We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only place i will stay if i visit merced again!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Rodeway Inn to your Saves list
Rodeway Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1001 Motel Drive, Merced, CA 95340 (Formerly Sandpiper Lodge)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Merced
1 review
“The only place i will stay if i visit merced again!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Rooms are super clean.
People are super nice!
You cant get that for the price they offers!
Theres nothing bad to talk about really and makes bad for other motels.
This is the only place i will stay if i visit Merced again!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manny S, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for taking your valuable time to write about your experience at Rodeway Inn - Merced. We are happy to hear that our staff member are nice and room is clean. We appreciate your business. We hope to see you soon in near future if you are in Merced. Thank You !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    27
    19
    7
    8
See reviews for
14
37
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Visit to Yosemite national park, and sufficient amenities in the room for travellers who is on budget or mid scale. Clean room and friendly staff. Convenient, comfortable and provided great service. Would definitely recommend it to others.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manny S, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for taking your valuable time to write about your experience at Rodeway Inn - Merced. We are happy to hear that our staff was helpful and friendly. We appreciate your business. We hope to see you soon in near future if you are in Merced. Thank You for recommending to other !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

We stayed during last week of May 2014.our room had two green bed,little fridge,maicro wave,coffe maker,hair tayari,our room prise was little low.desk guys was very help full.room was clean and comfortable, we had a good night sleep.we didn't try their pool.but looked clean out said.I recommend this place if you are budget travel like me

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manny S, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for taking your valuable time to write about your experience at Rodeway Inn - Merced. We are glad to hear that you got all your amenities at reasonable price with clean and comfortable rate. Thank you for sharing that our staff was very helpful to you by providing great customer service. We appreciate your business. We hope to see you soon in near future if you are in Merced and make sure you try our pool out in summer hot weather. Thank You !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This place is much worse than a normal Motel. Can't believe how could they call themselves a "INN"! It's just nearby the highway so it's pretty noisy that I could not fall asleep at all! Also the air conditioner is like super noisy which kept me awake all the night either! If you want to live in this place, you really need a pair of earplug! The room is very small too! They only have one small queen bed.They said they have free breakfast. But it only includes some coffee and a few snacks! Anyway, it's the smallest and most noisy room I have ever lived in! I will never choose this hotel again!

Room Tip: No good room at all!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manny S, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
We are truly sorry that your visit with us was unsatisfactory. Yes, we are located next to highway 99 and near railroad tracks as many more hotels in Merced. We do have some bigger square feet rooms but they are different category than queen. Yes, our free complimentary breakfast is small and we are sorry that it was unsatisfactory to you. Once again, I apologize for the unsatisfactory stay you had with us. It is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Thank You !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Clean, comfortable motel with helpful and friendly service at the front desk. The concierge recommended a great restaurant and gave us a voucher for a free wine, beer or 50% off an appetizer for both nights we were there.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manny S, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thank you for taking your valuable time to write about your experience at Rodeway Inn - Merced. Thank you for sharing that our staff was very helpful to you by providing great customer service and it was clean and comfortable room for you. In addition, the restaurant vouchers are for all of our guest so I am glad that you were able to take advantage of it. We appreciate your business. We hope to see you soon in near future if you are in Merced. Thank You !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Over priced room. The clerk was nice tho. I would not stay here again.if is all out dated the toilet was clogged.it was a non smoking but still had a stitch like it was. They can do better..................

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manny S, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
We are truly sorry that your visit with us was unsatisfactory. In addition, we are glad to hear that our staff was good. Once again, I apologize for the unsatisfactory stay you had with us. It is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Thank You !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

We stayed during UC Merced's graduation week-end so the Rodeway Inn took the opportunity to double their prices to $100. Our room was old, tired and very shabby. A real dump! The shower head was so low we had to stoop over to shampoo our hair. Breakfast was a joke--one kind of cereal and some packaged rolls. Do yourself a favor and choose another motel and avoid Merced during Cal graduation week-end.

Room Tip: Stay someplace else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manny S, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
We're genuinely sorry that your visit with us was unsatisfactory due to high price during UC Merced graduation. In addition, we are trying our best to have bigger breakfast; however, we are not sure when we will be expanding our complimentary breakfast. Once again, I apologize for the unsatisfactory stay you had with us. It is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Address: 1001 Motel Drive, Merced, CA 95340 (Formerly Sandpiper Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Merced
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Merced
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near Highway 99, this hotel is just 3 miles from Merced County Fairgrounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rodeway Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.