We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fastidious, friendly and quiet!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Merced

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Merced to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Merced
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   151 South Parsons Avenue, Merced, CA 95341   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 14 hotels in Merced
Roseville, California
1 review
“Fastidious, friendly and quiet!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Had a wonderful experience! The properly was very clean, accessible and the staff was kind generous and went above and beyond the service I have experienced in other moderately priced hotels. The breakfast was excellent, and offered hot and cold foods that surpassed the express breakfast moniker.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from the highway side. If you are disabled or have mobility issues ask for a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    89
    75
    11
    5
    3
See reviews for
70
47
8
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redmond, Oregon
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

This is a perfectly nice place to rest up when traveling down highway 5. The clerk was very helpful and worked to find us a good rate. The rooms are nice, clean and we slept like babies (unusual for us). We were tired after a long driving day thru Sequoia National Park and this place makes a perfect place to rest up.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Every other year, we spend Thanksgiving in Merced. This hotel was much better than the old HIExpress, (which is now the Comfort Inn) bigger rooms, better security, separate breakfast area with better food. One drawback, if visiting Merced itself rather than passing through, is that it's on the edge of town. The Marriott, where we have also stayed, is nicer (but more expensive) with a better location.

Room Tip: Suggest 3rd floor away from elevator and not facing the freeway. For $15 more you can get a suite w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Yes, I'm a fan of Holiday Inn Express hotels and this one was no exception. Large, spacious, clean room, comfortable beds, wonderful assortment of breakfast food, consistent WiFi connection. Great stay overall!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, CA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I and my wife stayed in a room with a king sized bed on the third floor. It was large, comfortable, very clean, and quiet. In addition, it had bright lights and a fast wifi connection. There was an easy chair as well as a desk, all well lit, and the bathroom was spacious with good water pressure. The breakfast area was also large and well set up, with cereals, pancakes, cinnamon rolls, and other pastries, and it was all good. Easy access off and on the 99 freeway. Pleasant staff and a good value for our money.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor and got a little road noise from the freeway. The motel has elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

I have reviewed this hotel before and gave it positive remarks. This is undoubtedly the best hotel in Merced. The staff is friendly. The room is clean and fresh. The breakfast is better than most. The wifi is faster than any other area hotel I've stayed in (although still not as fast as my home connection). There are a couple other decent places to stay in Merced, one even higher rated on some sites, but in my opinion the Holiday Inn Express stands head and shoulders above them.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLI820, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Merced, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you for your reviews of the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Merced. We truly appreciate your responses and loyalty to our hotel. We are happy to read that the staff has provided you with friendly service and are honored by your comment of "Best place in Merced." We happily remain at your service and invite you to stay with us again while visiting Merced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oz In Rome
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed in the hotel for a night on our way to San Francisco. The hotel was conveniently located. The room was clean and comfortable. Though it does not have a fridge.

The breakfast was good.

We would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Merced? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Merced

Address: 151 South Parsons Avenue, Merced, CA 95341
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Merced
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 hotels in Merced
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Merced 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in the new fresh look and feel of our Holiday Inn Express and Suites in Merced, CA located at the intersection of Highways 140, 59 and California Highway 99. We are just a short distance from Merced Municipal Airport (MCE), UC Merced, and Mercy Medical Center and Castle Air Museum. As the Gateway to Yosemite, Merced is 80 miles from the park. Merced offers a variety of entertaining outdoor activities such as hiking and bicycling, as well as water recreation at the many lakes in the area including Lake Yosemite & Don Pedro Lake. From the moment you drive up to the new Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Merced you will feel welcomed by our fresh look and relaxing ambient music. Our responsive staff will help make you comfortable in one of our 91 luxuriously appointed guest rooms, including 19 suites. All rooms are equipped with deluxe new bedding and our Smart Bath Collection, as well as 32 flat panel televisions, and complimentary wired/wireless high-speed Internet. This newly built hotel also features an outdoor pool, whirlpool, exercise room, business center, and a large meeting room. We are confident that your stay with us will be a pleasant experience, so Stay Smart! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Merced reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Merced
Holiday Inn Express Merced

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Merced, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.