We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hooper House Bear Creek Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Merced
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hooper House Bear Creek Inn
Save
You added Hooper House Bear Creek Inn to your Saves list
575 West North Bear Creek Drive, Merced, CA 95348   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Merced B&B and Inns
Redlands, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

We've stayed at the Hooper House on several occasions over the past few years as our son attends UC Merced. We love the ambiance and the staff is very friendly and accommodating. We've always found our room very clean and the beds are soft and comfortable. The breakfasts are terrific and something we look forward to. I'm a light sleeper and the trains are annoying but there's no way to avoid them from any hotel in Merced and, at least, the Hooper House is far from the freeway noise whereas all of the hotels are right next to the freeway. Overall, although it's a bit more expensive than some of the hotels, I'd have to say it's worth the money for the quality and comfort.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brinny71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Copenhagen
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

We had booked the hooper house for 2 weeks but ended up canceling the last week. Under the hooper house is an apartment of the landlord. That is her home. Between 1-2 AM we were woken up be a loud noise. It was some sort of central air condition system cooling down both the hooper house and the landlords apartment. It was so loud that it was not possible to sleep. The temperature on the display showed 62 F. It was so cold in there. The next morning we told the lady and her response was not really usable and when it happened again the 2nd night (we luckily found a radiator in the closet) we decided not to stay there any more. Can not be recommended.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank sasserboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

This place is well-constructed, classy, old-fashioned, good location, it was very pretty and we had a great time here. The owner was very nice, we had a GREAT breakfast by a great cook, it's dog-friendly, there's lots of space for kids! Our apartment was spacious and clean, with a TV, we had a good night's sleep. Highly recommended for anyone passing by Merced.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Blue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Before Christmas, we spent a night at this elegant and classy mansion, having the whole property for ourselves. We did enjoy every corner of the house, sipping coffee in the sun room, nightcap by the fireplace, and have our lovely and delicious breakfast in the dining room. The place was tidy and clean. Our bedroom was spacious with adjoining sitting room. If you are a light sleeper, the sound from the train would wake you up every now and then. But for me, the coziness of the house could compensate the little toss and turn at night.
In conclusion, in Merced, this place is highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asianchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

A beautiful period home in superb grounds. We stayed in what was the master bedroom complete with separate dressing / shower room and delightful veranda. The whole house was beautifully furnished and spotlessly clean. The staff were charming and very helpful and the breakfast delicious. The only downside were the distant train horns at night but you soon got used to them and they're not offputting. Overall a wonderful experience and highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheshirekatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed there for two nights and the first night we had the place to ourselves. Unfortunately we had unwanted guests at 03.30 in the morning and had to call the police.Apart from that this is a marvellous place to stay.The room was lovely apart from the television which had a mind of its own, the house is very spacious and beautiful and the grounds are very large with a vintage car from I believe 1908 in the garden. Breakfast was prepared each morning by a delightful girl who went out of her way to make what you wanted and the manageress was extremely friendly willing to drive us around town.The house is situated in a quiet area with a nice park across the street ,10 minutes walk from the Amtrak station and 15 minutes walk from the main steet where the restaurants are. We would definitely stay here again, great place to stop over if going to yosemite ...and yes due to the breakin and our disturbed night they gave us a full refund.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet...house is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank derek888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Staying at Hooper House was like staying with your wealthy friend. With a friendly staff the Inn and grounds were wonderfully maintained. There were antiques throughout. Great breakfast and a Keurig beverage area for guests with a microwave with popcorn. The rooms were large, there was a sun room, balcony, lush gardens and lawns. We are looking forward to returning. A large local park within walking distance. The only negative was that the recession had struck the city so severely.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merced hotels
1.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Merced
1.7 mi away
America's Best Inn & Suites
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites - Merced
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Merced
1.5 mi away
America's Best Value Inn Merced
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn
#9 of 14 in Merced
3.0 of 5 stars 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hooper House Bear Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hooper House Bear Creek Inn

Address: 575 West North Bear Creek Drive, Merced, CA 95348
Location: United States > California > Merced
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Merced
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing