We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy for budget travelers on BART” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   250 El Camino Real, Millbrae, CA 94030   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Millbrae
Orange County, CA
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Easy for budget travelers on BART”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

The Fairfield Inn is a walkable distance from the BART line, with access to SFO via the hotel shuttle. We have stayed there twice, and have gotten AAA or AARP discounts. The in house breakfast is convenient and adequate. The rooms are fairly new, clean and modern.

The BART line goes to Downtown SF, so this would make a good choice if you don't want to pay the steep hotel prices in SF.

They do charge a premium for parking, so inquire about any deals.

There is also a large food court of inexpensive eateries across the street from the BART station.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    121
    58
    24
    23
See reviews for
58
93
25
80
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

The rooms at the Fairfield are decent rooms with a lounge area. They are clean and basic. The breakfast is effective but not spectacular. The problem I have is that on June 5th we went to the front desk and asked for a taxi service that the hotel utilized. The front desk representative Sabrina call a company (VIP Taxi & Limo) of whom we suspect there may be some unethical relationship. This taxi service charge us $68 to travel 19 miles (it should have been only $38). When we arrived back at the hotel we complained to Sabrina who did not seem shocked. And while she said she would call the company and complain on our behalf her facial expression and body language told us she would not. It is this unethical behavior that makes me doubt I will return to this hotel. As a patron we should be able to trust that the hotel will be supportive and an advocate for all of its patrons.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janice250, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments regarding your most recent stay with us.

I wanted to take a moment to apologize for the taxi cab incident you mentioned. We took this cab company off our preferred cab list prior to your review being posted. We want our customers lodging experience to be an excellent experience from start till finish.
I can assure you that Sabrina does not have any relationship with this cab company whatsoever and I apologize if you felt her customer experience was lacking.
I also wanted to take the time to thank you for mentioning the cleanliness of our rooms! Our housekeepers take a great deal of time making sure our rooms are cleaned to the highest standards..

We do hope to see you again in the near future should you be traveling near the SFO/Millbrae area!

Sincerely,
Fairfield Inn & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lombard, Illinois
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

A free shuttle is provided from SFO airport and it is close walking distance to the Millbrae BART. There is some background noise as El Camino is a busy street in front and the BART and Amtrak run behind it. It's quite close to the airport so you may also hear that as well.

Based on its location, the amenities are smaller and much closer together with very little green space. They have a small pool and the breakfast area is cozy. The parking is underground and the other buildings nearby are right up against the property.

The staff was very accommodating and welcoming at check-in and check-out. The price is a little high for this level of accommodations but there are some conveniences such as the shuttle and transportation nearby which can't be overlooked. Overall, it's a decent place for a quick night's sleep and back to the airport, rather than a long stay in the bay area.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

The Hotel room was nice however the recommended cab service (VIP Taxi & LIMO Service) was robbery. My girlfriend and I requested a cab to pick us up so that we could go to Yosito's in San Francisco to see Alcoustic Alchemy Live in Concert so we asked the hotel clerk if she could recommend a taxi company. She called VIP and they were Johnny on the spot! The cab service Billed us at rate 4 which cost us $75.00 one way. We told our complaint to a couple of concert goers and they told us to try UBER which we unsuccessfully failed. In the meantime we had no other choice so we thought but to call this rip-off taxi service again and when I reached him on the phone the driver kept giving me the run around asking if I was sure I was going to be there well, I called Yellow Cab and their fare was just a little over half what VIP charged (rate 1) When we arrived back to the hotel we made a complaint with the clerk at the Front Desk who tried to act as if she was concerned but clearly was not. Since the Hotel recommended this Company we will never again stay here or recommend anyone to stay even though the room and room service was alright because they are definitely in relationship with this cab service. How could you not know that Yellow Cab service was least expensive. We were not entertainers who needed VIP Service. If you happen to stay here and need a Taxi Please Call Yellow Cab. Also do not say in Room 304 it takes a while for the Air to kick-in

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janice250, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Valued Guest:

The entire staff of the Fairfield Inn & Suites SFO Airport would like to apologize for this inconvenience you experienced regarding the taxi cab.
We do believe that this charge was unreasonable as well and are investigating this matter with the cab company. We have also removed them from our recommended list of taxi cab companies.

We hope to see you again the near future to provide you with a much better stay! If you are in the area, please see if you are able to utilize the BART station, as that is a much cheaper and faster way of getting to the city and back.
Again, our apologies for the inconvenience and thank you for your informative review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Was here one night for business. Landed around mindnight and level the hotel early next morning for meetings. Checking could be faster. Parking is underground but not gated.

The good:
- Nice clean hotel
- close to airport

The not so good:
- Price

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fountain valley, Ca
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

I took my daughter and her friend to San Francisco area to go look at some colleges. I booked at Fairfield because I have stayed at this brand before. The hotel was beautiful, the rooms were nice. The staff was welcoming. These are my complaints.
**our room overlooked Taco Bell drive Thru, which had a bright light that overlooked the drive thru that no matter what we did the light shined in.
**One of the keys didn't work, went down and they got me one new key
**TV and Remote did not work, it was late in the evening so I decided to tell the front desk in the morning
**The next morning when we were leaving I noticed we left the do not disturb on the door, went to open the door and the key again wouldn't work, so I slid the do not disturb under the door. When I went downstair to tell the front desk about the TV and the key not working. She told me that she needed to give me two new keys, because when you rekey one it automatically disables the other key which would explain why my key wouldn't work this morning.
**The breakfast wasn't great, instant oatmeal, cereal choice was so so, no waffles, Bagels were so stale I couldn't even split it.
**That night when we came home we noticed that our do not disturb sign was back on our door and our room wasn't clean. It was 11 at night. When they came earlier in the day to repair the TV they put the sign back on the door that I had slid under the door because my key would work. The front desk was very apologetic. But still our room wasn't clean. I was tired and just asked for new towels.

Yes I would stay again because of the location, price, comfort and the closeness to the train station.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from Taco Bell
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, England
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Fantastic hotel with spacious rooms. We stayed 1 night after a long flight . Bed very comfortable which meant we had a wonderful nights sleep. Staff very helpful. Breakfast very good. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport

Address: 250 El Camino Real, Millbrae, CA 94030
Location: United States > California > Millbrae
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Millbrae
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott is conveniently located just one mile west of San Francisco International Airport and twelve miles south of Downtown San Francisco. The property is within minutes of popular attractions such as Candlestick Park, AT&T Park, Fisherman's Wharf, Pier 39, Union Square, and the Golden Gate Bridge. Silicon Valley and Oakland are only twenty minutes away.Complimentary amenities with each stay include Fairfield Inn's signature Early Eats Breakfast Buffet, free airport shuttle service and free printing, faxing, and copying services in our Business Library. All of the hotel's guestrooms are oversized and have a separate living and sleeping area that are decorated in warm contemporary colors. Each room is equipped with free high-speed internet access, two 32" flat panel televisions, a microwave, a refrigerator, and a large executive desk with an ergonomic chair. After a hectic day of travel or business, guests can unwind in the hotel's therapy outdoor whirlpool spa or workout in the hotel's fully equipped executive fitness room. The Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott's also within a very short walking distance to both historic Downtown Millbrae and the Millbrae BART and Caltrain Station. Historic Downtown Millbrae has a large collection of boutique and antique shops, restaurants, spas, national retailers, and entertainment. The Millbrae BART and Caltrain Station provides convenient and inexpensive Caltrain and BART train service to Downtown San Francisco, Oakland, Berkeley, and the Silicon Valley. Additional recreational activities such as golf, biking, hiking, rock climbing, and sailing are nearby. San Francisco and Napa tours can be booked from the hotel with free round-trip tour pick-up and drop off service from/to the hotel. Park Stay and Go Packages are available that include a one night stay with all amenities plus up to fourteen days of additional parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport Hotel Millbrae
Fairfield Inn And Suites San Francisco Airport
Quality Inn Millbrae
Quality Hotel Millbrae

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.