We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“peaceful- birds and water” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Merced National Wildlife Refuge

Merced National Wildlife Refuge
7376 S. Wolfsen Road, On State Hwy 59, then 8 miles west on Sandy Mush Road, Merced, CA 93635
209/826-3508
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 13 Attractions in Merced
Attraction details
Merced, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“peaceful- birds and water”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

You can go in the summer but most of the water and bird will be gone, however there are millions of rabbits around ha ha. You drive thru at a very low speed and stop at look out points. I did have the gate locked on me one day, when it was supposed to be open and I had to hike in.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    4
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Merced, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“EXcellent winter cativity”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Best in Winter when birds from the north are over wintering here. Many do not require binoculars to view! Early morning of evening before sunset a good time to be there. Mid day you can see some but not nearly as impressive as when htey are takign off for the day or coming in after a day our in the fireld.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merced, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Water Fowl and More”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I have been driving to the NWR for nearly twenty years now. I'm a photographer and love to go there for wildlife photographs. The best time to visit this 5 mile drive is from October through April. This is the winter feeding grounds for the Sand Hill Cranes, the Ross's and Snow geese and many, many other species. Some years there will be an abundance of Black-crowned Night Herons, Great Blue Herons, Egrets, both Snowy and Great together with some Cattle Egrets in the fields. I've seen so many species and photographed many of them, I couldn't list them all here. Many varieties of ducks and other water fowl. It's an amazing place to visit. Don't go there in the summertime...far too many mosquitos and they'll fly into your car windows and you'll take them home with you...YIKES! I highly recommend driving around several times, as you'll see difference things each time. I spotted my first Burrowing Owl there and there are a resident pair of Great Horned Owl. So much to see...keep your eyes open for lots of species of animals, as well. Love this place. It's only twenty minutes from downtown Merced, so go see nature at its best.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, CA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Wildlife viewing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Flocks of egrets and numerous other flying species to enjoy...has an Auto tour where you can slowly drive through the area spotting them!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manteca, California, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good for birds!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

This is good for wildlife and I think that it is the best thing a human can do is keep a place special for wild life before we kill it all off.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Merced National Wildlife Refuge also viewed

 

Been to Merced National Wildlife Refuge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Merced National Wildlife Refuge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.