We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks for feeding me ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Turmeric Indian Cuisine

Turmeric Indian Cuisine
731 C Yosemite Ave, Merced, CA 95340
(209) 383-1900
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 132 Restaurants in Merced
Cuisines: Indian
Restaurant details
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Thanks for feeding me ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Yeah, bro and sis it's good place to have our Indian meal.
I used go for buffet or chicken tikka or bengan bharta and wheat roti.

Thanks you !!
p.s. Hv some Indian beer :p

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    2
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Merced, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best Indian food in Merced.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

I find it refreshing to dine in such a clean and friendly restaraunt! The service is good and the food is fantastic! It beats any other Indian cuisine in town. If you want a variety and tired of the same thing on a menu then this is the place to find it.It is different and fulfilling.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merced, California
Level Contributor
100 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Spicy but good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

This newly-opened restaurant has a great selection of Indian cuisine. Be sure to order the garlic naan.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merced, California
Level Contributor
169 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Not so OK”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

Indian food is one of my favorite cuisines. When I'm in the Bay Area or out of State I like to seek out Indian restaurants. I've been to quite a number of them, so Indian food is not new to me.
I wandered into Turmeric with a friend, liked the cute name and the location was perfect at that time.
Positives: clean, friendly staff, prompt service.
Negatives: food, decor.
The only thing about the food I liked was the rice. I had Sag Paneer, my friend had Chicken Tika Masala. My sag was beyond greasy, and the spicing was just not right. There was something sickeningly sweet in there. I ordered medium hot, but there wasn't any heat. As a non Indian person I have made better sag (without the paneer) at home than I was served at Turmeric that night. I tried my friend's Tika Masala and that spicing wasn't right, either. My friend said the chicken wasn't tender. How bad was it? When you don't want to take home your leftovers... that's not a good sign.
This was a one time trip. Next time I'm hungry and in the neighborhood I'll either have Thai food across the parking lot, or drive across town to Taste of Little India.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merced, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Indian Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

This was a pleasant surprise! We went for the buffet lunch which had 10-12 items. The chicken curry and naan bread we out of this world! and omg so inexpensive 2 of us ate for 20 bucks. The staff was very friendly and refilled our drinks at least 4 times. Cute decor. Lets keep going there people and support something other than Applebees. Just kidding

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Turmeric Indian Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Turmeric Indian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turmeric Indian Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.