We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value/friendly.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Rodeway Inn to your Saves list
Rodeway Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1001 Motel Drive, Merced, CA 95340 (Formerly Sandpiper Lodge)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Merced
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great value/friendly.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We do our research to find nice clean lodging without regard for brand. We want (1) clean rooms, (2) amenities, i.e. refrigerator, free internet, etc. (3) comfy beds (4) low cost. We were pleased to find all of these at the Sandpiper. Manny was very friendly and wanted more than anything to please his guests with customer service and clean rooms. The ice machine was out of service, so Manny gave us some from his kitchen. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manny S, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Thank you for leaving great review/opinion for us. I appreciate your time and effort that you put toward us to write a review. I am glad to hear that you search for lodging facilities in Merced and you decide to go with us. I am very glad to hear that we meet your expectation. In addition, yes we do try hard to keep our hotel clean as possible and maintain excellent price vs. quality ratio. Moreover, i am happy to hear that you enjoy staying with us and you will stay with us when you are in our area. We appreciate your business and we were glad to have you. We hope your journey goes well ahead and hope to see you soon in the future. Thank You !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    27
    20
    8
    10
See reviews for
16
39
11
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

One of the best experience of hotel stay and services, it was as peaceful as anyone could ask for. The room service and the cleanliness overall eye catching. This is one of the place where you get more than you pay and expect. All my friends were happy regarding my decision of selecting this hotel. A place definitely should be visited once again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manny S, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Thank You so much for taking a time and leaving us an excellent review/opinion for us. We are glad to hear that you and your friends enjoy staying with us and it was best experience for you. In addition, we are glad to hear that you found everything clean in our hotel room and service was excellent. Moreover, i am very happy that price vs. quality ratio came excellent for you. We hope to see you soon in near future if you are in Merced. Once again, thank you so much for your time and effort to leave us excellent review. We appreciate your business. Thank You !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carson, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Had a very pleasant time at this hotel. The room we received was very spacious, clean, and affordable. The pool was nice and relaxing, especially during the hot summer day. The staff was quite friendly and did well in informing us about the city and its prime locals, along with giving us discounts at many of the nearby restaurants. All in all had a wonderful time and we shall be staying again whenever we require rooms in the future.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manny S, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Thank You for your excellent review.opinion about us. I highly appreciate that you took your time and wrote us a review. We are glad to hear that you like our room or room that we assigned to you for your stay. In addition, we are glad to hear that you received discount at near by restaurants for staying with us and dining their. We hope to see you soon in near future if you are in Merced. Once again, Thank You for your time and effort to leave us a excellent review. We appreciate your business !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
España
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

We had a reservation for two nights at this hotel. The location is very good, near Yosemite but without abusive prices of this park.
We had a problem and after check-in we had to leave because we received a call from our country that we were forced to return home.
Despite having paid the entire stay, the hotel address so we only charge the first night and reintegrated the rest.
A hotel with good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manny S, Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, July 28, 2012
Thank You for leaving us a review/opinion about your stay. We are glad to hear that our price vs. quality ratio was excellent for your stay and that is what we known for. However, since you made your reservation through 3rd party web site, we are entitle to charge the full amount if cancellation time is cut off. However, depending on the personal circumstance/situation we do make some judgments that benefits customers. In addition, this is not our policy to do all the time for all the future customers since it effects our inventory for that day at the hotel. Only few things that we carry at the hotel and its value, customer service, and cleanliness. We hope that everything is fine with you at back home that made you go back in emergency. Once again, thank you for your time and effort for leaving us a review. We hope to be better in future. If you are in our area or visiting Yosemite national park again in the future, we hope that sandpiper lodge comes up in your mind first. Thank You !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

I booked online for a 2 night stay using reviews to make my decision. When drove up to the Sandpiper I had concerns due to the age appearance. Don't let outward appearances fool you! This was a very clean and well maintained motel, nothing fancy and with the basic motel amenities makes this a good choice when visiting Yosemite. Breakfast was Continental at the front desk with no sit down. I only had two issues, one was the old outdated electrical wall outlets which did not have the ground plug for my laptop power cord (got one from the office) and the other was the traffic noise on highway 99 next door.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manny S, Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
First of all, thank you for making a reservation with us for 2 nights. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I really appreciate that you took some time and left us a great review. We hope that we see you soon in near future when you decide to go back to Yosemite National Park. Thank You so much for your time and effort that you have put toward us to write us great review. Thank You !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

The sandpiper lodge is not your newest motel but should by no means be ruled out based on that. I stayed here a couple nights last month and didn't bother to make a reservation ahead of time because I was planning on driving through the night but my back began to throb so I called it a night. Walked in and was greeted right away by the friendly gentleman at the front. He was very quick to accommodate me and I was asleep in no time. Just a few specifics.. the room was very clean, bed was comfy, shower had good water pressure. Overall a great choice for a quick recharge. Will definitely be my go to spot when I'm passing through again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manny S, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, June 10, 2012
Thank You so much for your excellent review/opinion about us and sandpiper Lodge- Merced. We are glad to hear that you really liked it here and enjoy your stay. We hope that we will see you soon when you stop by in Merced and if you need lodging facilities we will be your first option. We are glad that you stop at Sandpiper Lodge - Merced. We greatly appreciate your business and time that you have took towards us to write a wonderful review. Once again, Sandpiper Lodge- Merced, appreciate your business. Thank You !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

It was a pleasant stay. Staff here were so helpful and friendly especially front desk guy Manny. They willingly helped us to make stay pleasant and comfortable. I can say I am overall extremly happy with their service. Rooms equipped with basic amenties were nice, clean and very well maintianed. though not so fancy room but neat clean. Very nice looking pool. Not only that, location is too good. visited Yosemite Lakes, it was one of memorbale visit. Beautiful lake and scenery. It's very good deal around Merced area. Best Place to stay! Thank you once again to all staffs and will definately come again and Recommend to Others :)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manny S, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, May 27, 2012
Thank you so much for your excellent review/opinion about us. Our staff is our greatest asset and we are glad to hear that we are continuing to please each and every customers by providing their needs and accommodations. We glad to hear that your trip to Merced was successful and pleasant during your visit. We hope that we hear something soon from you and we will get chance to see you soon in near future. Once again, thank you for recommending us to other . Thank You for your valuable time that you put towards us and gave us a excellent opinion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Address: 1001 Motel Drive, Merced, CA 95340 (Formerly Sandpiper Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Merced
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Merced
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near Highway 99, this hotel is just 3 miles from Merced County Fairgrounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rodeway Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.