We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best of California's Mid Central Valley” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hooper House Bear Creek Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Merced
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hooper House Bear Creek Inn
Save
You added Hooper House Bear Creek Inn to your Saves list
575 West North Bear Creek Drive, Merced, CA 95348   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Merced B&B and Inns
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The best of California's Mid Central Valley”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

Are you coming home from Yosemite? Going to a Valley U.C. campus for business? Then this is the place to stay. The Bed and the Breakfast add to the experience if staying in a gracious Central California home. Breakfast is the real deal - no toaster ovens and bagels (unless you want them). The front rooms need more sound insulation. Merced is a classic California Central Valley city - the railroad runs right through the center of town. Ask for the cottage behind the main house. If you sleep lightly the extra quiet is nice.

Room Tip: Get the cottage if you are a light sleeper, or if you just want teh luxury of a little extra room to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    7
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
10
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

I'm torn about how to write this review because the aspects that I didn't enjoy about my visit are not under the staff's control at the Hooper House. The property is lovely, beautiful, cozy house with a beautiful garden. The rooms spacious and clean, and tastefully decorated with antiques. The bed was super comfy too. I can only say good things about the staff and the service. Everyone was very friendly and breakfast was delicious and plentiful. I really felt well taken care of during my stay at the Hooper House.
Now for the negatives; the property is very close to a busy street and the train station, which results in quite a bit of noise through the night and especially early in the morning. I was not happy waking up at 6 am to the train whistle. If you are an early morning riser or use earplugs to sleep, the none of this will be a problem. Unfortunately it was for light-sleepers like me. However I have to say that, despite having less sleep than I wished, all my crankiness vanished at the sight of the big smiles of the staff and a hearty breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

Boy did we appreciate the quietness, soft bed, white cotton quilt and feather pillows and big bathtub coming after a week of hiking in Yosemite and trying to sleep in a Curry Village tent cabin! Hooper House is a beautiful old historic homestead with lovely grounds/gardens, antiques and we felt like we were in the lap of luxury! You need to be aware that the innkeeper does not stay on site (we were not, and were a bit worried on arrival!) but we were there midweek and had the whole place to ourselves. Next morning, a fabulous cooked gourmet breakfast, and the friendly gardener drove us to the train station to catch the train on to Flagstaff and the Grand Canyon. We loved our night at Hooper House, a civilized interlude in our three week USA trip mostly hiking and camping! From Hooper House we could walk to some diners / restaurants for dinner and for us, coming from Australia, it was fun to walk in the warm evening through the residential areas of Merced, with the neat lawns and sprinklers and US flags, all very exotic and novel for us! It was a quiet part of town and we felt safe walking around there. Taxi from the train station cost about $8.00, from memory. You could walk, but it's at least a mile so a bit of a struggle with luggage. I think Hooper House does a lot of wedding reception type functions on weekends, so maybe it wouldn't be so peaceful then, but we were very spoilt and would definitely visit again.

Room Tip: We had an upstairs suite at the back of the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2007

I stayed there in spring 2006 with my wife on one of her business trips. I was very glad to be in a place where one actually loves to spend the day. It felt very homely -- almost like visiting your well-to-do grandmother. We both loved the place!

  • Liked — Charme
  • Stayed March 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2007

My husband and I stayed here last year and could not wait to return. We have a well behaved dog that was able to stay with us in our room. The house is super clean and everyone is very nice.

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2007

My wife was raised in Merced and occasionally we go back for family functions. Merced isn't a tourist destination, mostly a stopping point up CA Hwy 99 and/or to Yosemite, so hotel options are limited, mostly near-freeway, low-budget traveler options. On our most recent trip we did a little internet hunting on found this B&B. This was an old historic mansion that only became a B&B in the last 10 years or so. Four large rooms in the main house, a pool house now an individual B&B room with kitchen and family room, another small detached cottage, and rooms in the adjacent property. The main house and the pool house room offer the most character and charm, things like clawfoot baths, tile, hardwood, raised ceilings, etc. Staff is very friendly. House is well appointed, and not over-the-top with B&B flowered wall print. Rooms in front may be a bit noisy since they face the road and the RR tracks a quarter mile away. For this reason pool house room has the most room and is quiter, but just lacks the charm of the main house. If you have to stay in Merced this is definitely the only place to stay, and is not much more expensive than thr highway rent-a-beds.

  • Stayed March 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2006

A nice setting, but too noisy and hot. We have stayed at many B&Bs and this was average.
The pros: clean, well located and a nice (though small) breakfast in the morning.
The cons: you could hear every noise in the bathrooms.
Heat is set high for downstairs comfort-which is suffocating for guest rooms upstairs. We opened our windows to breathe but had to close them due to train whistles all night. There was no attendant available at night to help resolve this problem.
If you stay here bring ear plugs and a small fan.

  • Liked — Location was convenient to our activities
  • Disliked — Noisy and stuffy
  • Tips/Secrets — Ear plugs and a fan
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merced hotels
1.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Merced
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites - Merced
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Merced
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
America's Best Inn & Suites
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn
#8 of 14 in Merced
3.0 of 5 stars 110 reviews
1.5 mi away
America's Best Value Inn Merced
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hooper House Bear Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hooper House Bear Creek Inn

Address: 575 West North Bear Creek Drive, Merced, CA 95348
Location: United States > California > Merced
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Merced
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hooper House Bear Creek Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.