We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A local institution” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kepler's Books

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Kepler's Books
Menlo Park, CA
650-324-4321
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 10 attractions in Menlo Park
Type: Specialty Shops
Activities: Shopping
Attraction Details
Atherton, California
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A local institution”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Shopping for books in bookstores may be a dying activity, but if you get the chance to check out Kepler's, you have to do it. I especially enjoy the back wall fiction section, which highlights staff favorites, making it easier to find hidden gems you might enjoy. It's also always fun to check out the Summer Reading section; the high school summer reading choices usually include many of the classics. Best of all, it's right next door to Borrone, so you can grab a great meal before or after browsing the shelves (which can keep you in the store for hours).

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Support a Genuine Community Bookstore”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

I remember when this store was across the street in the 60's. It is now in a very open, entertaining location. Ask the help desk for help, or just talk to them about what you are thinking... I'm always confused in bookstores. This help desk will aid you to help target what you are interested in for that particular visit.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, CA
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great Local Bookstore with Hidden Gems”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

Although you won't find a massive selection like a Barnes store, you will find fantastic author-signed gems (like the Game of Thrones book I just bought) and local author books as well. They host lots of signings as well as lectures and offer very personal, small store service. Great location with a bit of tricky parking on occasion. We should work hard to support this local gem.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sausalito, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great place to browse and support”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

When you buy books online you may save a few dollars, but eventually the book stores will go out of business. I like going to a bookstore and picking up a book and seeing what is in it and reading a little of it to see if I like it- asking the clerks their opinion, seeing what other books are around and of interest. it is harder to do that online. Going to a store gives you a more rounded experience. If we then buy online how can a store survive? I realize e-books are where the trend is, but this book store is offering so much more. thank God, or it won't be around too much longer.Support your local bookstore.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Some great choices for Christmas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

When I want to find some books that are out of the ordinary this is the place to go. Very good service and an assortment of reading material. Definitely worth driving out of your way to visit.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kepler's Books also viewed

 

Been to Kepler's Books? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kepler's Books, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Kepler's Books to your Saves list