and trendy lobby to the rooms. Nothing special to complain about, other than the bathroom is so big it almost feels it's a waste of space and the shower is oversized..
Nice check-in people, punctual shuttle, rather pricey when I stayed there, but that week the whole of SFO was packed and hotels were all full. Would have been nice if they had included a basic breakfast in the rate..
Not sure how this hotel compares to other airport hotel money wise during a normal week, but it surely will be my preference going forward if the rate differential is not huge.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Stayed here for a night after an unexpected red-eye cancellation and was very pleased with the accommodations. The room was spacious, clean, comfortable with good temperature control - I had a nice view of flights taking off (if you enjoy that kind of thing). The shuttle bus ran every 15 minutes starting early in the morning and got me to the terminal with plenty of time.

The one thing to note is that Aloft hotels don't have full-service dining options so you'd have to go over to the Westin across the way to eat (or elsewhere if you have a car). It wasn't an issue for me since I had already eaten dinner before arriving, but it is something you should be aware of.

I was very happy with it and if you don't need full-service dining, it's a great option by SFO

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikki_Por, Starwood Hotels at Aloft San Francisco Airport, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
We're happy to hear that our hotel met your expectations and that you were comfortable even though you had an unexpected flight cancellation at SFO. Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback about your stay! At Aloft, we do offer hot menu items in our Re:fuel eatery as well as at W XYZ Bar in the lobby. You are correct, if you need a full service restaurant, The Westin SFO is right across the parking lot. Thanks again and take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Excellent Airport hotel. Decor is very modern and clean. There isn’t a restaurant, per se, but there is a bar with great beer on draft and a small menu of snacks and salads available. Coffee and breakfast items (made to order) are also available in the lobby in the morning. Rooms are very simple, but clean and comfortable. The air conditioner units are a little loud and come on and off constantly unless you keep the fan on all night. Amenities include two complimentary bottles of water and Bliss bath products. We had an early morning flight out of SFO so we booked a 'park and jet' package, which includes complimentary parking for up to 10 nights. Guest can park anywhere in the parking lot. There is no security service, but there is a gate with an attendant to get on and off property. The shuttle TO the airport was clean, quick and convenient. However, I don't recommend taking the shuttle BACK to the hotel from SFO. Take a taxi instead! The shuttle only comes every 20 minutes, stops several times in the terminal and at the Westin - the Aloft is the last stop. Taking the shuttle TO the airport is fine - 5 minutes, tops. Request a room overlooking the pool or courtyard. These rooms are MUCH quieter. Check in and check out was easy and efficient. We will stay at the Aloft the next time we have a flight out of SFO. You can’t beat the location and park and fly rates!

Room Tip: For Park-N-Fly: When returning from SFO to pick up your car, TAKE A TAXI! Request a room overlookin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Well for starters, I was well aware from reading reviews here on Tripadvisor that this hotel is right next to the main runway at SFO however some reviewers indicated it wasn't as bad if your room was facing the "courtyard" (away from the runway). I got one of those rooms and maybe I am just sensitive to noise but pretty much all night every 5-7 minutes I could hear those jet engines firing up to move those planes around the runway. The HVAC system in the room was also a bit noisy - making a loud clicking noise every time it turned on. So, for sleep quality, the hotel is not so good. The bedding is fine but I find the beds at Westin hotels much more comfortable than what was offered at Aloft. Rooms are a good size, modern and clean. On the plus side, this hotel has a nice energetic lobby/bar area and a nice indoor swimming pool and a great workout room. If the property were just located away from the main runway, it would earn a much higher rating.

Room Tip: If you are sensitive to noise, you want to make sure you ask for a room that is opposite the rooms t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

This a decent, average, airport style hotel.

The rooms are a good size, clean and tidy. The gym is too small for a hotel of this size, but again, just about ok.

I would stay here because it represents good value for money.

No complaints, although it does sound a bit whiney....

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

The Aloft hotel looks very new with an interesting, modern design. Rooms are clean and spacious with free internet connection, nice bathroom and comfortable beds. The stuff in the reception was very friendly and helpful and they made us feel welcome.
The hotel is located very close to the airport with free shuttle service - very handy if you need to travel the next day. Unfortunately there is no free parking available but 10$ per day is not too bad.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aloft San Francisco Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft San Francisco Airport

Address: 401 East Millbrae Avenue, Millbrae, CA 94030
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Millbrae
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Millbrae
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft San Francisco Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only a half-mile from the airport, the Aloft San Francisco Airport hotel offers guests bright modern rooms with all the amenities including complimentary wireless internet access. Overnight parking is $20.00 per night ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Aloft San Francisco Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aloft San Francisco Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.