We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not rustic, but dirty and run down!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mill Creek Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mill Creek
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mill Creek Resort
Save
You added Mill Creek Resort to your Saves list
40271 Hwy 172, Mill Creek, CA 96061   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mill Creek
Sacramento, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Not rustic, but dirty and run down!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

We wanted to visit Lassen Volcanic National Park for our third wedding anniversary and found that Mill Creek was close by. The location is the only positive thing, and the fact that it is surrounded by beautiful nature. We travel a lot throughout Northern California, and we did not expect Sonoma, or anything like that....we know how to rough it out...we just wanted a simple, modest, clean cabin. Outside, the cabins are cute. Inside...it was all dirty and way too run down.For instance, all beds are full size and the mattresses are 20 years old...no support at all. Could not sleep all night, both nights we were there. They added a thick piece of foam, but it does not help. It hurt! All pots and pans in the kitchen were so badly scratched that they were unusable. The towels are thin and nasty...like the ones you would use for floors once they get old. We did all our cooking on the grill outside . We stayed for two nights, as we paid in advance, and there are really not many choices around there, and they know it...and yes, there is no service, but they even expect you to dump the garbage to their main container in the morning...for $85 a night, this is a ripoff and it was not even a high season. If you are looking for a "we are camping" feeling and nothing more than that, this is your place. The two abandoned, destroyed cabins were outside of ours, which made it depressing and scary in a way. The light above our bed was broken and left to just hang there with a light bulb broken in half in sight. The windows were dirty, the floors were dirty. Maybe they are trying, but it is just so old and run down and that no matter how much they clean it cannot show. Everything was very dusty, and we spent the first forty minutes there cleaning! The shower is good and fast. We spent the entire day outside, so that helped...yet, it would have been nice to come to a clean, rustic cabin at the end of the day, knowing you can actually get a good night sleep. We came home exhausted from sleeping in such uncomfortable bed for two nights. We really tried to make the best of the situation though...

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    13
    6
    6
    2
See reviews for
16
21
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Elk Grove, California
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2010

Don't get me wrong, the location is beautiful, the people are friendly, but the cabin was in bad shape! Maintenance has been put off & the furniture & fixtures have seen better days.
The bottom line items for us are cleanliness, sleep quality & the shower. When we arrived we found food scraps on the table and the tablecloth was sticky & dirty. That immediately was botheredsome, because it shows a lack of basic cleaning. The bed was rock hard, I have never had a harder bed to sleep on - anywhere. Even after spending the day hiking in Lassen Park it was difficult to sleep on it. Which is too bad considering the environment, cool clean air and a babbling brook to lull you to sleep. The shower head was the worst ever, not exaggerating! To describe it best, try to take a shower under one of those misters at a restaurant, you can get wet, but its pretty hard to rinse off.

The smoke detector was on the floor between the fridge & the wall, not on the ceiling. I figure a previous tenant knocked it off because the battery was dead & it was giving off that infernal chirping sound.

We have stayed at similar places in the past, Yosemite, Bryce, Yellowstone, etc. and this one, though beautiful and quiet was in the worst shape.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mn
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2010

I'm biased - I grew up vacationing at my grandfather's cabin which is within walking distance of Mill Creek resort.starting in 1954. Mill Creek is a rustic place - built in the 30's - the area supported logging, and not much else. Don't go if you want amenities. If you want quiet, simple, beautiful and are a strong hiker this may be your place.
Trout fishing has always been fun and scenic. You can fish all day and not see anyone else on the more remote parts of the creek which is down hill from the resort...w-a-y downhill.
The cabins are as describeld in the other reviews, rustic but clean. 16 of us go back every year and enjoy being close to Almanore, Lassen Park, the creek and the tall trees.

Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2008

What a great place to stay, especially if you want to relax and enjoy nature. The cabins are wonderful and if you want to bring your own food to cook or barbecue you will save some money, though the cafe at the general store is pretty good.

Mill Creek is located close to Lassen Park, and we also toured Burney Falls (a bit of a drive, but well worth the time), visited the Lava Caves and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

If you can't sleep on a hard mattress, make sure to bring a foam pad to put on top of their bed.

We can't wait to return to this wonderful spot : )

  • Liked — It was right in the middle of nature, off the beaten path, clean and quiet.
  • Disliked — The matresses were a bit hard.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fallon, NV
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2008

Mill Creek Resort is a classic rustic resort with small, clean cabins, large, beautiful trees, a scenic creek area, and plenty of spots to hike or explore back country roads. The fishermen in my family rave about the fly fishing. There are often deer strolling through the property. The resort is located in the northern Sierras, about 10 miles from the entrance to Lassen Volcanic Park and about 30 miles from Lake Almanor. It's not a "destination resort" in the modern sense of the term; it's a small, old-fashioned family-run resort with a campground, cabins, store and cafe, public showers, laundrey area and a post office.
We own property in the area, and have stayed at the resort several times over the years when our own cabin is uninhabitable, or we need extra space to accommodate guests. We love having the resort close by and hope to see it remain as is for many years to come.
P.S. I also drink regular old coffee, so I don't consider going without a mocha latte to be "roughing it."

Stayed June 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany Ca
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2007

This is the really rustic part of Northern California. If you are looking for Starbucks and a spa, go to Sonoma. If you want clean fresh air and no crowds this is the place. The outside of the cabins reflect the fact that they were built in the thirties. The inside was delightful. The walls, curtains and background of the bedding were white, so you could tell at a glance that everything was very clean. The kitchen was the best equipped we've found in a rental. It was really impressive how well put together our small cabin was. (We rented the smallest one they had.) Although the bathroom was small, it had a medicine cabinet and shelf for our belongings and the best low flow shower head you can find.
A short walk from the cabins took you to the trail to Mill Creek and a lovely swimming hole. We went to Mt Lassen one day, swimming at Mill Creek, exploring around Chester and Lake Almanor, cooked all our own meals and stargazed in the evenings.
Would suggest you bring some paper towels and a small electric fan and prepare tounwind.

  • Liked — Off the beaten path
  • Disliked — Could use a better porch
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2007

We have stayed at several Resorts in the area. Mill Creek is not a Resort. A few old cabins with a small Restaurant is not a Resort! The Cafe is what you would expect in a small town, and Mill Creek is too far out of the way to enjoy Lassen Volcanic National Park. No credit cards accepted for a reservation! Not recommended. Better places to stay and play!

  • Stayed August 2004, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mill Creek Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill Creek Resort

Address: 40271 Hwy 172, Mill Creek, CA 96061
Location: United States > California > Mill Creek
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mill Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Mill Creek Hotel Mill Creek

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mill Creek Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.