We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old style motel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Riviera

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Riviera to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Riviera
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   15 El Camino Real, Menlo Park, CA 94025   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BEST VALUE RATE BOOK NOW
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Menlo Park
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Old style motel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

The Best Western in located right off the Camino Real so that when you first arrive you are not sure where to park to check in. We drove past it and had to circle around. On our second pass we had to park in the disabled space as there is no check in spot.

The room is good size but it has three issues: paper thin walls that allow the dog in the next room to annoy; a bathroom fan that is like a plane landing; and, the room sink located very, very close to the wall so you cannot stand in front of it....bizarre.

The price, $233+tax was okay, if the room did not have these issue.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pdxpizzaboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW_Riviera, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Riviera, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Hello pdxpizzaboy,

Thank you for taking the time to tell other Trip Advisor users about your experience with us. We appreciate all of the feedback you've given us and plan on addressing the issues you've mentioned when we complete the remodel of all of the guest bathrooms. We hope you'll come back to visit us after our work is completed.

Best regards,

Beto Flores
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Reno, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

They are finishing up a remodel and the rooms are very nice. New carpet, fresh everything, furniture, fixtures, etc. The wi-fi was easy to use, the breakfast had a good variety for being small. The girl at the front desk who checked us in gave us a great recommendation for dinner within walking distance. (Oasis) We were very satisfied with our stay and would definitely consider coming back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW_Riviera, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Riviera, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Hello Kevin M,

Thank you for taking the time to tell the Trip Advisor community about your experience at our hotel! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you'll come back after our renovations are complete to try our new breakfast offerings and expanded eating area.

Best regards,

Beto Flores
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
102 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed here because we needed to be near Stanford University Medical Center. If that's why you're here then this motel is a reasonable choice. If not, you can do better. This place is right by the main road so it's noisy. Parking is tight and hard to maneuver. It generally has a worn out ambience and indeed was undergoing partial reconstruction while we were there. Not recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW_Riviera, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Riviera, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Hello Stephen S,

Thank you for taking the time to tell other Trip Advisor users about your stay with us. We are sorry that the road noise negatively affected your stay and that you were unhappy with the parking situation. As you noted we are currently in the midst of a renovation for our guest rooms. We are looking forward to offering our guests newly decorated and refreshed rooms that are comfortable and enjoyable, along with extended breakfast seating and offerings.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Best regards,

Beto Flores
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Best Western Riviera was a pleasant stay for a visit to Stanford. We enjoyed the proximity to the Stanford shopping center, also to visit the University the next day. It is quaint and surrounded by trees,

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank olmare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW_Riviera, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Riviera, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Hello olmare,

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with the rest of the Trip Advisor community. We hope to have you stay with us the next time you are in the area. Drop by after we've completed our renovations, we'd love to have you stay with us and experience our newly refreshed rooms and expanded breakfast offerings.

Best regards,

Beto Flores
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

A really nice small hotel next to the Stanford Shopping Center. Being a local to Menlo Park I know how to get around and this hotel is in a very good location for traveling around the West Bay. It is almost perfect for our needs. it has free WIFI a big up for our family. It also has free breakfast a big plus. The rooms are modern and nice with Cable TV and a big bathroom. The price was very cheap which was good. This hotel is a much better alternative to the Sheraton across and down the street. The noise and the selection of the breakfast are the only downfalls of this hotel but don't let that stop you! The Sheraton is outclassed in almost every way by this small hotel.

Room Tip: Behind the main office it is quieter so you are a little impervious to El Camino Real.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW_Riviera, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Riviera, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Hello Jacob B,

Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel with the rest of the Trip Advisor community! We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to have you stay with us again next time you are in the area. We are currently remodeling our rooms and would love for you to come back out and experience our refreshed rooms and expanded breakfast experience!

Best regards,

Beto Flores
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minden, Nevada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Very charming hotel, almost hidden, although right on El Camino Real. It has a very "charming" elevator. Walking distance to Stanford Shopping Center with plenty of stores and fabulous restaurants. (We ate at Flemings Steakhouse). Within 5 minutes of the University and the Stanford Hospitals & Clinics. Room was small but very comfortable. Covered and secluded parking under the 1st floor; open to outside atrium with small table and chair on an extended balcony outside each room is a nice touch. Only detriment is it is on El Camino, a busy main street so noise at times was high, but not intolerable. Overall a great value and experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank JandEMinden_Nevada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW_Riviera, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Riviera, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Hello JandEMinden_Nevada,

Thanks for taking the time to tell other Trip Advisor users about your experience at our hotel! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Please come by and visit us again after our remodel, which is currently taking place. We look forward to offering a refreshed and contemporary room experience and will also be expanding our breakfast space as well. The first of our remodeled rooms reopen in mid-September. We hope to see you again the next time you are in the area!

Best regards,

Beto Flores
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard, California
Level Contributor
143 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stay at this property because it is within walking distance of a relative. We really do not consider any other places simply due to location. That being said, our experience is mostly positive; the rooms are average size with updated furnishings, clean & comfortable as expected. The staff is helpful and courteous. The breakfast is continental. Parking is included. There are a couple of downsides however; as noted elsewhere, it is pricy for what you get but you have to consider the location. You are within walking distance of Stanford Univ. and the Stanford shopping center; Silicon Valley is south, SF is north. Palo Alto and Menlo Park zip codes probably have the highest real estate values in the nation. We paid around $300/nite weekdays; it would have been lower on weekends during this summer holiday period. Then there is the noise; this hotel is sandwiched by the busy Cal-Train commuter line and the 4-lane El Camino Blvd. You are going to hear them both at some time during your stay. So you would probably not choose this place unless you have a compelling reason to be nearby.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidNolanCook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW_Riviera, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Riviera, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Hello DavidNolanCook,

Thanks for taking the time to tell the Trip Advisor community about your stay with us. I am glad to hear that our hotel was a convenient fit for you. Unfortunately, we are a bit susceptible to noise from El Camino Real and the Cal Train as you mentioned but we do offer ear plugs at the desk for guests who are sensitive to noise. Thank you again for your comments. We hope to have you stay with us again the next tom you are in the Menlo Park/ Stanford area.

Best regards,

Beto Flores
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Menlo Park
0.0 mi away
Stanford Park Hotel
Stanford Park Hotel
#1 of 9 in Menlo Park
4.5 of 5 stars 608 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Westin Palo Alto
The Westin Palo Alto
#9 of 26 in Palo Alto
4.0 of 5 stars 532 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Epiphany, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Creekside Inn
Creekside Inn
#10 of 26 in Palo Alto
4.0 of 5 stars 429 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel
Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel
#18 of 26 in Palo Alto
3.5 of 5 stars 580 reviews
0.7 mi away
Garden Court Hotel
Garden Court Hotel
#2 of 26 in Palo Alto
4.5 of 5 stars 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Riviera

Address: 15 El Camino Real, Menlo Park, CA 94025
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Menlo Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Menlo Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Riviera 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Riviera Hotel Menlo Park
Best Western Menlo Park
Menlo Park Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing