We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than average Motel 6” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Motel 6 to your Saves list
Motel 6
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1983 E Childs Ave, Merced, CA 95340   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Merced
South Bend, Washington
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Better than average Motel 6”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

After reading the Motel 6 reviews in Modesto, we elected to continue to Merced. It was a clean pleasant motel and Ronelle went out of her way to make our stay enjoyable. When I expressed concern about security of my car, she told me where to park that was in view of the front desk. Gave me directions to local resteraunts with recommendations. I would definitely stop again.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William M, Front Office Manager at Motel 6, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thanks very much for your review. Every time we hear from a guest, it helps us to see the kinds of things we're doing well and areas we could be better in. Maybe our rooms need to be cleaner? Maybe our guest service was very helpful? As a staff, our first priority is quality. We want to make sure that each and every guest feels comfortable and safe while they're with us.
Thanks again for your thoughts. We're glad we could help to make your experience a good one.
We hope that if you're ever in our area again, you'll choose to stay with us. We'd love to have you.
Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    28
    15
    9
    3
See reviews for
18
20
11
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alameda, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Stayed one night and was happy with the room and service.
Nice basic, and spacious room upstairs with comfortable bed, clean and quiet too.
Staff was courteous and helpful. Thanks Bob! Said they are available 24 hours.
I have stayed at a few hotel 6's and this was one of the best. As a solo female traveler, I felt safe in the area, even coming in after midnight after a visit with my son in town.
They even had free coffee in the lobby in the morning with a microwave available for guest use.
I would stay here again. A good value for the price.

Room Tip: Liked the upstairs room I requested.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William M, Front Office Manager at Motel 6, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thanks very much for your review. As a staff, our main goal is to see that each and every guest is comfortable and feels safe while staying with us. We take each review very seriously. We consider it a way to help us see what we're doing well, and what we could do better for our property and/or guests.
If your ever back in the Merced area, we hope you will choose Motel 6 again. We would love the opportunity to take care of you for the evening.
Thanks again,
Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina Beach, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

This was a really nice motel, and the staff was great. The room was clean, the price was good and there was gas, and food within walking distance. If you have read any of my reviews you know that is always a plus after a day on on road. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William M, Front Office Manager at Motel 6, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us. As a staff, our priority is making sure that guests feel safe anf comfortable. Whatever it takes. We're always glad to get comments that say we're doing our jobs well. At the same time, we value comments that tell us what we need to work on.
When a guest departs, hopefully he or she will want to return and stay with us in the future. If you're ever in our area again, please stop in for a night!. We'd love to see you!

Thanks again
Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We thought we were calling a Super 8 Motel and found that it had changed hands to a Motel 6 within the past year. The man I spoke to was very pleasant and spoke very highly of the motel. I was a little hesitant as I have had some poorly run Motel 6s in the past. but I was very nicely surprised to find a very good sized and clean King bedroom with fairly new furniture, carpets, etc. The staff (I think the manager/ owner's name was Bill) were very helpful with suggestions for dinner that night. Unfortunately, it was an outdoor pool so it was the wrong time of year to make use of it. At this time, they still did not have any kind of a continental breakfast but did have coffee available in the reception area. Also, they did not supply any small shampoo bottles or coffee in the room. We were not charged a huge price for the room (less than the Super 8 prices) so we were not too worried about the lack of the little extras. Other than that, the room was very clean, well maintained (as was the whole building), the location was good, the service people were very pleasant and helpful, and we would definitely go back and stay there again. We have stayed at two Super 8s since then and neither of them were as nice as the Motel 6 in Merced, Oregon.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William M, Front Office Manager at Motel 6, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Thanks so much for choosing to stay with us. We truly appreciate each and every guest, and we want them to feel as safe and comfortable as possible.
Thank you also for your review. All reviews, good or bad, either let us know what we're doing well, or what we need to work on as a staff.
If you're ever in the Merced area again, we hoe you'll stop in again. We'd love to have you again!

Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creswell, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

My Wife and I wish to thank Bill for his caring attituse and efficientcy in getting us a room and his consideration id giving us our choise of room location. We were well pleased and enjoyed the service from housekeeping as well.
Thanks again,
W & C Hall

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheila G, Front Office Manager at Motel 6, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thanks so much for your comments . We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. It is important for us to know what we're doing well. It is also important to know what we should work on in order to make our guests feel "cared for" and safe while visiting.
If you're ever in our area again, we extend an invitation to stay with us! We'd love to have you!
Thanks again!
Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

The perfect place for a nice, clean, quiet, secure and comfortable rest. If we had any problems with the appliances or the room, the staff took ownership and resolved it and even following up later to make sure everything is ok.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheila G, Front Office Manager at Motel 6, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thanks so much for your comments. We always appreciate responses from past guests. Each comment we recieve helps us to know what we're doing well, and what we need to do better, maybe. As a staff, each of us strives to provide our guests with a comfortable, safe experience while staying with us. We hope that, if you're in our area, you will visit us again! We'd love to see you!
Thanks again
Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa barbara,ca.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Everything was just great, and check in/out was easy and quick...Bill was super helpful and friendly.
Clean, quiet, comfortable.
I would definitely go back. It was a pleasure to find myself in Merced.

The bed was very comfortable-great TV-immaculate bathroom-very quiet.
I slept very well after a long day on the road.

But mostly, delightful customer service-thank you, Bill!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheila G, Front Office Manager at Motel 6, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments. Comments not only show us what we've been doing well, but the things we need to work on in order to make our guests feel comfortable and safe. We're glad you chose to stay with us and your experience was satisfying. We hope that, if you're ever in the Merced area again, you'll choose to stay with us. We look forward to seeing you!

Thanks again,
Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 6? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6

Address: 1983 E Childs Ave, Merced, CA 95340
Location: United States > California > Merced
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Merced
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 8.0 from UC Merced and 80 miles from Yosemite National Park. Our rooms offer air conditioned accommodations and a seasonal pool with loungers. Free morning coffee is available in the lobby. Featuring cable TV with extended channels. WiFi in every room. Select rooms feature refrigerators and microwaves. Ironing Boards, Irons, and Coffee Pots available upon request. Wake calls available.We are located within walking distance to several fast food places. As well situated across from a really nice sit down Italian restaurant and an authenic Mexican restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Motel 6 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Merced
Super Eight Merced
Merced Super Eight
Merced Super 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.