We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Different from other diners” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Black Bear Diner

Black Bear Diner
1435 V St, Merced, CA
209-383-9600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 145 Restaurants in Merced
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
Description: this is a chain
Restaurant details
Description: this is a chain
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Different from other diners”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

It was after 20:30, I took the chicken parmezan with spaghetti and marinara sauce (big portion) and my partner the meatloaf with mashed potatoes. Included in the price was also soup or salad. So very big portions. Nice service!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    29
    14
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Alta Loma
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Awesome service, great food. Knew we could trust Black Bear Diner. We asked the staff about some place to go walk after dinner and they were so honest and let us two ladies know that it wasn't really a safe place to be after dark. We were so appreciative! We ate more than one meal here this weekend as we knew the value was worth it!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

This is a good chain restaurant. Food was good---large portions---fair prices--very good service. We enjoyed our dinner. Family friendly.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandeville, Louisiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Awesome diner!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

At breakfast here two days in a row recently. Had the Grizz breakfast both days....their biscuits are huge....a meal by itself. Loved the restaurant and our waitress was lovely to talk to. We enjoyed it!!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good Place for any meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

While Merced is not overloaded with diners the Black Bear was a welcome change. I've been there many times for various meals. Breakfast and Lunch were always good. Dinner varied. I liked the Bacon stuffed Chicken and Country Fried Steak, while I've had the Prime Rib which was excellent when first offered and the last time was over cooked, tough and extremely fatty. I'll never order it again. You better be hungry because the portions are very large, although they do offer a 'Little Less" menu, and the prices are reasonable. I would recommend stopping here.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Bear Diner also viewed

 

Been to Black Bear Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Bear Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.