We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Returned after 2 years - STILL great!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taste of Little India

Taste of Little India
1052 W Main St, Merced, CA 95340-4521
209-722-2230
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 144 Restaurants in Merced
Cuisines: Indian
Restaurant details
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Returned after 2 years - STILL great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We discovered this joint 2 years ago by stumbling upon it looking for good food that was not fast. We thoroughly enjoyed our meal then, and were in Merced again and the experience was still excellent! Chicken tikka masala, lamb stew, spinach and cheese naan, shrimp vindaloo - all very flavorful - our hats off to the chef! The portion sizes are good as well. You know its good when you see patrons from India eating there with their own family and the dishes were empty when they left!
Our family loves Indian and Pakistani dishes so, we have experienced quite a bit. Definitely try them out if you are in Merced.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    15
    2
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Atwater
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Still my favorite Resturant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Try the Bangin Bartha(eggplant), Chicken Ticka(white meat on a metal pan), and Saag(spinach) and my wife's favorite fish curry with green veggies, not potatoes and ask for a crispy naan unless you like it like our friend Judy. We eat there once a week for sure sometimes more often, healthy food and if you like it hot as fire ask for the ghost pepper upgrade. Grew a lot of ghost peppers last year and contributed them to the hot, hot, hot menu. Me I get mine mild, not medium, not mild-medium, but mild. Each to there own. They cook it to order.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chowchilla, California
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Little surprise in Merced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

Wasn't sure what to expect and I'm not a frequent Indian food eater, but this was a great stop! Loved the variety of flavors from their sampler plate and the prices were really reasonable. Nice and quite dining room and the service was super fast and friendly...we'll be back.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Absolutely delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Service was helpful and friendly, waitress was always eager to help. The food was delicious, all of the meals came with excellent rice and naan. Could not recommended this place more.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merced, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“wonderful smells= wonderful food,”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Indian food done well, quality is always good. Food does not come up fast, but it is worth your wait as you eat your soup or salad

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taste of Little India also viewed

 

Been to Taste of Little India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taste of Little India, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.