We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love Mill Creek” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mill Creek Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mill Creek
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mill Creek Resort
Save
You added Mill Creek Resort to your Saves list
40271 Hwy 172, Mill Creek, CA 96061   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mill Creek
Fallon, NV
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“I love Mill Creek”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2008

Mill Creek Resort is a classic rustic resort with small, clean cabins, large, beautiful trees, a scenic creek area, and plenty of spots to hike or explore back country roads. The fishermen in my family rave about the fly fishing. There are often deer strolling through the property. The resort is located in the northern Sierras, about 10 miles from the entrance to Lassen Volcanic Park and about 30 miles from Lake Almanor. It's not a "destination resort" in the modern sense of the term; it's a small, old-fashioned family-run resort with a campground, cabins, store and cafe, public showers, laundrey area and a post office.
We own property in the area, and have stayed at the resort several times over the years when our own cabin is uninhabitable, or we need extra space to accommodate guests. We love having the resort close by and hope to see it remain as is for many years to come.
P.S. I also drink regular old coffee, so I don't consider going without a mocha latte to be "roughing it."

Stayed June 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    13
    6
    6
    2
See reviews for
16
21
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Albany Ca
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2007

This is the really rustic part of Northern California. If you are looking for Starbucks and a spa, go to Sonoma. If you want clean fresh air and no crowds this is the place. The outside of the cabins reflect the fact that they were built in the thirties. The inside was delightful. The walls, curtains and background of the bedding were white, so you could tell at a glance that everything was very clean. The kitchen was the best equipped we've found in a rental. It was really impressive how well put together our small cabin was. (We rented the smallest one they had.) Although the bathroom was small, it had a medicine cabinet and shelf for our belongings and the best low flow shower head you can find.
A short walk from the cabins took you to the trail to Mill Creek and a lovely swimming hole. We went to Mt Lassen one day, swimming at Mill Creek, exploring around Chester and Lake Almanor, cooked all our own meals and stargazed in the evenings.
Would suggest you bring some paper towels and a small electric fan and prepare tounwind.

  • Liked — Off the beaten path
  • Disliked — Could use a better porch
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2007

We have stayed at several Resorts in the area. Mill Creek is not a Resort. A few old cabins with a small Restaurant is not a Resort! The Cafe is what you would expect in a small town, and Mill Creek is too far out of the way to enjoy Lassen Volcanic National Park. No credit cards accepted for a reservation! Not recommended. Better places to stay and play!

  • Stayed August 2004, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, Ca
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2006

Mill Creek cabin is a great experience. Do they sell mochas? No, but it one of the finest places in northern California to fly fish. It is considered a "trophy" creek. Anyone who missed the creek didn't leave the cabin. I appreciate the rustic, no nonsense appeal. I personally don't need someone to make by bed for me so maid service not an issue. My family and I go as often as vacancies will allow. I guess what what I like the most is what the other reviews bitched about. Whenever a friend asks for a fun weekend, this is where they are pointed.

Stayed November 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2006

The cabin exterior was cute: That's the best to say about Mill Creek. Cabin interior was updated in early 80's and shows years of use. No bathroom door, full-size bed is too short. Impossibly windy road to this remote location. "Cash or checks only" and no ATM for 25 miles. No maid service: change of towels and new soap costs $5.00. Full-sized bed was too short. Restaurant food was greasy!, spoiled coffee creamers, simple order was wrong, service is poor (staff will completely ignore you, even if no one else is around - and don't expect a smile). Early closure of restaurant / check-in / services means your hiking day will be cut short.

  • Liked — Having our own cabin was a cute idea.
  • Disliked — Terrible location, service, amenities, value for the price.
  • Tips/Secrets — Find another Lassen area place to stay.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2006

This choice on resorts was based on one review I read on the internet, not one of the best judgments I've made lately. I saw on the internet that it supposedly was a cute remote cabin, with a coffee shop and restaurant out front. When we arrived, we checked in at the coffee shop. I asked for a cup of coffee, and they asked what would I like? I said, "what do you have?" they replied, "regular or decaf". Needless to say not what I had expected,when that was a selling point on the internet. The people that worked there were also very unfriendly, always made you feel like you were putting them out of their way.
The cabins were very old and a few of them were so dilapidated that they were no longer in use. The extra pullout bed for our children was so uncomfortable we had to pull the mattress off and put it on the kitchen floor to sleep. And as for the toilet it plugged up the first night we stayed there. I guess that's why there was a plunger next to the toilet.
As for the supposed beautiful creek nearby. It was hard to find and then when found it was too dirty and flowed too rapidly for children to play in. Not one of our finer vacations. Next time I'll do more research.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2006

We stayed here in August 2006 - and we couldn't find the creek. There's a teensy-tiny creek, but nothing like the photos on the website: ----
Hmmm - we had visions of putting our feet in the creek after a long day of hiking, but no such luck.

The cabin (#11) we stayed in was: 1) very small; 2) smelly, due to the mop left in a bucket in the living room; 3) lacking amenities such as coffee filters, soap,and salt & pepper. I can see not having coffee ... but what's the point of providng a cofee maker if you don't provide coffee filters? And every cabin that we've satyed in has at least had salt and pepper in it.

We were aware that the "Resort" doesn't take credit cards, but as we returned the the key to our cabin, we noticed that another guest's credit card info was being taken. We would much rather have paid by credit card, like the other guest - guess we didn't qualify for the ability to pay via credit card.

When we checked in, we were tersely informed that the dining area (which is about 15 feet by 25 feet) "stops serving meals at 7:30." That's hardly inviting! And when we inquired about their dog (there were signs everywhere that said "Please do not feed our dog ... he's allergic to lots of food!"), we were told not to feed him anything - as if we couldn't read the signs. Strangely enough, we didn't see this dog at all during our stay.

And the website doesn't say exactly say this - but this area is REMOTE. Mineral (population 90) has one tiny store, which doesn't carry anything decent - so bring your own food! There's one restaurant in the motel, but we didn't try it, as it didn't look appetizing.

We would not return to stay at this place. No creek, a miniscule and musty cabin, and a definite lack of friendliness are more than enough reasons to never go back.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mill Creek Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill Creek Resort

Address: 40271 Hwy 172, Mill Creek, CA 96061
Location: United States > California > Mill Creek
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mill Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Mill Creek Hotel Mill Creek

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mill Creek Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.