We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bit tired” 3 of 5 stars
Review of America's Best Value Inn Merced

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added America's Best Value Inn Merced to your Saves list
America's Best Value Inn Merced
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1213 V Street, Merced, CA 95340 (Formerly Quality Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Merced
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
124 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Bit tired”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Great service when we arrived, for the price it is good value. Room was good, outside a bit tired. Had the pool etc on the day it was 100degrees f. Went to Hunan Chinese restaurant was very good but you will need a car to get to it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    44
    39
    25
    42
See reviews for
48
66
22
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Placerville, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We've stayed at a few America's Best Value motels. This one is very good. Now, you have to remember you are paying about $50.00/night to stay here so don't set your expectations too high. Good things included bed, microwave, small refridg and the carpet was okay. We asked to be in the middle which kept the street noise down. Breakfast was the standard continential with fruit, cerial, waffles, juice and bread (bagel, and bread). 2 steps above the juice and packaged pastry. Nothing to complain about. Just an older property that looks like it could use some updating. Had a nice pool but did not swin in it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvimerced, General Manager at America's Best Value Inn Merced, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Advertise what you have, be honest in your description, and people will come and be pleasantly surprised. That is exactly the type of traveler we cater to. I have said it many times before, we are not a high end hotel, nor do we ever try to trick or mislead potential travelers into thinking we are. We are a budget hotel, except in our case you do get a lot more than what you were expecting. That's how we stay so busy, giving the guest exactly what we promised they would get, clean comfortable rooms, well kept property, biggest and nicest swimming pool in the area, and of course, the best customer service around. I am very proud of my property and very very proud of my staff as they continue to provide the type of exceptional service that travelers are looking for which in turn keeps everyone coming back again and again. Thank you for your review and thank you for choosing Americas Best Value Inn Merced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I would not stay there again. Nice staff and breakfast not clean and electric plug in bathroom didn't work. Close to freeway and was quit. Pool was being repaired. Price was fair for what we got. Good luck.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honaunau
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This place is not new, but we found it clean and the staff very helpful. I didn't feel the area was "scary" at all. Residential area across the street, highway on the other. Noise from traffic was not objectionable with the door closed. Only problem, wifi didn't work in our room though they had many routers in different areas. The breakfast was the best we had on out two week trip. A variety of fruit, make your own waffle, bagels, cereal, juice, milk, coffee, tea, and more that I don't remember.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room on the side away from freeway. We were there off season, so very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

I got to see two cockroaches on the ceiling after many years. Killed one but the other was roaming around searching the other. Fishy place with fishy people around. Saw two cops in the morning visiting the place. However, if your budget is small then this place is good for a nite if you are okay like me with a couple of roaches!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altamonte Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I flew into Las Vegas and have traveled up the coast of California for the past 2 weeks. I've run into some very poor service, even in the best 4 and 5 star hotels along the way. However, when I was looking for a place to stay outside of Yosemite National Park, I decided that Merced, CA was a good stopping point.

This hotel was priced well and clean and convenient to our final destination. The bonus was the very friendly front desk person named Vanessa... She confirmed my reservation early in the morning, and even guided me in from a few miles away when my GPS took me about 15 miles the wrong direction. When I got to the hotel, she moved me to a room that was very close to my car so my kids didn't have to lug their bags across the hotel very far... Even though it was only for one night, well worth the stop...

Thanks

Thanks to Vanessa !! I wish everyone along my journey was as hospitable.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

It's typical 2-floors motel in the middle of city, mid size elder but clean rooms, with elder furniture and old smell, free wifi, ice machine and breakfast (sweet one: coffee, milk, fresh self-made pancakes,...), no fitness, no whirpool... It wasn't bad, it wasn't perfect, it was just fine for 2 nights, we went to Yosemite. If you look for clean, average motel (price 120 usd for 2 nights was ok), you will be right here. You will not want spend your vacation or honey moon there, just stop for few nights. We didn't try the pool. I give 2,5 stars from 5. It's still quite far to Yosemite, almost 2 hours drive.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvimerced, General Manager at America's Best Value Inn Merced, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Well, I'll take it.....clean and affordable! That's what we advertise, and that's what we deliver. Unfortunately, no "fitness center" or "whirlpool", yeah we'll have to work on that ;o) We are the closest affordable major city to Yosemite at only 86 miles or just over an hour and a half. Mariposa is a small town about 45 minutes closer but is much smaller and resources can be scarce to say the least. It can also be upwards of $150.00 plus per night during the traveling season. We're glad that our hotel worked out well for you and we wish you all the best in your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to America's Best Value Inn Merced? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about America's Best Value Inn Merced

Address: 1213 V Street, Merced, CA 95340 (Formerly Quality Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Merced
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Merced
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — America's Best Value Inn Merced 2*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
America's Best Value Inn, is the "Gateway to Yosemite". Americas Best Value Inn is convenient to many local attractions, including Merced Speedway, the Applegate Park Zoo, the Castle Air Museum and Playhouse Merced. We are only a few minutes from the University of California Merced and the Merced Municipal Airport. Merced is about two hours from Yosemite National Park, Monterey Bay, the Pacific Ocean and several fabulous beaches. The nearby Merced Mall will satisfy all shopping needs. Several restaurants and cocktail lounges can be found in the surrounding area. A free breakfast with hot waffles, blueberry bagels, four kinds of cereal, and fresh fruit is served every morning. Guests are invited to swim in the outdoor pool and relax. Business travelers staying with us will be pleased with the free wireless high-speed internet access and access to copy and fax services. All spacious guest rooms come with coffee makers, hair dryers, irons, ironing boards and cable television. Select rooms also feature added amenities like large desks, microwaves, refrigerators and whirlpool tubs. The next time you find yourself in the Merced area, come stay with us and experience our fantastic value and superior service. Our team of professionals will show you why this is the perfect place to call home during your travels. Enjoy the Journey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline, Otel and Hotels.com so you can book your America's Best Value Inn Merced reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
America`s Best Value Inn Merced Hotel Merced
Quality Inn Merced
Merced Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage America's Best Value Inn Merced, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.