We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small and quaint jewel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Riviera

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Riviera to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Riviera
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   15 El Camino Real, Menlo Park, CA 94025   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Menlo Park
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Small and quaint jewel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

A really nice small hotel next to the Stanford Shopping Center. Being a local to Menlo Park I know how to get around and this hotel is in a very good location for traveling around the West Bay. It is almost perfect for our needs. it has free WIFI a big up for our family. It also has free breakfast a big plus. The rooms are modern and nice with Cable TV and a big bathroom. The price was very cheap which was good. This hotel is a much better alternative to the Sheraton across and down the street. The noise and the selection of the breakfast are the only downfalls of this hotel but don't let that stop you! The Sheraton is outclassed in almost every way by this small hotel.

Room Tip: Behind the main office it is quieter so you are a little impervious to El Camino Real.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW_Riviera, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Riviera, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Hello Jacob B,

Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel with the rest of the Trip Advisor community! We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to have you stay with us again next time you are in the area. We are currently remodeling our rooms and would love for you to come back out and experience our refreshed rooms and expanded breakfast experience!

Best regards,

Beto Flores
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    35
    19
    5
    5
See reviews for
22
7
12
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minden, Nevada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Very charming hotel, almost hidden, although right on El Camino Real. It has a very "charming" elevator. Walking distance to Stanford Shopping Center with plenty of stores and fabulous restaurants. (We ate at Flemings Steakhouse). Within 5 minutes of the University and the Stanford Hospitals & Clinics. Room was small but very comfortable. Covered and secluded parking under the 1st floor; open to outside atrium with small table and chair on an extended balcony outside each room is a nice touch. Only detriment is it is on El Camino, a busy main street so noise at times was high, but not intolerable. Overall a great value and experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW_Riviera, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Riviera, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Hello JandEMinden_Nevada,

Thanks for taking the time to tell other Trip Advisor users about your experience at our hotel! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Please come by and visit us again after our remodel, which is currently taking place. We look forward to offering a refreshed and contemporary room experience and will also be expanding our breakfast space as well. The first of our remodeled rooms reopen in mid-September. We hope to see you again the next time you are in the area!

Best regards,

Beto Flores
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard, California
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stay at this property because it is within walking distance of a relative. We really do not consider any other places simply due to location. That being said, our experience is mostly positive; the rooms are average size with updated furnishings, clean & comfortable as expected. The staff is helpful and courteous. The breakfast is continental. Parking is included. There are a couple of downsides however; as noted elsewhere, it is pricy for what you get but you have to consider the location. You are within walking distance of Stanford Univ. and the Stanford shopping center; Silicon Valley is south, SF is north. Palo Alto and Menlo Park zip codes probably have the highest real estate values in the nation. We paid around $300/nite weekdays; it would have been lower on weekends during this summer holiday period. Then there is the noise; this hotel is sandwiched by the busy Cal-Train commuter line and the 4-lane El Camino Blvd. You are going to hear them both at some time during your stay. So you would probably not choose this place unless you have a compelling reason to be nearby.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW_Riviera, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Riviera, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Hello DavidNolanCook,

Thanks for taking the time to tell the Trip Advisor community about your stay with us. I am glad to hear that our hotel was a convenient fit for you. Unfortunately, we are a bit susceptible to noise from El Camino Real and the Cal Train as you mentioned but we do offer ear plugs at the desk for guests who are sensitive to noise. Thank you again for your comments. We hope to have you stay with us again the next tom you are in the Menlo Park/ Stanford area.

Best regards,

Beto Flores
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I travel a lot for work. This hotel by far is the worst I've stayed in. It's dirty and smelly. The carpet is terribly stained. It's very dated. The room is poorly laid out. The bathroom is just old and dirty.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW_Riviera, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Riviera, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Hello Firecrackerleo,

I'm sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations during your stay with us. Please know that I have addressed the issues you mentioned in your review to my team and we have worked to resolve them. We are also planning a complete bathroom renovation on all of our rooms beginning in August. We pride ourselves in providing superior customer service and we hope that you will give us another opportunity to provide it to you.

Best regards,

Beto Flores
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

The hotel is nice, clean, with a kind staff. Some rooms have a charming table in the front balconet. A true breakfast is included, and you can have it on the reception or take away to the room or balconet. Unfortunately I didn't got time to enjoy the swimming pool, that looks refreshing and amazing. It is at walking distance from Stanford Shopping Center, Downtown Palo Alto and Menlo Park, so if you plan to visit the Stanford University or somewhere else in Palo alto, that's a valuable hotel to choose.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW_Riviera, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Riviera, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Hello Brazilian,

Thank you so much for taking the time to tell the Trip Advisor community about your experience with us. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope that you choose to stay with us the next time you're in the Menlo Park area. Maybe next time you'll have some time to swim in our refreshing pool or unwind in our spa!

Best regards,

Beto Flores
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Phangan, Thailand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I was here on business, so I while I was shocked at the 250/night price tag... I wasn't paying.

The staff was friendly, the breakfast nook was well stocked. My room was cleaned (well) daily. Soaps/coffees etc were replaced even when I didn't require it, which I always appreciate but rarely see.

The pool area was nice, as were the in-room amenities.

The tv remotes don't tend to function properly (this is apparently a known issue with model of television). You do get noise from the street at night. Parking spaces are tight.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW_Riviera, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Riviera, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Hello Jen M,

Thanks for taking the time to tell other Trip Advisor users about your experience at our hotel. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and we appreciate your comments. We hope to have you stay with us the next time you visit the Menlo Park area!

Best regards,

Beto Flores
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelona
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I've just spent four nights at the Best Western Plus Riviera. It's convenient for Palo Alto, the rooms are big and clean, the breakfast is quite decent, and the staff are nice. There is a small pool, but I haven't used it so can't comment. Looks clean, though!
The hotel is right next to a major road, so it does get loud. I was in room 219, right next to El Camino, and had to sleep with earplugs. To be fair, this is not their fault. The hotel is right next to the road, and if you booked a room here, expect noise to be a problem.
My only issue is with the internet. It is free, but the service is patchy. It gets disconnected often, so make sure you save your emails (or tripadvisor reviews....) because chances are it will get cut off. Other than that, would stay again and would recommend to others.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW_Riviera, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Riviera, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Hello catalan_traveler,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, thank you for your comments and feedback. Unfortunately the road noise can be an issue for some of our guests, we're glad to know that the ear plugs worked out for you. I will also be looking into the signal strength in the wing of the building you were in, thank you for bringing it to our attention. We hope to have you stay with us the next time you're in the area and maybe then you'll be able to leave us a review of our pool as well!

Best regards,

Beto Flores
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Riviera

Address: 15 El Camino Real, Menlo Park, CA 94025
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Menlo Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Menlo Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Riviera 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Riviera Hotel Menlo Park
Best Western Menlo Park
Menlo Park Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Riviera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.