We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The bistro in Menlo” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Left Bank Menlo Park Brasserie

Left Bank Menlo Park Brasserie
635 Santa Cruz Avenue, Menlo Park, CA 94025 (Formerly Left Bank - Menlo Park)
(650) 473-6543
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Left Bank Menlo Park Brasserie is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #14 of 120 Restaurants in Menlo Park
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Doyle
Transit: The Caltrans stops only two blocks away.
Description: Left Bank is an authentic French brasserie celebrating Mediterranean Cuisine. Located in Menlo Park's charming downtown, Left Bank transports guests to a quaint brasserie in Paris. Open since 1998 and completely re-modeled in 2008, Left Bank offers a casual, charming brasserie setting where diners feast upon classic southern French cuisine. Our outdoor sidewalk cafe seating evokes a lively European atmosphere and is the perfect place for just an appetizer and beer or a 3-course meal with a beautiful bottle of wine. Whether it's at our sidewalk table, the gorgeous glass-walled bar, or in the casually elegant main dining room, you'll enjoy a fun & french experience. Thirteen years of working with local organic farms allows us to bring you the best seasonal ingredients available. Chef de Cuisine Steven Catalano offers an always changing menu focused on Southern French Cuisine.
Palo Alto, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“The bistro in Menlo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

I have been here many times over the years and have had a majority of good experiences. Classic bistro food in a big setting. I have enjoyed both fish and meat entrees. The service is good and it is a good place for a celebration.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    38
    22
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, UK
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“"Mange tout" in Menlo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

excuse the corny phrase, as this was a fine bistro and best of the places we had dinner during a busy week long business schedule, yet it means what I thought about the menu - a wide choice that I would have gladly ordered and eaten. Between us we had a great selection of the Charcuterie Maison and Appetizers, that went down well before we all had a wide variety of les plats, with a few of us including myself choosing the Plat du Jour (Alaskan Halibut on the day). We all thoroughly enjoyed the two courses accompanied with a gorgeous "local" Domaine Carneros Pinot Noir and French Cabernet Merlot (Chateau Moulin Delille). All had what were acclaimed to be scrumptious desserts bar myself - instead I spotted a fine Japanese Yamazaki single malt whisky on the spirit menu that I chose as an Aperitif instead.

We had fairly quick attentitive service throughout, enjoyed the atmosphere and have marked this Brasserie as a must to return to on future visits. Highly recommended

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Slow service, food good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

On our last two visits we have waited an exceptionally long time after ordering to have our food brought to our table. The last time over half an hour, and the visit before that over an hour.

Our service staff were good on our most recent visit, however the time before terrible.

However, the food at Left Bank is great, tasty, and the menu has something to offer most people. It is great for a casual meal at the bar, there is outside seating too.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
758 reviews 758 reviews
443 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 136 cities Reviews in 136 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
“Good quality brasserie”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

This is a good quality brasserie in a mall area. The inside is much bigger than it looks, it's huge, and it was very busy when I was there. Often a good sign of quality food. The service was a tad slow for me but I can see why since it was so busy. The food was good, classic bistro style French, some New American thrown in. I can imagine this would be a great place for post-workday dinners.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Pleasant French Bistro”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Pleasant atmosphere. Adequate service. The food is OK but nothing special apart from the oysters on the half shell which were delicious.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Left Bank Menlo Park Brasserie also viewed

 

Been to Left Bank Menlo Park Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Left Bank Menlo Park Brasserie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.