We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place, Great Price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Cottage Inn

Save Saved
You added Red Cottage Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Cottage Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1704 El Camino Real, Menlo Park, CA 94025   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 hotels in Menlo Park
Sacramento, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Place, Great Price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

I always stay here when in the area -- the rooms are clean, quiet and comfortable. All have a fridge, microwave and coffeepot. They also have a decent breakfast spread, including hard boiled eggs and yogurt instead of just starch. Staff is wonderfully helpful and courteous. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    82
    41
    9
    5
    2
See reviews for
27
31
24
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Forida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2011

I am visiting friends nearby--a two block walk away--and they recommended this small hotel with 28 rooms. The only disappointment is that the pool is not heated this time of year. But otherwise it is in a splendid little area, set back from the major, busy street of El Camino Real that runs from San Francisco to San Jose. Delightful accommodation with a private patio area with big pine trees and redwood fencing. There's a small table and chairs on a mini deck and have enjoyed the visiting birds and squirrels. The landscaping is gorgeous with lots of flowers in bloom and immaculately manicured. The only thing nicer than the accommodation is the friendly and helpful staff. There is a small dining area near the front desk that has a self-serve breakfast area with all the essentials, hard boiled eggs, fruit, different breads including "everything" bagels. For me the best part as a diabetic is that they have numerous non sugared options, so prevalent these days. Little cups of lowfat cottage cheese are offered as well as packets of oatmeal. The location couldn't be better with all the fine restaurants and shopping Menlo Park has to offer, between Palo Alto and Stanford and Redwood City which also has necessities for me.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2010

Red Cottage Inn is a nice little hotel located directly at El Camino Real in Menlo Park.
The property is in good shape and clean and there is a heated outdoor pool. The room was clean with modern furnishing, including an LCD TV. The bathroom looked a little bit outdated, but was also clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful, especially by providing directions and recommendations for the bay area.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2010

Red Cottage Inn is small but extraordinarily comfortable, quiet, and clean, particularly for a single traveler. Its location is ideal, just out of the way of Santa Cruz Avenue. The rooms are comfortable and the beds are quite wonderful, with a variety of pillow choices. The heating and cooling system is single-room based and easily controlled. I very much enjoyed the informal environment, and particularly enjoyed the outdoor seating area under the trees. I will be visiting Menlo Park a number of times over the coming year, and I plan to stay here when I'm visiting.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2010

The Red Cottage in is a surprisingly nice, unpretentious little motel a mile or two from Stanford that I discovered by accident a few years back. Now, whenever I am in Silicon valley, I stay there, because the rooms are perfect, clean, and comfortable, but the place is just set up in a very pleasing way I can't really describe in this short review.

You should try it!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellijay, Georgia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

Very comfortable accomodation near Stanford and Palo Alto, but set back from the road so quiet. We enjoyed our stay here. I wasn't real sure ahead of time as I was there for medical treatment at Stanford and wanted to be comfortable and needed quiet. I got both. The room (a Premium King) was a bit small, but had everything we needed and more. The bed, which I was concerned about was very comfortable. It was too hot (heat wave of the last week of Sept 2010) to enjoy the private patio, but it would have been nice. The large old oak trees and other trees and flowers make the grounds and common sitting area very pleasant. Even though it is on the main road going through town, we really couldn't hear the road because the buildings sit back from the highway. The breakfast was adequate and both in room and lobby coffee was very good (not the lousy stuff you usually get). The staff were personable, helpful, and accomodating. Only recommendation to management would be to brush off the outside sitting area often because of the tree debris and for room 116 anyway, add an additional door seal on the bottom of the door (just a little dusty from outside trees, etc.). We would definitely stay here again; for the money it was very nice.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

We have stayed at the Red Cottage Inn three times. It is not luxurious, but it's a comfortable and above-average motel. Well behaved dogs are allowed for a $75 flat fee. The management is very responsible and responsive, and the location and parking are easy. There are some nice amenities like the pool and (new this year) Smith and Hawken outdoor furniture in the public areas.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Red Cottage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Cottage Inn

Address: 1704 El Camino Real, Menlo Park, CA 94025
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Menlo Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 hotels in Menlo Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Cottage Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TravelClick, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Red Cottage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Cottage Hotel Menlo Park
Red Cottage Menlo Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Cottage Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.