We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonably priced accommodation” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Merced

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Merced to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Merced
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   151 South Parsons Avenue, Merced, CA 95341   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Merced
Certificate of Excellence 2014
L.A., CA
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Reasonably priced accommodation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2010

We stayed in two suites, which were small but comfortable and adequate with king beds and sitting areas, full-sized fridge, microwave and coffee maker. Free self-serve breakfast with coffee, tea, juices, cereals, pancakes, danish pastries, biscuits and sausage is available. Reception staff were helpful and friendly. The location is about 90 minutes drive from Yosemite and ideal for exploring the entire area.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    95
    13
    5
    4
See reviews for
89
57
13
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delphos
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2010

We stayed in Merced because of its location between San Francisco and Yosemite. It was 2 hours from San Francisco and 1 1/2 hours to Yosemite. The Hotel is very nice. The complimentary breakfast was more than expected. The only problem we had was when we were using the business center and made tour reservation that could only be printed once and the printer would not work. I went to the front desk and she said she has asked to get it fixed, but has not been done yet. I advised her she should put a sign on the printer letting others know that it is out of order. I had to redo our tour reservations and wait for a refund for the first request. The rooms are very roomy and clean. Noise was not an issue when sleeping. The wi-fi signal was not very good for our Ipad, so we used a wired computer. Would definetel use this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2010

Had the opportunity to stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Merced or the neighboring Hampton Inn. Both had great rates and since we frequently stay at Holiday Inn Express we opted for it.
Check-in person was helpful and knowledgable. Room was fine. Standard, clean, quiet, etc. I could not get connected to the free wifi and was too tired to spend the time working at it.
HOWEVER, next morning when we went for breakfast, it was chaos with about 30 people seated at the tables and another 30 standing around looking for food. They were out of food...at 8:45AM on a Sunday, including coffee and hot water for the one package of instant oatmeal that was available. Hostess was sweeping in the lobby and informed us that manager had gone for more food but since it was already 8:45AM, may not return before the scheduled 10AM closing of breakfast area.
In the meantime, we observed another staff member take a suitcase (concealed in large cardboard) to the trash area. The individual proceeded to empty the suitcase piece by piece, putting most contents in the trash area but some in their own pocket and finally throw the suitcase in the back of a pickup truck (presumably the employees). We tried to contact the manager as we thought this was extremely suspicious but even after 10AM when the manager had supposedly returned from "the food run", she could still not be located. We reported the incident to the competent front desk person who promised to follow up with the manager as we had to get back on the road. Although we left our cell phone number, no one ever followed up to clarify the situation or ask questions. All-in-all a very strange situation at this hotel. Normally I would recommend a Holiday Inn Express for a roadtrip but not this particular hotel!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2010

Stayed overnight in Merced the night before our day at Yosemite. What a good decision! This hotel had great atmosphere. The rooms were clean and modern. This hotel is brand new and in a great location.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merced, CA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2010

Held my daughter's baby shower at the Holiday Inn Express in Merced California on May 15, 2010. The party went off without a hitch thanks to the wonderfu staff and the customer service we received. Everyone from the front desk to the maintance staff were very friendly and very helpful. The hotel was booked for the UC Merced graduation weekend and was very busy but every request we had was dealt with immediately and with a smile. I am definately a satisfied customer and woulod recommend the Holiday Inn Express to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman Oaks, CA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2010

We travel frequently up to Sacramento and Oregon and when we need a place to stop...this is ALWAYS our first choice. We do recommend you ask for a room facing the pool or the front parking lot, as the freeway can be a bit tricky. However, the really nice thing about this place is that the employees put it all together and they are very proud of what they did. The week before opening, all the employees helped furnish the rooms...and that meant hand carrying all of the TVs and furniture up the stairs...the elevators were not working yet. This helped turn the staff into a team, and that still prevails here. The rooms are always clean. The breakfast is pretty good...especially the omeletes and the signature cinnamon rolls. If I could fault anything, it would be that there are no refrigerators/microwaves in the rooms. We were told it was because they had suites, as well, and the suites had the extra emenities. However, they always let me use their refrigerator and there is a microwave in the dining area. Otherwise, this is a really great property.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2010

This is a new hotel on the south end of Merced. The building is clean and shiny, and my room was huge and open, as if it was intended to be a suite but was furnished as a single king bed room. I had no problem with noise from either the highway, the railroad, or other people. The A/C was controlled by a wall-mounted thermostat that could be set to run the fan continuously, which is a huge plus for me (to help block any noise that is present). The business center is adequate for my needs, to check email and print airline boarding passes. The breakfast is good but not spectacular. A lot of hotels call cereal and pastries a "breakfast", but this one includes much more, including hot food like scrambled eggs and bacon, or fruit.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Merced? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Merced

Address: 151 South Parsons Avenue, Merced, CA 95341
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Merced
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Merced
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Merced 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in the new fresh look and feel of our Holiday Inn Express and Suites in Merced, CA located at the intersection of Highways 140, 59 and California Highway 99. We are just a short distance from Merced Municipal Airport (MCE), UC Merced, and Mercy Medical Center and Castle Air Museum. As the Gateway to Yosemite, Merced is 80 miles from the park. Merced offers a variety of entertaining outdoor activities such as hiking and bicycling, as well as water recreation at the many lakes in the area including Lake Yosemite & Don Pedro Lake. From the moment you drive up to the new Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Merced you will feel welcomed by our fresh look and relaxing ambient music. Our responsive staff will help make you comfortable in one of our 91 luxuriously appointed guest rooms, including 19 suites. All rooms are equipped with deluxe new bedding and our Smart Bath Collection, as well as 32 flat panel televisions, and complimentary wired/wireless high-speed Internet. This newly built hotel also features an outdoor pool, whirlpool, exercise room, business center, and a large meeting room. We are confident that your stay with us will be a pleasant experience, so Stay Smart! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Merced reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Merced
Holiday Inn Express Merced

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Merced, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.