We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never disappoints” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stanford Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Stanford Park Hotel to your Saves list
Stanford Park Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 El Camino Real, Menlo Park, CA 94025   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Menlo Park
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Never disappoints”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2009

I have stayed at the Stanford Park 3 times over the past 3 years and have found it to be consistent and charming each time. It has a warm and cozy feel, but with the level of personalized and efficient service you'd expect from a hotel of its reputation and size. My stays here are always business-related, but I would consider it for a family stay as well. Only complaints - fitness center is tiny, would love it if the Starbucks franchise hadn't taken over free coffee in the morning, but who am I to stand in the way of progress. . .

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_J_Lane, General Manager at Stanford Park Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2009
Thank you for staying with us so frequently. I appreciate your comments regarding the size of the fitness center. By the end of this year we will increase the size of the fitness center to over 950 square feet and feature state of the art cardio and resistance equipment as well as a free weight area and semi private stretching room. This improvement will also provide 24 hour access for our guests who awaken early or arrive late. Please feel free to contact me personally as I appreciate your insights and am thankful for your honest review of our hotel.

Patrick Lane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    79
    22
    11
    7
See reviews for
93
87
51
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Central CA
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2009

The hotel resaurant has no childrens menu. We stayed in one of the expensive two room suites as we were travelling with our 6-week old and our 16-month old. My wife and I ended up having to camp out in the bedroom and put the kids to sleep in the living room as there was only one TV in the suite (in the bedroom). We were very disappointed by the quality of the room service food (allegedly the same food as the Duck Club restaurant). The presentation and service were great, but the quality of the ingredients were pretty disappointing. The hotel is well situated, the grounds and the hotel itself are beautiful, and the staff were very very helpful and courteous, but overall we weren't as impressed as we ought to have been.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, VA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2009

What a beautiful place to stay! It was like a little paradise all in itself. The property is beautifully landscaped, lots of flowers and trees. The inner courtyard is so calming and relaxing with the pool area at one end, a middle section lush with flowers, ferns, scrubs, and birch trees, and the dining courtyard. The hotel itself is gorgeous with lovely, unique furnishings. It has the feel of a home, not a hotel. The staff was wonderful, very friendly, courteous, and professional. The evening wine tasting was delightful, and the freshly baked cookies and coffee/tea in the late evening, a lovely touch. It's a great location with the Stanford Shopping Center, the Stanford campus, and downtown Menlo Park literally across the street. I highly recommend it and will stay there on all my future visits.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twain Harte, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2009

My husband and I had an event at the hotel so we booked our room in advance. We had a fireplace with a balcony. We fired up the log in the fireplace and had a cocktail on our balcony prior to the event. It was so peaceful and beautiful. Talk about clean, the pool is kept immaculate as we watched it get cleaned early in the morning. It's a great place to stay! All good! Oh and the people were friendly, helpful and professional!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2009

Stayed at Stanford Park Hotel during Stanford's Jazz Workshop for the third year in a row.
Each time my family and I have been warmly greeted by staff. Front desk and doormen are just terrific. Rooms are quiet and beds have excellent mattresses and feather pillows. Very convenient to Stanford. Looking forward to our stay next year!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
255 helpful votes 255 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2009

I love bathrooms-and this hotel's offering made me very happy! It was sparkling clean, loaded with big, fluffy, new, white towels, and equipped with a toto toilet with the quiet-close lid, a basket for the used towels, a robe, slippers, tub-shower with surround, gilchrist and soames toiletries, granite sink top, and an adjacent sink-makeup area with magnifying mirror in dressing area hall. I also delighted in the first clear am radio reception ever in a hotel room! The bedroom and living room were decorated in a cheerful and comfortable English country look, very nice furnishings, and offered free wireless. A WSJ was delivered to the door in the am.The bar area had great starbucks and very fresh fruitcups available every am-and complementary trays of cookies in the pm (guests were hovering in the lounge to get the first warm cookies!) The grounds are absolutely lovely-an oasis in the bustling city. The patio area is surrounded by gardens-roses!-and beautiful plantings and statuary and leads you to the secluded pool area and fitness center. The entrance from the parking lot features a lovely fountain; the lot itself is divided by tall hedges and trellised archways. The staff was most friendly and helpful at all times. We had a slight room mishap involving rain, a leaky grate and a new roof, which the night staff handled in a gracious and timely fashion by moving us, with lots of help, into new rooms.Thank you! We will return!

  • Stayed September 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2009

This is one of the nicest hotels we have stayed in. The room reminded us of a room we stayed in at the Hyatt in Brisbane -- a beautiful room with luxury appointments. The staff were polite, helpful, and friendly. I made a mistake in the booking, by booking August, rather than September. I called 3 days before arrival, and the hotel confirmed that they did not bill me, and they found me a room for the new date -- upgraded and at a higher price -- but I was grateful that there was availability.
The hotel has an ambiance of intimacy. Although it is between the busy street and the railroad, rooms are well insulated for sound, and the pool area is sheltered. The pool was clean, and the hot tub well cared for and at 104 degrees. The fireplace room we had was very comfortable and the bed was of a high standard -- very comfortable and cosy.
There is much competition in this area of Menlo Park, and this hotel meets the standard for quality, location, and comfort. At this time (Early September), pricing was expensive -- $319 for one night. The only blemish is the $15 Amenity fee -- it is is laughable for a hotel of this standard.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Stanford Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanford Park Hotel

Address: 100 El Camino Real, Menlo Park, CA 94025
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Menlo Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Menlo Park
#1 Business Hotel in Menlo Park
#1 Family Hotel in Menlo Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Stanford Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
European luxury awaits you at the Stanford Park Hotel. Enjoy superb service, award-winning cuisine, and exquisitely appointed guestrooms at one of the finest hotels in Silicon Valley and the San Francisco Peninsula. Conveniently located adjacent to Stanford University and Palo Alto, the Hotel provides an elegant and tranquil setting for a productive meeting, memorable wedding, or a restful personal retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, T4B, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Stanford Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanford Park Menlo
Hotel Stanford Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stanford Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.