We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting!' Do not stay here” 1 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Riviera

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Riviera to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Riviera
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   15 El Camino Real, Menlo Park, CA 94025   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Menlo Park
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Disgusting!' Do not stay here”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

The door hand to be SLAMMED using my full body weight to latch,

the bed fell 2 inches on one side when my 110 pound wife got in bed,

The floor turned our feet black,

Our baby found a human tooth (not one of ours)in the bed in the morning,

Parking is awful!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW_Riviera, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Riviera, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear jasonakana,

We're sorry that you did not enjoy your experience at our hotel. I can assure you that we take all comments and complaints seriously and that I have personaly looked into the items you listed in your review. We have spoken to our housekeeper regarding your comments. Our sheets are serviced by a linen company and our housekeeper had no idea on how a tooth could be on a bed. Thank you for your time.

Regards,

Beto Flores
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    30
    19
    5
    5
See reviews for
19
7
11
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is close to Stanford university and that is only positive. Rooms are ok. Air conditioning is too loud. Very close to El Camino and hence too much traffic noise. Breakfast has very limited choice. Staff has an attitude of - I don't care.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW_Riviera, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Riviera, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Hello Rohit C,

Thanks for taking the time to tell other Trip Advisor users about your stay with us. We're sorry you had issues with the air conditioning unit in your room. Please know that we have addressed the problem thanks to your making us aware of it. Unfortunately I am unable to do anything about the street noise, although we do offer complimentary ear plugs at the front desk for those who are sensitive to noise. I can also assure you that we do take pride in our establishment and deeply care about all guest experiences while here at our hotel. I am sorry that our team gave off the wrong impression but I'd like to have you come stay with us again, perhaps in a quieter room, so that you can experience our world class customer service. Thank you again for your time, we hope to have you stay with us again in the future!

Best regards,

Beto Flores
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

This is a decent motel. The room was pretty clean and the staff was helpful and accommodating (letting me check out late, watching my bag, etc.). It is right on a highway and there was construction when I was there. The room was wildly overpriced in my opinion - but I understand the area is expensive, and perhaps something was going on at the time I was there that resulted in a really expensive price. It also may have been unseasonably cold, but I found the room chilly (although there was an AC unit that I turned on for heat and it worked pretty well) - and the bathroom was cold. I was able to sleep fine - I had a room which looked out the back and it was quiet.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW_Riviera, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Riviera, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Hello skitty811,

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel with other Trip Advisor users! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We're sorry if the construction noise bothered you, we are in the process of upgrading our guest bathrooms and exterior walkways in order to provide a hotel that is as pleasant looking as it is comfortable. We appreciate your feedback and hope you come back to visit us once we've completed our upgrades. For future reference, our rates on Fridays and Saturdays are more economical as our hotel (and the surrounding area) tends to fill up mid-week. Come stay with us over a weekend for a great deal!

Best regards,

Beto Flores
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

This is our second stay. The location close to the Stanford Shopping Center is ideal. The weather caused a loss of power on the morning of our departure. The staff handled it well. We even had some hot coffee and a bit of breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW_Riviera, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Riviera, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear DougVH,

Thanks for your review! We appreciate you taking the time to comment on our property and are glad you enjoyed your accomodations. We apologize for any inconvenience that the power outage might have caused you and thank you for commending my staff. We train and try to be as prepared as possible for these type of occurences. We hope the outage didn't adversely affect your stay too much.

We hope to have youstay w ith us the next time you visit the Menlo Park Palo Alto area.

Best regards,

Beto Flores
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Needed to be as close to downtown as I could afford. This fit the bill. It is less than a mile walk to the middle of downtown Palo Alto. The room and especially the bathroom were very clean. The noise level was high, with traffic from El Camino Real outside the window and the commuter rail line a half-block away. However, the road noise was not so great that I couldn't sleep and the trains eventually stop running. The hotel has an appearance that borders on "cheap," especially the elevator from the garage. It's not fancy, but it is very satisfactory.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW_Riviera, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Riviera, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Hello SactoJohn,

Thanks for taking the time to tell fellow Trip Advisor users about your stay with us. We're glad to hear that everything was satisfactory during your stay. We appreciate your honest feedback and want to let you know that we have some scheduled upgrades coming to the property soon including renovated guest restrooms and an expanded breakfast area. We hope to have you stay with us again the next time you visit the Menlo Park/Palo Alto area.

Best regards,

Beto Flores
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Fort Myers, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Our daughter recently underwent major surgery at the Stanford Medical Center Hospital. In preparation for that event, my wife and I selected the Best Western Plus Riviera of Menlo Park to be our home away from home while the procedure was performed and the initial post-surgical recovery period passed. Our selection was made purely on the Best Western's proximity to the Stanford Hospital complex (on several mornings, my wife and I walked to the Stanford Medical Center in well under thirty minutes).

We were prepared for whatever outcome the surgery would produce. What we were not prepared for, however, was the incredible support that the entire Best Western staff provided for us.

When they learned of our daughter's condition, the staff went to the utmost extremes to provide a healthful and comfortable environment not only for her, but for us as well. There was absolutely nothing that they would not do, mostly on their own initiative, to ensure that our stresses were minimized and our physical and mental well being was the focus of their service.

From providing us with the quietest room to arranging, on the spot, for emergency transportation when an ordered taxi failed to arrive and exposed our daughter to the distinct possibility that she would miss a critical post-surgical appointent, extending their breakfast hours for us because of the time involved in preparing our daughter for the coming day, letting us their facilities late at night for our dinners, everything that was done was executed with professionalism and the most courteous and humane of care.

As to the hotel and its facilities, the rooms are quite large and quiet. The bathrooms are spotless and well stocked with towels and a full complement of amenities. The exercise facility houses the requisite treadmill, recumbent bicycle and elliptical machine and is well air conditioned and TV equipped. Pricing is most reasonable considering both the location and the Best Western's competitors' rates.

The complementary breakfast menu is extensive and sumptuous. There is a panoply of dry cereals, freshly cut fruit, coffees, teas, fruit juices, Zero Waters, French pastries, bagels, croissants, Danish, hot waffles, breads, yoghurts, condiments, etc.

In addition to its proximity to the Stanfor Medical Center, the Best Western is a mere two minutes' walking distance to the Stanford Shopping Center, which houses several major department stores, numerous boutiques, a broad selection of restaurants, electronics shops, and a fresh market stocked with fresh fruits, vegetables, wines, dried fruits, meats, baked goods, and imported specialies.

Whatever the reason that brings one to the Stanford / Menlo Park / Palo Alto area, there is no better value to be had than the Best Western Plus Riviera Hotel. Its combination of location, price, service, facilities and breakfast make it the ideal choice!

Room Tip: Room 114 is exceptionally isolatyed and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW_Riviera, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Riviera, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Hello grusleucogeranus,

Thank you so much for your glowing review and for telling other Trip Advisor users about your stay! Your kind words mean a lot to us and we're glad that you enjoyed everything while staying here. I will be passing your comments along to the entire team.

Best regards,

Beto Flores
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We needed a place to sleep overnight, literally, without luxurious extras, in Palo Alto. While listed as Menlo Park, it's within walking distance tomUniversity Ave., which we did. It's quicker to walk rather than driving and looking for a parking place. Price was low. Also within walking distance of the Stanford Shopping Center.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW_Riviera, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Riviera, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Hello Uri123,

We'd like to thank you for taking the time to leave us a review on tripadvisor.com. We appreciate your comments and are glad you were satisfied with your stay! We invite you to visit us again the next time you're in the area, we have quite a few upgrades planned for the latter part of this year including renovated bathrooms, expanded breakfast area and new exterior walkways.

Best regards,

Beto Flores
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Riviera

Address: 15 El Camino Real, Menlo Park, CA 94025
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Menlo Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Menlo Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Riviera 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Riviera Hotel Menlo Park
Best Western Menlo Park
Menlo Park Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Riviera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.