We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis is in the backyard!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Backyard Garden Oasis B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Backyard Garden Oasis B&B to your Saves list
Backyard Garden Oasis B&B
24019 Hilderbrand Drive, PO Box 1760, Middletown, CA 95461   |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Cottage and a Massage
Ranked #2 of 3 Middletown B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Oasis is in the backyard!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

This was an interesting place. When we first arrived, we wondered if we had the wrong address. It looked like just an ordinary little house and garage but the address was right so we figured we park and find out if we were lost! But Greta, the innkeeper, heard our car and came to her front door.

She opened the gate to the backyard to lead us to our lodging, and there is where the "oasis" part comes in. There is a huge backyard, with an organic garden, lots of large beautiful trees, a pond and spring towards the end of the property, and three individual cottages. She led us to the third, i.e. farthest from her house. Cute little cottage with its own outdoor table, umbrella and sitting area - rustic. But inside the cottage it was really very nice - simple but tasteful, plenty of room, very clean, good reading lights, a very comfortable bed, and a very nice bathroom with plenty of hot water. We spent about an hour with a glass of wine outside on our little porch, just enjoying the quiet serenity of the place. We were the only guests that night so we had the place all to ourselves.....and we slept like babies.

Greta is relatively flexible about her breakfast hours - particularly since we were the only ones there. She served a frittata made with vegetables from her garden....quite tasty. She promises a "full country breakfast" so we had no "gourmet" expectations. And while it was sufficient and tasty, it was perhaps the least impressive breakfast of our 10 day trip - all in B&Bs.

So no real complaints - we slept wonderfully and enjoyed our little cottage. This is a relatively rustic but very comfortable environment. Only improvement could have been the breakfast.

Greta is also a skilled masseuse so massages are available upon request, but we didn't avail ourselves of this service.

Look past the entrance and you'll enjoy a true backyard oasis!

Room Tip: Pick the last cottage, closest to end of property if you want the most private room. You'll als...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bygoasis, Owner at Backyard Garden Oasis B&B, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you, Silverwing 928, for your thoughtful and heartfelt review. I greatly appreciate hearing from someone like you, who suggests improvements and talks about enjoying so many aspects of her cottage and being able to “sleep like babies” and “enjoy the quiet serenity” of the Oasis. It tells me that you have gotten to appreciate the core of what is possible here. 'Till next time ...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    16
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
32
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

This was a lucky find for us at a busy time in the wine country. These are 3 cute cottages nestled in the woods of Middleton. Each cottage has its own patio with table and chairs. Clean, large room with comfortable bed, roomy bathroom and nice little touches everywhere. Greta is a gracious host, makes a great breakfast, and is just plain nice to visit with. We enjoyed dinner at the "Boars Breath" restaurant and bar in Middleton. Take the Highway 29 scenic route through great wineries and Calistoga. Tons of stuff to do in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wickenburg, Arizona
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

This is a wonderful rural retreat in one of the most beautiful parts of the California wine country. The rooms are very homey and beautifully maintained, and the gracious hostess serves a gourmet breakfast; she is also very knowledgeable about local attractions.

Room Tip: There are three separate cottages, and they are all extremely nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Backyard Garden Oasis is a little bit of heaven in Middletown. Beautiful setting, very tranquil.
Abundance of bird life and butterflies. Your room is really a cabin that is delightful. It was a very busy five days preparing for family wedding and visiting family in area. Looking forward to returning for a more restful visit. Innkeeper Greta was a great hostess.

Room Tip: Room closest to large pond as great text service on cell. Don't bother trying to call out t on c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

This is a terrific little gem, hidden away between Calistoga and Clear Lake. Greta, the innkeeper, is a warm and gracious hostess who takes a sincere interest in her guests and goes out of her way to make sure you're comfortable. The rooms are spacious, comfortable, clean and private. The grounds are pretty and peaceful. The breakfast is homemade, delicious and healthy to boot. You're also located close to Clear Lake and some fabulous little-known wineries like Gregory Graham. What more could you ask for?

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Greta is a gracious host, great cook, superb masseuse, and probably has many other skills we didn't have a chance to experience. The B&B is a great value, far exceeding our expectations (even with good reviews).

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

There is absolutely nothing not to like about the Backyard Garden Oasis. The rooms are spacious, very clean. The surroundings are tranquil, beautiful. Across the road we saw wild turkeys, quail, deer, and an abundance of bird life. The pond and the little waterfall on the property are a delight at any time of the day.
Greta's breakfasts were soooo good. The conversations in the morning were wonderful as she can be comfortable on any subject.

We stayed for three nights and would have stayed longer but there was no availability.

I truly wish that I have the opporunity to visit the Backyard Garden Oasis again soon. It is a place of spiritual and physical renewal. I don't remember when was the last time I had such good night sleeps as I did at the Oasis.

Greta's massage is wonderful.

Thank you Greta.

Nita Garcia
June 2012

Room Tip: We had the Virgo room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Backyard Garden Oasis B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backyard Garden Oasis B&B

Address: 24019 Hilderbrand Drive, PO Box 1760, Middletown, CA 95461
Location: United States > California > Lake County > Middletown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Middletown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Romantic Wine Country Bed and Breakfast Inn whose 3 Diamond AAA rating is just the beginning of a quiet, serene escape to celebrate your life, whether for a wedding or anniversary or a business trip. The three cottages have king sized beds, skylights, wireless, satellite TVs, fireplaces and ac's. Views are pastoral and the breakfasts are delicious. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, T4B and Priceline so you can book your Backyard Garden Oasis B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Backyard Garden Oasis Hotel Middletown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Backyard Garden Oasis B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.