We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice dining experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Trevino's

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Trevino's
408 W. Main St, Merced, CA
209-723-5610
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 145 Restaurants in Merced
Restaurant details
Los Banos, California
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Nice dining experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Along with several family members we enjoyed a delicious lunch on the event of my father-in-laws 97th birthday. A table was ready for us in a separate area away from the main part of the restaurant. Each of us (8 adults) ordered a different dish from several choices. All of us were pleased with the taste and the amount of food that came with our orders. The noise level coming from the main part of the restaurant was quiet. In other words, not a large volume of music was coming from the restaurant. It made it pleasant to have lots of conversation with each other and not have to compete with loud background music. I understand Trevino's has been here for a # of years. I will certainly consider it the next time I'm looking for a Mexican restaurant! It wasn't "fancy", but the server was attentive and the food was very authentic.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    3
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Merced, California
2 reviews
“Good Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I have eaten at Trevino's many times as I live in Merced, they have great tasting Mexican food. I come her often! I would reccomend to anyone.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not that great”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I've eaten here twice now and have had less than mediocre food both times. The carnitas was DRY. It was so dry that I had trouble cutting it. In fact, 3 people at our table ordered it and everyone left more than half of the small portion on their plates. (We were hungry, so all of the rice & beans were gone, but the carnitas remained.) The waitress picked up the plates without even questioning it or making sure it was ok. I guess they must have already known it wasn't when they served it to us. The chips are just ok, the rice & beans are also just ok.

Lunch specials are $7.95 and they are definitely not that special. I won't be returning.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
Top Contributor
451 reviews 451 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 188 cities Reviews in 188 cities
458 helpful votes 458 helpful votes
“Delicious Food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

I ate here with several other people while in Merced last month for a work related training. This was my first visit to this restaurant and I enjoyed my meal here. I ordered the chile verde plate which came with beans, rice and tortillas. I thought the food was delicious and tasted homemade. One of the best things about the meal was that both corn and flour tortillas are made in the restaurant. I had the flour tortillas and it was a treat to have homemade tortillas with my meal. My dining companions also reported that they enjoyed their meals. The dining room was fairly good sized with plenty of seating. Servers were pleasant and attentive. I would recommend this restaurant for very good Mexican food and hope to return one day.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012 via mobile

Very clean and good value. Would recommend to anyone.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trevino's also viewed

 

Been to Trevino's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trevino's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.