We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good for a family or small group” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pocket 8's Sushi & Grill

Pocket 8's Sushi & Grill
9 West Alexander Avenue, Merced, CA
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 145 Restaurants in Merced
Cuisines: Japanese
Restaurant details
Mariposa, California
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“good for a family or small group”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

The cooked-at-your table meals were very good, varied, and plenty to eat. Our grandchildren especially enjoyed the onion volcano. Large selection- steak, seafood, chicken, tempura and many combinations. Reasonable prices, especially considering the extra entertainment factor.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    6
    5
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fun place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We ate at the area where the chef cooks in front of you. I went with my husband and two other ladies were seated with us. The cook was engaging with us and did tricks with the food using fire. I loved the food. It was quite pricey, but so much food. I had leftovers. The salad was delicious. I asked for a second one. It was neat being with other people. We chatted and had a great time. Worth the money,

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“good food and entertaining service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We had dinner on a Saturday evening and really enjoyed our evening. All of us ordered a different dish, all created at our table and the food show was interesting, fun and entertaining. We had a great time. Our only question was that the sake drink we ordered came not as a glass, but as a small 8 ounce bottle. The cost of this small bottle was $18.00 and on the menu it looked like a $5 - $7 dollar drink, not an $18.00 - 8 ounce bottle. So be aware of this as our waitress did not say a word and it was not listed on the menu as such.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merced, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beni hana in Merced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Nice small bar, regular restaurant seating and a sushi bar. They also have those "watch them cook" flaming hot grill tables you sit at with the entertaining flying knives and shooting flames going on. Many photos of celebrities with the owner who was a World champion poker player. We were seating with another small group at our table, and I did not know it is customary to tip your cook/showman until I saw them do it.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California City, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great food bad service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Since pocket 8s have been opened I've only gone there about 4 times. The first time I went there, the waitress seated us after customers who came after us. When we were seated, we only ordered water to drink. the water came after the meal. We asked for plates, they never brought it. Our first experience was horrible. Since then, pocket 8s hasn't been our first choice for sushi. We only go there because friends invite us there. The food is good with decent pricing. Their employees just need more training on courtesy and waitressing etiquettes..

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pocket 8's Sushi & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Pocket 8's Sushi & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pocket 8's Sushi & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.