We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and modern” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Merced

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Merced to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Merced
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   151 South Parsons Avenue, Merced, CA 95341   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 13 hotels in Merced
Farmington, Utah
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Clean and modern”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We travel a lot with our pet and have found the Holiday Inn Expresses that DO take dogs are our favorite place to stay. This facility seemed brand new and was very modern. We used our free night and just had to pay for the pet fee of $25. Everything was clean and as expected. The front desk girl was nice and friendly. We will continue to stay at the Holiday Inn Expresses. I just wish more of them allowed pets!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXMerced, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Merced, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
We wish we could take credit for your fantastic review, but is there a chance you have us mistaken for another Holiday Inn Express & Suites? We love our pets, and our pet-owning guests, but when we opened four years ago guest preferences dictated that in addition to being a non-smoking hotel, we unfortunately do not allow pets. We apologize for not being able to accommodate the cuddliest members of the family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    84
    70
    10
    5
    2
See reviews for
63
46
7
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
van buren ar
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Sleep is best away from the freeway, I used my CLC card here and it is one of the top values of any hotel I have ever used the card for. near Starbucks, McDonalds. We brought a large group of youth who were well behaved, but stayed up late, as youth like to do. These folks were always courteous and attentive.

Room Tip: sleep is best away from the freeway, used my CLC card here and it is one of the top values of any ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXMerced, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Merced, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your recent stay with us! We too found the youth group to be very well behaved, and were pleased to have been able to provide the attention expected and deserved. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Bluff, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My sister, 92 yr old Dad, and I stayed at this hotel in Feb. 2013.I used trip advisor for ratings and it was above my expectations. It was beyond comfortable. The beds were very comfortable with 4 pillows on each bed..."I love that"...Clean, up to date decor, which was inviting had a natural feel. We stayed in a suite because it was only 15 dollars more. It had a nice couch that also was a sleeper. Coffee table,lighting and a very roomy feel . Breakfast was pretty good, more selection than I have ever had.
The only thing I did not like is when my sister called to make the reservation she spoke with someone other than someone from the actual hotel. We wanted to make sure that we were able to have a room on the bottom level, she said yes we can arrange that because they do not have elevators at that hotel..WHAT? Really? I thought that very uncommon, we arrived to be told we are on the third floor but of course we have elevators....So, I wasnt happy with the wrong information, although it all turned out wonderful......You should be able to talk to the hotel you will be residing in.So no confusion on the customers questions.The other very nice touch is a newspaper at your door in the morning. What a great way to start a day.... Highly recommend...... Mary- Red Bluff,Ca.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXMerced, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Merced, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Express & Suites Merced, and thank you a second time for taking the time to write about your experience! We are pleased that you found the breakfast selections plentiful, and that you enjoyed the extra room our suites provide. We apologize for the confusion created by the call to the offsite reservation center. We are working on determining why they were not aware of our two elevators. Please do feel free to call us directly any time for help or for reservations at 209.384.3700. We hope we can provide you with a second great stay the next time you are in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Holiday Inn Express Merced is quite a surprise for a highway pull off stop. Easy off and easy bak on to the freeway. Lots of parking space. A goody snack bag was provided for memebers of Priorty Club, and there were free samples of other bproducts there for the taking. The welcome at the front desk was friendly and efficient. We were given exactly the room and location we asked for. The room was spacious, well lit and exceptionally clean. The bed was most agreeable. No corridor or outside noise. Free newspapers and free wifi that worked well. The free breakfast was fresh and had a wide range of options including fresh fruit, yogurts, omelettes, sausage, biscuits and gravy, sweet rolls, bagels etc. It is hard to fault this place, especially for a price under $100 for two. As a visitor to the US this is the first time I have stayed in a place like this. I will certainly be trying more of this brand in the future.

Room Tip: A room not facing the freeway would no doubt be the quietest option
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXMerced, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Merced, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a detailed review about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Merced! We are pleased that you enjoyed the staff, the bed, the free wifi and the breakfast. We hope that the rest of your visit to the US is or was fantastic, and we would love to take care of you again if you are ever in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Stayed in this hotel with my wife while visiting relatives. The hotel has easy access from the freeway and has some good restaurants nearby. It is a fairly new property and more than the normal amenities. The buffet breakfast was alot better then other hotel chains in this has price range. Would highly reccommed this hotel....

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXMerced, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Merced, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for taking your valuable time to share your impression of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Merced. We are pleased that you enjoyed our breakfast, and certainly appreciate your recommendation. We would love to take care of you again when you next visit relatives in Merced!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Arizona
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I despise this Holiday Inn with a passion. There is a different stench every time you enter the main entrance. The location is terrible. And my biggest pet peeve is....I stayed in over 10 Holiday Inn's in 4 different states, this is the only one I've stayed at that I have to request a refrigerator! People book long stays here and there's only "3" refrigerators in this hotel; this is a cookie cutter designed hotel that is nearly identical minus the carpet and wall paper. But these cheap feeling rooms have a million outlets obviously intended for long term stays and business travelers lacks simple and common things such as a refrigerator and microwave. The rooms are loud, thinned walled, and there is a constant noise from the freeway and trains.

The only redeeming quality about this hotel, is the staff. They are very polite and do their best to make the guest here happy. Katie is awesome, I feel bad that she has to deal with me. I have simple standards that this hotel doesn't meet.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Merced, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Christopher M,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay with us. I am delighted you found the level service you received from our staff commendable. Guest satisfaction is important to us and we try our hardest to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel.

I would like to extend my sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced during your stay and regret our hotel did not live up to your expectations. Nevertheless, I wish to thank you for all your comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Despite your disappointment, I do hope you will return to stay with us again at some future date when you can be assured of our very best attention.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We grew up in the Merced area and return often to visit friends and family. We have stayed in several hotels in the area. The selection is limited but this Holiday Inn Express is by far the best. The staff are always so professional and rooms are very nice. I travel a lot on business and hav lots of experience with hotels all over the contry and this one would be as good as it gets in this price range.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXMerced, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Merced, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for your review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Merced. We appreciate that you have a choice for lodging in Merced, and hope to continue to earn your repeat business. We are happy to read that we compare positively with hotels you have visited around the country. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Merced? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Merced

Address: 151 South Parsons Avenue, Merced, CA 95341
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Merced
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 hotels in Merced
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Merced 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in the new fresh look and feel of our Holiday Inn Express and Suites in Merced, CA located at the intersection of Highways 140, 59 and California Highway 99. We are just a short distance from Merced Municipal Airport (MCE), UC Merced, and Mercy Medical Center and Castle Air Museum. As the Gateway to Yosemite, Merced is 80 miles from the park. Merced offers a variety of entertaining outdoor activities such as hiking and bicycling, as well as water recreation at the many lakes in the area including Lake Yosemite & Don Pedro Lake. From the moment you drive up to the new Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Merced you will feel welcomed by our fresh look and relaxing ambient music. Our responsive staff will help make you comfortable in one of our 91 luxuriously appointed guest rooms, including 19 suites. All rooms are equipped with deluxe new bedding and our Smart Bath Collection, as well as 32 flat panel televisions, and complimentary wired/wireless high-speed Internet. This newly built hotel also features an outdoor pool, whirlpool, exercise room, business center, and a large meeting room. We are confident that your stay with us will be a pleasant experience, so Stay Smart! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Merced reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Merced
Holiday Inn Express Merced

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Merced, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.