We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value” 3 of 5 stars
Review of America's Best Value Inn Merced

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added America's Best Value Inn Merced to your Saves list
America's Best Value Inn Merced
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1213 V Street, Merced, CA 95340 (Formerly Quality Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Holiday Savings Special
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Merced
California
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Good Value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2010

This hotel is next to highway 99 and the freeway noise might be annoying for some. That said, this is a great place to stay for the money. The staff is friendly and the grounds are very nice. Our room was very clean and the mattress was comfortable. The breakfast had more seating than most hotels and the selection was OK. We were upstairs....maybe the ground floor rooms would be quieter.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    38
    32
    22
    37
See reviews for
45
54
20
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rocklin, CA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2010

We stayed here overnight on the way to Yosemite the next day. Arrived at night, so did not see the extent of the dirty machinery (looked like maybe an industrial washing machine or something??) left by the walkway to our room. But the next morning...yeech! Room was basic, but clean. Right by the freeway, very noisy.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago IL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2010

I stayed here for 3 nights. The hospitality provided to me for my 3 night stay was amazing. Housekeeping staff was good and helpful with needs. The general Manager Patrick went way beyond to serve our needs. Good Hotel. Definitely worth my money.

Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2009

The new owner of the hotel is great, the service, the cleanliness, and even when its late the lady at the front desk Jacky was there yet she was always patient.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2009

I'm judging this based on what you get versus other budget hotels. Honestly, if you can afford to stay somewhere nicer, why are you even looking at Quality Inn? But if you need a cheap, safe place to stay....

It's usually only - $10-15 more than the Motel 6 down the road, but the difference is HUGE. My first impression when I tried it out was that maybe I should go somewhere else: the parking was tiny (I drive a work truck, FWIW), the brown paint made it look really plain.

But it was quiet, clean, and friendly. There was a restroom in the lobby - BIG PLUS for someone who's been driving all day. The internet was aqeduate. It wasn't far from downtown, and only a few miles from a decent shopping center with food, coffee, and a Barnes & Noble. I've stayed here three times now, and I don't have a single bad thing to say.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendora, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2009

My husband and I travel economically...hostels and inexpensive B&Bs in Europe, cheap hotels in the US, thus I have a lot of experience with this grade hotel/motel. Our stay at the Quality Inn, Merced was a mixed bag. As we entered the room area from the parking lot, there was a LOT of trash scattered all around the walkway, the stairway, the Coke machine, as well as the parking lot itself. I even saw a motel washrag. filthy and just dumped on the ground in an obvious spot. All very unappealing. After making our way through this area, we came out on an interior area that looked very inviting...nicely planted, green, well-trimmed grass and flowering plants, that looked like the interior area of a condo complex. A welcome change from the dirty, trashed area of the entry to this interior courtyard. The room was good sized, the bath area also. There was a whirlpool tub (didn't try it out as the motor was so loud,it could have wakened the dead) and toilet separate from the dressing area, which was thoughtfully behind a separating wall, so the light could be on and not disturb anyone sleeping. But, only one soap was provided for both bath and sink, no bathmat for the tiled floor, towels not neatly hung and oddly enough, two toilet paper roller dispensers, one opposite the toilet and so far way you had to nearly fall off the commode to reach it, if one is fairly short (5'3") like I am. We could, if we chose however, call the Queen...or the butler, I guess, and chat as we sat on the toilet,,a phone was provided right at toilet paper level on the wall next. The tub did not drain, so by the end of getting water to the right temperature, I was standing in about 3 inches of water. There were two gab bars for the tub, but none beside the low toilet. The carpet in the main room seemed clean until I looked at the edges. I don't think the edge had been cleaned in quite a while as there was debris along all the walls at the meeting of wall and carpet. The air conditioning worked well and the block-out curtains did their job well, too. There was a desk provided for computer hookup, but the electrical outlets didn't work. One bedside light didn't work, nor did the clock, until I huffed and puffed out the mattress and springs, which were on a platform, to expose the electrical outlet and the fact that the plug was not in the wall...not an easy spot to reconnect! The stuffed chair and ottoman were worn, old and not overly clean-looking. A very comfy, armed computer chair was provided for the computer desk, however. There was a microwave, refrig iron and ironing board, and in-room coffee maker provided, with an assortment of coffee, decaf or tea pouches, qute welcome in the morning, until I discovered there were no coffee cups, only those flimsy plastic water cups. I guess we were supposed to go to breakfast and bring back our mugs/cups!. The king-sized bed was comfortable, but provided with a quilted comforter, much too warm for this time of year in California's Central Valley.
I had chosen this motel because it offered a hot breakfast buffet in the morning, which started serving at 6. The hot breakfast was waffles you make, cold hard boiled eggs, OJ, apple juice, cereals, muffins, milk, coffee, tea and fresh fruit. Not quite what I'd call a hot b/f, but adequate.
All together, that about sums it up...adequate, but definitely in need of some help.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san jose
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2009

My Hospitality ws very good. The Quality Inn in Merced have very god service i rcommend this hotel ..especially for the price Rooms are clean and staff very friendly

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to America's Best Value Inn Merced? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about America's Best Value Inn Merced

Address: 1213 V Street, Merced, CA 95340 (Formerly Quality Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Merced
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Merced
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — America's Best Value Inn Merced 2*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
America's Best Value Inn, is the "Gateway to Yosemite". Americas Best Value Inn is convenient to many local attractions, including Merced Speedway, the Applegate Park Zoo, the Castle Air Museum and Playhouse Merced. We are only a few minutes from the University of California Merced and the Merced Municipal Airport. Merced is about two hours from Yosemite National Park, Monterey Bay, the Pacific Ocean and several fabulous beaches. The nearby Merced Mall will satisfy all shopping needs. Several restaurants and cocktail lounges can be found in the surrounding area. A free breakfast with hot waffles, blueberry bagels, four kinds of cereal, and fresh fruit is served every morning. Guests are invited to swim in the outdoor pool and relax. Business travelers staying with us will be pleased with the free wireless high-speed internet access and access to copy and fax services. All spacious guest rooms come with coffee makers, hair dryers, irons, ironing boards and cable television. Select rooms also feature added amenities like large desks, microwaves, refrigerators and whirlpool tubs. The next time you find yourself in the Merced area, come stay with us and experience our fantastic value and superior service. Our team of professionals will show you why this is the perfect place to call home during your travels. Enjoy the Journey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Agoda, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your America's Best Value Inn Merced reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
America`s Best Value Inn Merced Hotel Merced
Quality Inn Merced
Merced Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage America's Best Value Inn Merced, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.