We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just called” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Yosemite West / Mariposa KOA

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Midpines
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Yosemite West / Mariposa KOA
Save
You added Yosemite West / Mariposa KOA to your Saves list
6323 Highway 140, Midpines, CA 95345   |  
Hotel amenities
Lake Forest California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“just called”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

Just called the place to ask some questions being I have never been there
and the lady was not friendly
It seemed like I was bothering her

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    20
    21
    17
    26
See reviews for
55
18
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

Very poor facility and terrible staffs, Terrible attitude, terrible cabin, terrible, terrible........

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2010

Our RV developed an unexpected hydraulic problem so we told the RV office that we had to leave a day early in order to get it fixed. They refused to refund us this last night even though we weren't going to be there.

Also we were never able to get cell phone service nor tv receeption.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2010

Never in America have I seen reception staff behave so badly with customers who have paid everything the staff asked for. Their outburst was completely out of line and ruined our morning.

This altercation began when 3 of us friends went back into the office *after* having paid the bill to ask why they had added an extra fee for 6 people from what was stated on their website. Apparently even though the cabin had 6 beds, the rate mentioned on the website was for 2 people and each additional person meant we had to pay more. Now we had already paid this amount, but were confused about it, so we walked back into the store to ask. We hadn't understood this off their reservation website.

The lady behind the counter, Bridget, explained this to us by saying "that's how it is, that's how all KOAs are". We said we had not understood this off their website. Two guys behind her came up, the blond guy said "You don't go telling her to check up the site". The other guy stepped up to the counter and asked if we had been helped. The minute we told him we had already paid, he waved his hands at us in a "scram" fashion and said "Adios! Leave! You get off my property right now!!" The blond guy chipped in and pointed his finger at my friend who'd paid the bill and said "You're a crook". Both guys came out from behind the counter and threateningly advanced at us so that we back out of the door. When we stepped out, he slammed and locked the door in our faces.

The facilities at their campground were quite nice, considering it is, after all, a campground. Clean restrooms and hot showers. An hour away from the El Portal entrance to Yosemite. But with surly people behind the desk who won't even point you to the water sinks if you ask them if they have any, I'd rather not pay to be insulted on my much-awaited vacation.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Park, New Jersey
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2010

We had booked a cabin, and the cabin was locked on the night we arrived. We were left with no place to stay. We had to take a room in the mariposa lodge, the next day when we went to KOA and asked them to cover the lodge charges, the staff was very rude and threatened to call the cops....the place is full of extremely rude staff...never go to this place, cause the staff is not only rude but also very irresponsible.

Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

A large group (55 of us) stayed here and had a pleasant time. The staff was courteous and easy to deal with - no complaints at all. We stayed at the large kabins. The bed, while short, I'm 6'1", was comfortable enough. Our shower and kitchen was adequate and front room comfortable. Kids really liked the pond and pool. Over all I had no problems with the staff or grounds.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2010

After reading the negative reviews here, and elsewhere, I was very concerned about whether or not we would have any issues with the staff at this KOA. Pleasantly surprised - not one issue. Every interaction with the staff was positive and I did not witness any of the rudeness that others had mentioned. Having said that - I don't doubt that others had bad experiences (the number of negative issues from various sources are too many to ignore) - I'm not sure that I would return out of fear of pushing my luck and having a negative experience. But for us at least, on this weekend, it was problem free and we all had a great time. Clean pool, clean grounds and good service.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Yosemite West / Mariposa KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite West / Mariposa KOA

Address: 6323 Highway 140, Midpines, CA 95345
Location: United States > California > Midpines
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Midpines
Number of rooms: 100
Also Known As:
Yosemite West / Mariposa Koa Hotel Midpines

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yosemite West / Mariposa KOA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.