We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“raoul” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hooper House Bear Creek Inn

Hooper House Bear Creek Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Merced
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hooper House Bear Creek Inn
Save
You added Hooper House Bear Creek Inn to your Saves list
575 West North Bear Creek Drive, Merced, CA 95348   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Merced B&B and Inns
Ilford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“raoul”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed there for two nights and the first night we had the place to ourselves. Unfortunately we had unwanted guests at 03.30 in the morning and had to call the police.Apart from that this is a marvellous place to stay.The room was lovely apart from the television which had a mind of its own, the house is very spacious and beautiful and the grounds are very large with a vintage car from I believe 1908 in the garden. Breakfast was prepared each morning by a delightful girl who went out of her way to make what you wanted and the manageress was extremely friendly willing to drive us around town.The house is situated in a quiet area with a nice park across the street ,10 minutes walk from the Amtrak station and 15 minutes walk from the main steet where the restaurants are. We would definitely stay here again, great place to stop over if going to yosemite ...and yes due to the breakin and our disturbed night they gave us a full refund.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet...house is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    6
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
8
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Simi Valley, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Staying at Hooper House was like staying with your wealthy friend. With a friendly staff the Inn and grounds were wonderfully maintained. There were antiques throughout. Great breakfast and a Keurig beverage area for guests with a microwave with popcorn. The rooms were large, there was a sun room, balcony, lush gardens and lawns. We are looking forward to returning. A large local park within walking distance. The only negative was that the recession had struck the city so severely.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed here along with our two dogs as a stop-over on our long drive from Oregon to San Diego. We were looking for someplace near the midpoint of our trip and randomly picked Merced. If this B&B were anywhere else they would be able to charge twice as much. We stayed in the free-standing Buggy House. It was clean, beautifully decorated, and the towels were incredibly soft. We also appreciated the bottled water and sodas. Cheryl served us a wonderful breakfast at the time we requested. The grounds are also beautiful.

The only downside would be the neighborhood/area. We walked our dogs to the park across the street and while we didn't feel totally unsafe, we felt quite out of place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

What ever your reason to visit Merced, business or pleasure, this is the only place to stay. The Hooper House Bear Creek Inn is a historical property impeccably restored and maintained. Samantha was our amazing innkeeper full of great information on the grounds, the history of the house and Merced in general. She also whipped up an delicious gluten free breakfast just for me. Don't forget to Take a walk along the Bear Creek in the evening after a long day.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

Are you coming home from Yosemite? Going to a Valley U.C. campus for business? Then this is the place to stay. The Bed and the Breakfast add to the experience if staying in a gracious Central California home. Breakfast is the real deal - no toaster ovens and bagels (unless you want them). The front rooms need more sound insulation. Merced is a classic California Central Valley city - the railroad runs right through the center of town. Ask for the cottage behind the main house. If you sleep lightly the extra quiet is nice.

Room Tip: Get the cottage if you are a light sleeper, or if you just want teh luxury of a little extra room to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

I'm torn about how to write this review because the aspects that I didn't enjoy about my visit are not under the staff's control at the Hooper House. The property is lovely, beautiful, cozy house with a beautiful garden. The rooms spacious and clean, and tastefully decorated with antiques. The bed was super comfy too. I can only say good things about the staff and the service. Everyone was very friendly and breakfast was delicious and plentiful. I really felt well taken care of during my stay at the Hooper House.
Now for the negatives; the property is very close to a busy street and the train station, which results in quite a bit of noise through the night and especially early in the morning. I was not happy waking up at 6 am to the train whistle. If you are an early morning riser or use earplugs to sleep, the none of this will be a problem. Unfortunately it was for light-sleepers like me. However I have to say that, despite having less sleep than I wished, all my crankiness vanished at the sight of the big smiles of the staff and a hearty breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

Boy did we appreciate the quietness, soft bed, white cotton quilt and feather pillows and big bathtub coming after a week of hiking in Yosemite and trying to sleep in a Curry Village tent cabin! Hooper House is a beautiful old historic homestead with lovely grounds/gardens, antiques and we felt like we were in the lap of luxury! You need to be aware that the innkeeper does not stay on site (we were not, and were a bit worried on arrival!) but we were there midweek and had the whole place to ourselves. Next morning, a fabulous cooked gourmet breakfast, and the friendly gardener drove us to the train station to catch the train on to Flagstaff and the Grand Canyon. We loved our night at Hooper House, a civilized interlude in our three week USA trip mostly hiking and camping! From Hooper House we could walk to some diners / restaurants for dinner and for us, coming from Australia, it was fun to walk in the warm evening through the residential areas of Merced, with the neat lawns and sprinklers and US flags, all very exotic and novel for us! It was a quiet part of town and we felt safe walking around there. Taxi from the train station cost about $8.00, from memory. You could walk, but it's at least a mile so a bit of a struggle with luggage. I think Hooper House does a lot of wedding reception type functions on weekends, so maybe it wouldn't be so peaceful then, but we were very spoilt and would definitely visit again.

Room Tip: We had an upstairs suite at the back of the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hooper House Bear Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hooper House Bear Creek Inn

Address: 575 West North Bear Creek Drive, Merced, CA 95348
Location: United States > California > Merced
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Merced
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hooper House Bear Creek Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.