We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Caught It On A Bad Night” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Strings Italian Cafe

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Strings Italian Cafe
731 E. Yosemite Ave Ste A, Merced, CA
209-383-9777
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 128 Restaurants in Merced
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Outdoor Seating
Fresno, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Caught It On A Bad Night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Many years ago, I ate at the String's in Visalia, California and was impressed. The food was pretty good. That is why when friends suggested the String's in Merced, California I was eager to go. The service was great, with the server having a great sense of humor. The bread was good and the never ending salad had a tasty creamy Italian dressing and a large variety of "stuff" in it. We were off to a good start until the meal came out cold. I normally don't send a meal back, but I cold meal is where I draw the line. The server happily sent it back to the kitchen and explained that they were having troubles with their warmers in the kitchen. My suggestion to the restaurant is get the warmer fixed.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    10
    5
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Merced, California, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Yes, it's good Italian food. Great, couldn't say that. But you'll be full when you leave. Okay, decor. Good as any Italian restaurant in Merced. Moderate price.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manteca, California, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Did that come out of the freezer section??”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

That food tasted like frozen food from the grocery store. Very little taste and it was gloppy like it hadn't quite thawed out! YUCKY!!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto
Top Contributor
376 reviews 376 reviews
248 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 122 cities Reviews in 122 cities
231 helpful votes 231 helpful votes
“Veal Parmesan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Strings is a franchisee owned restaurant chain. Therefore, the quality of the restaurant can vary within the chain. We have eaten at a number of Strings restaurants in the past, with most we rate as excellent. Menus and items included with entrees also vary. This restaurant we rate very good, but it is not as good as others that we have eaten at in the chain.
We ordered Veal Parmesan, which was excellent at the other Strings outlets. Here, it was just good. The meat portion was large enough for the two of us, but we are not big eaters. The meat was encased in a thin pastry shell that was crunchy on the edges, and then the shell was coated in tomato sauce and then lightly sprinkled with mild cheese. If you are a cheese lover, better ask for extra cheese.
The entree was accompanied by noodles in white Alfredo sauce. The sauce was quite rich, but the taste was a little bland. Make sure you ask that plenty of Parmesan Cheese be put on the Alfredo when the Parmesan is offered at the time the dinner is served.
Before the main entree, we were served a salad with iceberg lettuce, raisins, raw sunflower seeds, one very small cherry tomato, and some red onion. Order the dressing on the side unless you like your salad drenched with it. The Ranch tasted better than the creamy Italian dressing.
Bland tasting Biscuit-like bread was served. You may want to add salt or ask for butter. Or, you will want to dip it in the tomato sauce that covers the Veal.
If you don't like Veal, there are plenty of other dishes to choose from and you may like them more than we liked our meal. The place was quite busy, so many people like it.
On Wednesday nights, they have an all you can eat pasta special for $8.99. There are 5 different sauces you can try on your pasta. We would have liked to try this, but we showed up on a Thursday. On Tuesday nights, they have a wine special.
The service was excellent. The server was congenial, efficient, and got the order right.
The place was clean; the restrooms were well stocked and clean.
If you are a first time visitor, you may have trouble finding the restaurant. It is located in the back of a shopping center. The restaurant cannot be seen from the street and no signage on the street. You have to drive into the shopping center and keep looking until you see the Strings sign, which faces north, away from the street.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atwater, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great food & service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Nice, casual atmosphere with great food & customer service. Clean & consistent. Excellent dishes with modest prices. Lots of choices. Superb salad! Awesome bread!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Strings Italian Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Strings Italian Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Strings Italian Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.