We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were pleased with this hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   250 El Camino Real, Millbrae, CA 94030   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Millbrae
Marietta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“We were pleased with this hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

We stayed here as a two-night stop on a trip driving from the Napa Valley to Los Angeles. We planned to spend a day sight-seeing in San Fran and chose this area because the rate was less expensive than staying in the downtown area. It is very close to a major BART station. We took the train from there to the Union Square area (about a 25 minute ride) and rode back after our sight-seeing was done. We found the staff to be friendly and helpful. We liked that there were so many non-chain restaurants in the area to choose from. We like to try local places when we can while traveling. We ate dinner at a Vietnamese place that was quite good. The room was fairly spacious and clean. But the a/c unit was very loud and interrupted my sleep. I had to get ear plugs for the second night. We felt safe taking a walk around at night.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    125
    58
    24
    23
See reviews for
60
96
25
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

My friends and I needed a convenient place to stay for our last night in San Francisco so we chose this location -- never again! The front desk clerk was incredibly difficult, unaccommodating, and had zero respect for her staff. Full disclosure here: we were attempting to check in a couple of hours early (we did not time our arrival properly) but she was insistent that a room was not available -- without even checking to see if one was! And her exchanges with the cleaning staff were clearly disrespectful and uncomfortable. The room was clean (albeit directly next to a Taco Bell drive-thru but thankfully it was Sunday night so it was quiet) and the ONLY upside was the amazingly positive and friendly shuttle bus driver. That gentleman made it very tolerable to be up and on a shuttle bus at 4am! Otherwise, I would not touch this place with a ten foot pole ever again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here overnight after we arrived at SFO on our way to Paso Robles. Clean, quiet, and convenient. The room is quite large. The breakfast is part of the room rate which is a nice feature. Definitely met our needs.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lake Tahoe, California
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

I used this location because I was sending my wife and daughter to Europe on an early am flight. Asked the desk clerk for a quiet room. Our room was facing a Taco Bell drive thru!
The front desk clerk understood me.
We were so tired from driving to the airport from our home , we not only didn't notice but found out when the night time patrons were drunk and ordering from the drive thru line.

When I spoke to the front desk at check out time, I asked for a lower rate and the answer I received was: We do not have the authority to do anything, the manager will have to call you.

The manager didn't call for several days, and guess what, she told me the same thing. She had to talk to the owner. She did say she was so sorry.

The owner gave me 3000 points on my Marriott card. This was an absolute insult and it was no big deal to me.

The rooms are worn out, I was lied to where my room was and if you have an issue, forget getting it resolved.

I can't believe Marriott allows this property to operate like this.
We will NEVER stay at this property again. Period.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janice250, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
On behalf of the entire staff at the Fairfield Inn & Suites SFO, we would like to thank you for your stay and comments. We regret that some unruly patrons of the facility next door affected your stay in a negative manner. Due to your late arrival, we were unable to provide you with accommodations on a higher floor. Further, since you did not report this change as it occurred, we were not given the opportunity to move you to another room of your liking. The hotel does work with its neighbors to prevent any situation that could in any way compromise the guest experience. Based on your complaint, we are taking additional steps to ensure that this problem does not occur in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Since we have a lot of Marriott points, we decided to stay here before our flight out of SFO. We arrived before noon, parked the car in the underground garage, and took BART to SF for the day. The hotel staff was generally helpful, and was good about letting us park the car relatively early so we didn't need to drive to SF.

The beds are comfortable, and the hotel is relatively clean. However, there are a couple of issues to be aware of. First, half of the rooms face the train tracks that run behind the hotel. They're loud, and the trains run late into the night. Try to get a room facing the road. Second, while the hotel *seems* to be near SFO, the shuttle makes two more stops at hotels on the far side of the airport. The drive to SFO is about 5 minutes, but we spent 20+ minutes on the shuttle driving to the other hotels. This meant an earlier wakeup call for our early flight out of SFO, and is the reason for the low service rating.

Overall, though, it was a pretty good value for a night's stay and parking for a week.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing El Camino Real. The trains run right behind the hotel, and they're som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nags Head, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

We're Marriott fans so we picked this hotel out of loyalty. Once again, no disappointment.
We had an early morning departure out of SFO so we decided to stay at the airport overnight,

We arrived at SFO late in the afternoon. The Hotel shuttle arrived at the pickup point just as we got there so we hopped right on and were at the hotel in 10 minutes.

We had reserved a King room and it had everything we needed. Very clean; very quiet. The helpful deskclerk recommended a real nice restaurant across the street. We found a 7-11 half a block from that for some late night snacks and walked back through a safe feeling neighborhood to the hotal.

As promised, the 5:10am Hotel shuttle got us to the airport by 5:30am so it was a completely stress free stay. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We were in 412 - nice room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

I spent a night here ( and left the car for 13 more) with my family of 5 piled into one room before an early morning flight from SFO. They exceeded my expectations, the room was nice and quiet and the airport shuttle service was very good. There are lots of nice restaurants nearby so I would recommend this place as a very reasonably priced option near SFO.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport

Address: 250 El Camino Real, Millbrae, CA 94030
Location: United States > California > Millbrae
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Millbrae
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott is conveniently located just one mile west of San Francisco International Airport and twelve miles south of Downtown San Francisco. The property is within minutes of popular attractions such as Candlestick Park, AT&T Park, Fisherman's Wharf, Pier 39, Union Square, and the Golden Gate Bridge. Silicon Valley and Oakland are only twenty minutes away.Complimentary amenities with each stay include Fairfield Inn's signature Early Eats Breakfast Buffet, free airport shuttle service and free printing, faxing, and copying services in our Business Library. All of the hotel's guestrooms are oversized and have a separate living and sleeping area that are decorated in warm contemporary colors. Each room is equipped with free high-speed internet access, two 32" flat panel televisions, a microwave, a refrigerator, and a large executive desk with an ergonomic chair. After a hectic day of travel or business, guests can unwind in the hotel's therapy outdoor whirlpool spa or workout in the hotel's fully equipped executive fitness room. The Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott's also within a very short walking distance to both historic Downtown Millbrae and the Millbrae BART and Caltrain Station. Historic Downtown Millbrae has a large collection of boutique and antique shops, restaurants, spas, national retailers, and entertainment. The Millbrae BART and Caltrain Station provides convenient and inexpensive Caltrain and BART train service to Downtown San Francisco, Oakland, Berkeley, and the Silicon Valley. Additional recreational activities such as golf, biking, hiking, rock climbing, and sailing are nearby. San Francisco and Napa tours can be booked from the hotel with free round-trip tour pick-up and drop off service from/to the hotel. Park Stay and Go Packages are available that include a one night stay with all amenities plus up to fourteen days of additional parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Marriott, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport Hotel Millbrae
Fairfield Inn And Suites San Francisco Airport
Quality Inn Millbrae
Quality Hotel Millbrae

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.