We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“End of Lassen trip overnighter” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. Bernard Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added St. Bernard Lodge to your Saves list
St. Bernard Lodge
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   44801 Highway 36 East, 10 Miles West of Chester, Ca, Mill Creek, CA 96061   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Mill Creek B&B and Inns
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“End of Lassen trip overnighter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

This place is marvelously funky, with excellent food and drink and helpful and friendly staff. It provided the perfect end to our long weekend at Lassen Volcanic: nice wine, our first TV (at the bar of course!), hot showers and flush toilets. The hot tub was a bonus treat, as were the nature walks both on and off the lodge's property. If you find yourself in the vicinity of Chester, indulge in a stay at St Bernard!

Room Tip: The rooms to the back are quieter as they are away from the main road. And save room for breakfast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernardChester, Owner at St. Bernard Lodge, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Carole thanks for staying with us, hope you will stay longer next time. Hope traffic was not to heavy on the way home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    17
    10
    1
    5
See reviews for
14
39
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Petaluma, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I have driven by the St. Bernard Lodge several times in the past and it was a huge mistake! Last night my family and I stopped to check the place out. It is great inside and the dinner we had was fantastic! The owners were very friendly. The clam chowder was delicious as well as the steak and shimp scampi entrees. If you are driving past the St. Bernard Lodge on hwy 36, stop in and have a meal, maybe stay the night. You will not be disapointed. I know we will be back. Thank you for a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Just spent a long winter holiday weekend here with my friends and we all truly enjoyed our stay. The owners are wonderful-- very accommodating to our needs and always cheerful and friendly. The rooms are very clean and comfortable, and while the decor is a little dated it's got a certain "cowboy" charm. The overall feel is very comfortable--- as if you're lounging in your own home. The included breakfasts were enormous and delicious. I was thrilled that I was served vegetarian dinner dishes made to order...Where does that ever happen? The room/food prices were right too. Lovely hot tub out back. We will be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Almanor Peninsula, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

My wife and I enojyed a delicious Valentines Day dinner last night. The owners Jim and Sharon made the evening very special. If you looking for good food with excellent service then the St. Bernard Lodge is the place to go!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We were expecting to stay somewhere in Chester when we found every motel in town was booked with firefighters and loggers doing cleanup from the Reading fire. We called the St. Bernard Lodge at 8:30pm! and the very gracious owner offered us lodging, even though they had no other bookings that evening and were looking forward to a well deserved night off. The lodge is beautiful, clean, historic, and wonderfully quirky. We love the different personalities of B&Bs, and we love St. Bernard lodge. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

My husband and I stayed in St Bernard Lodge for 2 nights.
Rooms are small, bathrooms are nice, especially the one with the bath tub.
Breakfast in good and enormous. The lady gives good advises on what is to be seen in the area and even on your way to your next stop if you are on a roadtrip.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuba City, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I stayed at the St. Bernard lounge Sunday night September 2nd and let Monday September 3rd. The people were very friendly and accommodating and had everything i needed. The food was excellent ha steak for dinner and the breakfast in the morning was delicious. The ponds in the back are gorgeous. There is a hot tub out back i didn't go in but it was available. There is free wifi if needed. Full bar with plenty of beer and wine choices. There is a lot of brochures and maps of the area and they helped me plan a future camping trip in the area. Very knowledgeable of the area and local attractions. Overall had an awesome stay at the St. Bernard lodge

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mill Creek
8.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Rose Quartz Inn
12.6 mi away
Bailey Creek Cottages
Bailey Creek Cottages
#4 of 6 in Chester
5.0 of 5 stars 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Bernard Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Bernard Lodge

Address: 44801 Highway 36 East, 10 Miles West of Chester, Ca, Mill Creek, CA 96061
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mill Creek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Mill Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Bernard Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St. Bernard Lodge is located close to both Mount Lassen National Park and Lake Almanor. It is full of history and turn of the century decor. All rooms are country casual with knotty pine interior. The lodge is a great place for individuals, families and small groups to enjoy the outdoors and relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your St. Bernard Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Bernard Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.