We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Water Fowl and More” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Merced National Wildlife Refuge

Merced National Wildlife Refuge
7376 S. Wolfsen Road, On State Hwy 59, then 8 miles west on Sandy Mush Road, Merced, CA 93635
209/826-3508
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 10 Attractions in Merced
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas
Attraction Details
Merced, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Water Fowl and More”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I have been driving to the NWR for nearly twenty years now. I'm a photographer and love to go there for wildlife photographs. The best time to visit this 5 mile drive is from October through April. This is the winter feeding grounds for the Sand Hill Cranes, the Ross's and Snow geese and many, many other species. Some years there will be an abundance of Black-crowned Night Herons, Great Blue Herons, Egrets, both Snowy and Great together with some Cattle Egrets in the fields. I've seen so many species and photographed many of them, I couldn't list them all here. Many varieties of ducks and other water fowl. It's an amazing place to visit. Don't go there in the summertime...far too many mosquitos and they'll fly into your car windows and you'll take them home with you...YIKES! I highly recommend driving around several times, as you'll see difference things each time. I spotted my first Burrowing Owl there and there are a resident pair of Great Horned Owl. So much to see...keep your eyes open for lots of species of animals, as well. Love this place. It's only twenty minutes from downtown Merced, so go see nature at its best.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    3
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Monterey, CA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Wildlife viewing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Flocks of egrets and numerous other flying species to enjoy...has an Auto tour where you can slowly drive through the area spotting them!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manteca, California, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good for birds!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

This is good for wildlife and I think that it is the best thing a human can do is keep a place special for wild life before we kill it all off.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“great place to see nature”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I took my sons here to see some nature and get a view of the wild life in the area, they loved it and the way animals roamed free about

Visited April 2012

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Have to slow down to appreciate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This is the type of place where you have to slow down to soak it in. If you just drive through without slowing down or stopping, you'll still see a lot of birds, but you won't be getting the full experience.

I made the mistake of going there for the first time in August last year and learned why I was the only one there! It was very hot and there was not much water nor wildlife left. Just a lot of crayfish by the start of the Bittern Marsh trail.

It was totally different when I went earlier in January. A lot more water and of course, a lot more wildlife. There were plenty of waterfowl and raptors. I was investigating the photography blind, which was pretty much a broken down tent when a woman told me there was an owl in a nearby tree and a couple of coyotes across the road. So bring your binoculars and spotting scopes and take a slow drive...

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Merced National Wildlife Refuge also viewed

 

Been to Merced National Wildlife Refuge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Merced National Wildlife Refuge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.