We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Who knew? This is the burger joint to visit.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of H & W Family Drive In

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
H & W Family Drive In
121 W 16th Street, Merced, CA 95340
(209) 722-8595
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 143 Restaurants in Merced
Cuisines: Hamburgers
Restaurant details
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Who knew? This is the burger joint to visit.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Upon our weekend in Merced to visit family, we wanted a burger - not McDonald's, or In and Out..a good homestyle burger. I went to the internet and voila! We discovered H&W. This is a burger joint - complete with homemade root beer? yay. happy dance. Burgers come with shredded lettuce, good toasted bun, mine with guacamole (yum). Crinkle fries are standard, AND..drum roll - zucchini fries! They.were.awesome. If we would have had more time, I would have came back for sure - their menu has plenty to try! You can sit in your car, or join someone at an outdoor picnic table if the weather permits.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    4
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chowchilla, California
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fun family place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

Love this find. Food is always great, service is always friendly, we make it a point to eat here often. Sitting at the tables during the summer is always a treat. The French burger is the best!!!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Classic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I'm no so sure about the food...I had just one small burger. Really neat and clean shaded patio in the back, with varnished wood picnic tables. Cool!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merced, California, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“quick and good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Old fashion outdoor restaurant. Go up to the window. Order. Comes out great. Burgers and more. Very good and inexpensive too. Check out the Collectible store next door while you're there.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merced, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good old fashioned drive in”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Great drive in. Good burgers, especially the Guacamole Burger. Fries are great, both regular and curly. Nice waitresses...friendly and fast. Good place to stop for a great lunch while out and about.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed H & W Family Drive In also viewed

 

Been to H & W Family Drive In? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage H & W Family Drive In, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.