We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Childs Meadow Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mill Creek
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Childs Meadow Resort
41500 Highway 36 East, Mill Creek, CA 96061   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Mill Creek
Toledo, Ohio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Value!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

We needed a place to sleep and stumbled on this little place across the street from a charming, scenic meadow just outside of Lassen NP in CA. It's not a luxury hotel. It's rustic, and it's a bit of a work in progress. We had a room (king) and it was very clean and the bed was comfortable. Bruce was great about getting us checked in around 9pm and showing us around the place. He made sure the room was in good order. They have a little diner next to the motel...it's very informal, has wireless Internet access and some nice outdoor seating with games and a pleasant view of the meadow. The breakfast was absolutely delicious.

I'd stay there again in a minute...you are less than fifteen minutes outside Lassen, across the road from an active meadow, wake up with hot coffee five minutes outside your door and have the option of eating one of the best breakfasts served in the area, and it's cheap. What a treat!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    11
    5
    4
    7
See reviews for
12
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2011

I've been bringing an ever-increasing number of folks to Childs Meadow for a three day weekend since 2003. This is not a luxury resort. It's a classic California getaway with a long history on some prime property outside of Lassen National Park. Dottie and Bruce have been a pleasure to work with and they have taken great care of our group of now 50+ folks, including 14 children, through the challenging winter weather that we come up there to enjoy. They always go the extra mile to keep us safe, comfortable and on the road, even when the cabins and cars are buried in this regions copious snowfall.They give us the freedom to congregate and enjoy ourselves like few resorts would. This is a great resort!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frannysf
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2010

The location is great for hiking in Lassen and the surrounding area. Folks are friendly. But, oh, the accommodations. They have several types of lodging. We stayed in kind of a small caravan-type trailer. Trundle bed. Very small and so cramped with both beds open. Claustrophobic feel. Don't try to shower in there -- use the bath house which has more hot water. Filthy curtains and blinds. Beds were a row of springs, quarter inch plywood on top of that, then a thin mattress. Horrible. Uncomfortable and noisy every time you moved. Road is nearby, so kind of noisy during the day, but quiet at night. Accommodations described as rustic, but I think camping would be cleaner. Not looking for luxury, we're hikers, but we will never stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mill Creek hotels

Gridley, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2010

My husband and I have camped for many years at Childs Meadows.At our age we like having complete hook-ups,yet we still enjoy the rustic look and feel of camping.Our grand children feel like Childs Meadows is their second home.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma County CA
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

Our Lassen trip was a birthday surprise for my husband so I wanted something a little special. We like rustic more than fancy. The 'cabin' I booked was new and potentially cute but it was parked (literally, it was on wheels) in a bare parking lot. It was so tiny that when the 'trundlebed' was pulled out and made up there wasn't room to move around the room. Worse, the bed was really 2 singles that didn't hook together in any way. I told the woman at the desk that this might be fine if my husband and I were just friends but it wasn't going to work for a romantic getaway! She was accomodating enough and we ended up in the motel which was perfectly adequate, clean with microwave and fridge (which was all the cabin had anyway) and a comfortable kingsize bed. No TV but we didn't want one.

The resort must once have been charming, with a row of large cabins facing a lovely valley and a large wooden house. Now the house is empty and has a trailer permanently parked in front of it, the meadow view includes the motel and various odd accumulations of junk, and there are these random cabins on wheels and RVs. The water is wonderful, from a spring up above the resort (I explored and found it) it's dog-friendly for an extra $10 and it's certainly convenient to Lassen. Overall I'd call it fine value for money.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

The room was very clean and appeared to be freshly painted. The carpet was a little spotted given that pets are accepted, nevertheless clean. The surroundings are beautiful in this remote valley just a few miles south-east of Lassen. We had our dogs with us. The Sandhill Cranes were present, but unfortunately they were quiet the one night in August that we stayed. However we were delighted to hear a pair of Great Horned Owls outside our window during the night. Barn swallows were nesting not far away.

If a quiet motel is what you desire, this is the place.

The cafeteria was not serving the night we stayed and we had to drive to Chester, 20 miles east, for dinner and breakfast.

The weather was hot (93F) the first day, but the room was cool despite not having air conditioning because the construction is heavy masonry which stays cool. There was no tv, computer hook up, or telephone.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

We were keen to visit Lassen Volcanic Park (which was amazing and worth the detour on our holiday) and I booked Childs Meadow because it sounded like a rural idyll. How wrong was I? I should have read the reviews first and had I done so would not have booked this.
We were shown to a wooden trailer balanced on breeze blocks situated in amongst aged trailers, RVs and old cars. When we opened the door the smell that hit us was revolting - we later found a rotting steak down the side of the oven which confirmed our view that the place had not been very well cleaned. We had no sleep due to a car which parked behind the trailer in the early hours and the occupant kept his radio on all night. the room was lit up by passing cars' lights and security lights. We mentioned all this to the lady in charge and she did apologise but there was no offer of a refund or reduction in the bill. We were never so pleased to leave a place. Luckily our next night was spent at the wonderful Tallman Hotel in Upper Lake. Good luck with finding a place to stay near here because our day in Lassen was one of the highlights of our holiday and I would definately recommend a visit.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Childs Meadow Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Childs Meadow Resort

Also Known As:
Childs Meadow Hotel Mill Creek
Childs Meadow Hotel
Address: 41500 Highway 36 East, Mill Creek, CA 96061
Location: United States > California > Mill Creek
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Mill Creek

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Childs Meadow Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Childs Meadow Resort to your Saves list