We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Several recent stays for short trips” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Merced North

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Motel 6 Merced North to your Saves list
Motel 6 Merced North
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1410 V Street, Merced, CA 95340   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Merced
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Several recent stays for short trips”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

I first made reservations for this motel online back in August 2013, and I have stayed again 3 additional times in the last month March/April 2014. The regular rooms are very small, as I learned on my first visit. I have since paid for the "suite" on my recent visits because the room is a bit larger and comes with mini fridge/microwave. Room was always clean and acceptable for short stays 1-2 nights. Very noisy location off Hwy 99 and steps away from railroad tracks for light sleepers. Front desk staff was always friendly. My laundry was safe using the on site pay washer and dryer. The vending machines worked fine. The pool was closed due to service being performed. I seen no cockroaches and 2 fleas. I will stay here again, but it would be nice if Merced had hotels in nicer/safer locations, like farther east or near downtown. All the hotels are on rough sides off town off Hwy 99.

Room Tip: Always book the "suite" for a few extra dollars because the regular rooms are very tiny. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel L, General Manager at Motel 6 Merced North, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We accommodate many guests and we strive to make their stay a satisfying one. I want you to know that the comments and suggestions we receive from our guests are taken seriously. They tell us what we're doing right, what we're doing wrong and how we can improve. We hope to accommodate you again in the near future. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    10
    10
    7
    8
See reviews for
7
6
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We were on a three week road trip and had spent 300+ on many of our nights, so I thought since we only needed a place to rest our head for about eight hours, we would save some money and stay here. Big mistake!
The girl that checked us in was very friendly and efficient.
The room was smaller than I imagine a hotel room could be, but that was my own fault for not realizing just how small Motel 5 rooms are.
Our beds were literally sagging and while I didn't find any actual dirt or hairs on the linens, they just looked old and dirty. One of the beds was pressed right up against the noisy air conditioner. I could see various food items that had been dropped into the top of the air conditioner......yuck.
We put our suits on and went to the pool and wished we hadn't. The table/chairs at the pool were filthy. The pool looked ok, but made me nervous since the area in general was so dirty.
My husband went to get ice and said he saw two men who appeared to be homeless hanging around near the ice machine.
We travel a LOT and this was the only night that I can remember that I basically slept with one eye open, because I just didn't feel safe.
I was thrilled when the morning came and we drove out of that place!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel L, General Manager at Motel 6 Merced North, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
We here at Motel 6 strive to make sure every guest has a pleasent stay with us. I genuinely apologize that we were unable to make your stay a pleasent one. I would like for you to know your feedback is very important to us, we have made several changes to our location. Our rooms are all newly renovated as well. Again I thank you for taking the time to share your concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cesena, Italy
Level Contributor
1,034 reviews
180 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,780 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We spent only one night here but I have to admit that it was very dirty. Rooms very small and suffucating with bugs as well. Staff very helpful indeed. bad choice for us. not recomended it. We didn't like it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel L, General Manager at Motel 6 Merced North, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
I do apologize that we did not meet your expectations. We do apprecitate you sharing your concerns with us, as we are taking the appropriate measures to address future occurances.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
112 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

The room had 2 queens, TV, a refrigerator, but no microwave. Clean enough but pretty small walking space. The ice-maker worked fine and the pool appeared to be clean and functioning. We were not bothered by the train perhaps because the air conditioner was pretty loud. Normally that would bug us, but it was OK. Clerk was very friendly and even microwaved our dinner for us. It was tucked in between Costco and Carl Jr.'s, and might be a little tricky finding the driveway. We enjoyed breakfast at a Black Bear Restaurant across the street, and bought gas at the Costco. Nothing special to entice me to come back, but nothing bad as some reviewers found.

Room Tip: Room facing pool was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012 via mobile

Found hair in the bed! Sheets and bed smelled of cigerittes. When checking in the attendant gave us an already occupied room. If you must stay at Motel 6 stay at the one a mile to the south. It nicer for the same price!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

The room had bugs; the pool was shut down; and when I informed the staff about the malfunctioned ice machine, they lied and pretended as though it was a NEW occurrence. I, later, discovered that it had not worked in quite some time.

After having spoken to the extremely evasive and rude manager about, what I was led to believe was an isolated incident, I was advised to walk across the parking lot to the nearby fast food restaurant to request a cup of ice. When I conveyed my disappointment in one's inability to effectively resolve the issue, I was promptly (and without warrant) thrown out of the office. Guess that's how things are done in the country/hood. NEVER AGAIN!

Room Tip: Choose a different location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

My stay was cut short due to an inability to sleep well at this hotel.
The hotel is very close to a rail line that is active during the night. In addition, the noise level between midnight and 3am was considerable. People making noise outside of the room and horns honking in the hotel parking lot made sleep next to impossible for me.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merced hotels
0.2 mi away
America's Best Value Inn Merced
2.3 mi away
America's Best Inn & Suites
0.4 mi away
Budget Inn
Budget Inn
#13 of 14 in Merced
3.0 of 5 stars 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Merced
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Merced
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn
#8 of 14 in Merced
3.0 of 5 stars 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Merced North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Merced North

Address: 1410 V Street, Merced, CA 95340
Location: United States > California > Merced
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Merced
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Merced North 2*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Merced North CA is located off of SR 99 at SR 59 / V Street, and is within walking distance to area restaurants. Visit Applegate Zoo or Merced Speedway within 1.5 Miles. Enjoy our outdoor pool. Modern looking rooms, Wi-Fi available for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Motel-6, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Motel 6 Merced North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Merced North Hotel Merced
Motel Six Merced
Merced Motel 6
Merced Motel Six

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Merced North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.