We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what I had hoped” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yosemite Bug Rustic Mountain Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Yosemite Bug Rustic Mountain Resort to your Saves list
Yosemite Bug Rustic Mountain Resort
1.0 of 5 Hostel   |   6979 Calif. 140 (P.O. Box 81), Midpines, CA 95345   |  
Hotel amenities
Cleveland, OH
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Just what I had hoped”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I checked this place out on the web and though we usually prefer more plushy digs, this little hostel delivered. We booked a room with a private bath. It was cheap, clean and quiet. The beds are knock off tempurpedic that are very comfy. They really emphasize conserving water (if it's yellow, let it mellow). For a night or two it is great. But the best of all was the food. Best in Yosemite, I swear. Like home cooking, only gourmet. I loved the vibe of this place: California hippie, camping, sierra club, international coffeehouse. It was a find.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    156
    52
    34
    25
See reviews for
82
130
40
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Stayed here for two nights as part of a walking tour. We stayed in a 2 roomed hostel with 6 bunk beds in each room, with 2 shared showers and 3 toilets. There is a large hut with a lounge with lots of comfy sofas and they do good food for breakfast, pack up lunches if you want, and dinner and huge portions. There is also a 'spa' with hot tub and massages are available at extra costs. About and hour drive outside the main village in Yosemite.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Month ago my GF and I stayed in Yosemite Bug. At the time being it was the only reasonably priced accommodation near Yosemite NP. The staff is helpful, Wi Fi available, place is crowded with young people and very lively, there is a local bar, toilets are ok...but...The insulated tent cabin where we were staying was everything but clean. Yes, I used to camp and to sleep on a number of locations, but dirty blankets which we had to put on top of our sheets were too much. Also, don't forget that Yosemite Bug is approx an hour drive from Yosemite Village. Next time I will pay more for accommodation which is closer and off course - cleaner. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I was very surprised by Bug Lodge, the rooms were basic but the overall facilities - restaurant and spa were great. The cabin we stayed in had 12 beds of which our group took over 10. There was just enough toilets and showers in the cabin to cope with the morning rush, three toilets, three sinks and two showers. The beds were a bit creaky but fairly comfortable, and the cabin was a decent size although the walkways between the beds became a bit jammed with suitcases when all the beds were occupied. The room was divide into two areas with 6 beds (3 bunkbeds) in each by a door to keep the noise and light down between parties. We got a great night's sleep as it was very quiet even with a campfire sing-a-long going on close outside. The air con was a bit noisy but at least it worked. The best parts of the Lodge were the restaurant that served a variety of hot meals as well as making up packed lunches for hikers - you think you're just getting a sandwich but they throw in an apple and a bag of trail mix in too! It was a very sociable and cosy place to eat and the opening hours were very good for early starts. The spa was also an unexpected addition, for 10 dollars you could use the hot tub, sauna and all other facilities which is great after a long day hiking. The Lodge is situated well inside Yosemite and requires a further 40min-ish drive to reach parking to pick up the shuttle to take you to the trails.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Unique and woodsy set of cabins/rooms/bunks! Their onsite restaurant is tasty and reasonably priced. They provide games and cards as well as a computer in their restaurant/common area. Awesome fire pit where one can roast marshmallows and nearby springs where one can have a cool-off in the hot afternoon. Recommended!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Having been a local, I've eaten at the casual restaurant on the premises many times. The locals flock here for the excellent fresh cooked food. The menu is short, and changes daily depending on what is growing in their garden. There are meat or vegan choices which you enjoy while sitting either inside the rustic log building or outside on the deck. Young tourists from all over the world stay here.

We recently stayed 2 separate nights, each room a different one. What a find! The duplex cabins are modest from the outside, scattered in an oak forest on a steep hillside. Some stair climbing might be necessary. When you enter your room, you are in for a very pleasant surprise. Each room is decorated in a different theme. You would expect "mountain rustic", but it's far from that. It may be seaside theme, Provence, Mexican, or whatever. Spacious rooms, comfortable furnishings, clean, and very quiet. I would recommend this establishment to anyone who is on their way to/from Yosemite. Besides, it is closer to Yosemite than the town of Mariposa.

There is a spa, which we didn't use; and yoga classes. During the warmer months there is a local musician who performs around the campfire in the evenings.

Room Tip: If you have trouble with stairs, let them know.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Stayed here after staying at Yosemite River Inn at Groveland - enjoyed this more as a place to stay but is a much farther drive from Yosemite National Park. We stayed in a private cabin and was fine, not luxurious but comfortable enough. Lovely surrounds. Laundry facilities good and staff at front desk friendly. Didn't get chance to try hot tub. Most pleasant surprise was cafe - good food, affordable, wi-fi, very relaxing place to sit and eat and games for the kids. Come with hostel expectations and I think you'll enjoy. Would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Yosemite Bug Rustic Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Bug Rustic Mountain Resort

Address: 6979 Calif. 140 (P.O. Box 81), Midpines, CA 95345
Location: United States > California > Midpines
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Midpines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Yosemite Bug Rustic Mountain Resort 1*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Yosemite Bug is a rustic mountain resort 25 miles from Yosemite Valley. Located on a forested 20-acre hillside complex, the Bug is relaxed and sociable but well run. In addition to the hostel kitchen, the lodge sports a restaurant that has a great reputation locally for value. Our desk staff are well versed about activities and hikes in Yosemite Valley, Sequoia Groves and Tuolumne Meadows. The Merced Wild and Scenic Area is 3 miles away and features white-water in spring and great summer swimming. Near the hostel itself is a large spring swimming hole and Mariposa Gold Town, 10 miles back. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Yosemite Bug Rustic Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yosemite Bug Rustic Mountain Hotel Midpines

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yosemite Bug Rustic Mountain Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.