We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upscale for Merced” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bella Luna Bakery Cafe

Bella Luna Bakery Cafe
350 W Main St, Merced, CA
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 8 Bakeries in Merced
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Merced
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Upscale for Merced”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Bella Luna is great. They make their own zucchini pickles, Italian desserts, and a number of salads. There is a deli that makes really good sandwiches, caters and has the occasional jazz night. I found the servers a little on the unfriendly side compared with other establishments I frequent in Merced. If you know them personally, they're great. If not, a little stand-offish. The quality of the food more than makes up for it.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    10
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Merced, California, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very nice place to eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Lots of good luncheon sandwich choices. Very nice inside seeing the bricks still there from the old days. You can't go wrong here. Give it a try.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merced, California, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“over priced and poor quality food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

imitation italian deli, pizza has gone way down hill , rude manageress out of her depth . our drinks were fine one thing that really put me off was I could see into the kitchen when the doors were swinging and it looked really dirty !!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merced, California
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
“Best Bread in this Area!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

I already knew Bella Luna crafts excellent bread. I've been buying it all summer long at the Merced Farmer's Market. Having grown up in Europe, I really know good bread. My favorite from Bella Luna is multigrain sourdough... which deserves 5 stars.

I just had lunch at Bella Luna Cafe for the first time. Decor is pleasant, Meditaranian. My sandwich was very good, and my friend liked her quiche. The lunch would have deserved 5 stars. However, I had to knock off a point because first it took quite some time just to get the order in at the counter, and then it took a while to get the order to the table. Staff was very friendly and hard working. The cafe was quite busy, understaffed, and therefore seemed somewhat disorganized. That may have been a fluke, but that's how it was the day I visited. Regardless, I will continue to patronize Bella Luna. Based on my bread purchases I believe it's the best bakery in our area. I hope at another time I'll be able to give it 5 stars.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Comfort Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Food, service and staff will have you coming back for more. Lots of home made goodies, roomy inside and a few seats on main street.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bella Luna Bakery Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Bella Luna Bakery Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bella Luna Bakery Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.