We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place for rest” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Merced

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Merced to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Merced
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   151 South Parsons Avenue, Merced, CA 95341   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 14 hotels in Merced
Rogersville, Missouri, United States
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Good place for rest”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

The staff was friendly and the room was large. The bathroom was large and had plenty of hot water, but was slightly under pressure. Bed was comfortable. The pool and hot tub were outside and the exercise room was acceptable. Heard road noise, but didn't keep me awake any. Had the typical HIE buffet breakfast and was pleasing to the tummy!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXMerced, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Merced, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! In the interest of continuing to please your tummy, the Holiday Inn Express brand is adding several healthy choice options to our breakfast this month, including adding Greek yogurt, Kellogg's cereals, whole grain English muffins, turkey sausage, and more. We hope you'll enjoy the changes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    88
    74
    11
    5
    3
See reviews for
69
47
7
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

We stayed at this Hotel a couple of weeks ago for the Kiki Raina Tahiti Fete Merced 2014 which is a Tahitian dance competition, Because of this event they offered us a good deal. Hotel is nice and clean, my kids really enjoyed the pool at night, overall this property is really nice but what stood out the most was the Man that was taking care of the breakfast area, He was a latino man I would say around his 50s, he was wonderful, he keep checking all, making sure there was plenty of everything, he was running back and forth to the kitchen bringing warm food, when we were leaving he gave my kids a bag with a couple of bananas and apples and said to us, " Have a nice trip back home, God bless you". This are the kind of gestures that make you stay worth it.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that faces the front street, behind the hotel is a railroad and at night you can h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXMerced, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Merced, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Merced. We will be sure to personally thank Francisco for providing hospitality the way it should always be! We hope to see you for next year's Tahiti Fete!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

I do business in the Merced CA area and have stayed at a few other spots, now I only stay here.

This is a new property and is very well maintained. The staff is always friendly and very helpful. A nice little pool and hot tub area for relaxing in the evening. The beds are great and, my measure of a hotel, the air conditioner absolutely kicks it! (Yes, I love a chilly room to sleep in.)

The only two minor downsides are the water pressure is a bit low and the breakfast isn't the greatest. My last stay the fresh fruit selection, was... well.. not so fresh. Both very minor issues and it won't stop me from returning next time.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXMerced, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Merced, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you so much for returning to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Merced! We are adding a few healthy options for breakfast this month; turkey sausage, whole wheat English muffins, Chobani Greek yogurt; Special K cereal, to name a few. We hope these changes agree with you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Greeted warmly, prompt and courteous service made this a nice visit. Employees all made an effort to make eye contact and smile - such a small gesture but seems to be missing in customer service these days. Rooms very nice, bed clean and comfy

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXMerced, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Merced, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thank you for taking your valuable time to write about your experience at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Merced. We appreciate that you found staff warm and courteous, and your room and bed comfortable. We also appreciate you sharing! We hope you were also able to earn some IHG Rewards Club points during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Stayed here on a Thanksgiving road trip. It's freeway convenient but the noise is not an issue. Staff were friendly, and we had two rooms - both were clean and well presented. Would certainly stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXMerced, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Merced, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to log in and share your experience at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Merced. We are pleased that you found your rooms clean and to your liking, and would love to host you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

I haven't stayed in a Holiday Inn for many years but I'll start from now on. This hotel was clean and the staff were friendly. Breakfast was great. Only stayed here for one night but will definitely stay here again if I'm ever in Merced again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXMerced, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Merced, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you for giving us a try! We are pleased that you found our hotel to your liking. Did you know that IHG Rewards Club points never expire? If you stayed with us years ago and earned points, they are still available! Thank you for sharing your experience and we look forward to providing you with a great stay in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

This Holiday Inn Express is everything you'd expect and want in a HiEx. The check-in is quick and friendly. The rooms are good sized, and clean. Beds comfortable. Price reasonable. The free breakfast is standard, but the staff does a great job keeping it hot, full and clean. A good place to stay for a Merced visit, or to take a rest from the drive on 99. A nice neighbor (exit Hi left thru the light and past the school) is a great Mexican grocery store. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXMerced, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Merced, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Merced. We are pleased you found staff and services to your liking, and that you found the nearby grocery store (Rancho San Miguel) also helpful. They have a great deli with some nice lunches in particular!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Merced? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Merced

Address: 151 South Parsons Avenue, Merced, CA 95341
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Merced
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 hotels in Merced
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Merced 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in the new fresh look and feel of our Holiday Inn Express and Suites in Merced, CA located at the intersection of Highways 140, 59 and California Highway 99. We are just a short distance from Merced Municipal Airport (MCE), UC Merced, and Mercy Medical Center and Castle Air Museum. As the Gateway to Yosemite, Merced is 80 miles from the park. Merced offers a variety of entertaining outdoor activities such as hiking and bicycling, as well as water recreation at the many lakes in the area including Lake Yosemite & Don Pedro Lake. From the moment you drive up to the new Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Merced you will feel welcomed by our fresh look and relaxing ambient music. Our responsive staff will help make you comfortable in one of our 91 luxuriously appointed guest rooms, including 19 suites. All rooms are equipped with deluxe new bedding and our Smart Bath Collection, as well as 32 flat panel televisions, and complimentary wired/wireless high-speed Internet. This newly built hotel also features an outdoor pool, whirlpool, exercise room, business center, and a large meeting room. We are confident that your stay with us will be a pleasant experience, so Stay Smart! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Merced reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Merced
Holiday Inn Express Merced

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Merced, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.