We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best damn tacos around” 5 of 5 stars
Review of J & R Tacos

J & R Tacos
437 Main st, Merced, CA
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
J & R Tacos is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 143 Restaurants in Merced
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Canal
Description: Service out of this world and extraordinary food.
Fresno, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best damn tacos around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Country-style tacos in the heart of the city? How cool is that?
Great, now I have a taco craving again. Yesssss!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    8
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Whitwick, UK
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Excellent Dining Experience, Fantastic Value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

The whole J&R Tacos dining experience is superb. Great décor and layout, fantastic staff, excellent menu, fine food and drink, brilliant value. Visit them, I guarantee you will not be disappointed!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merced, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“local favorite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

very yummy and inventive Mexican food, Healthy choices. Music some nights.

Only critique-in mid winter the tomatoes there sometimes taste flat

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

I went to this taqueria on my last night in Merced. It is a nice little place and the food was very good. I had enchilada with black beans and a beer. With tip was $13. Cheap and good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merced
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Merced's Favorite Tacqueria”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Friendly help, good food, indoor and outdoor seating, and good prices. The proprietor is always in supporting the community and the arts. I think he knows everyone in Merced!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed J & R Tacos also viewed

 

Been to J & R Tacos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage J & R Tacos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.